The Cheltenham Festival 2014

I have on good authority that morning assembly was his bet of the meeting privately on Sunday night at adare

Pricewise picks for Cheltenham are usually much better on the day than ante post.

Mullin jr said they were not overly confident on Ballycasey for the RSA after his fall from the schooling at Leop. He might lack the experience for an RSA.
Other points from PM
*Less confident then you might have expected on Champagne Fever but this was only because of his less then ideal preperation, more hopeful than confident was the expression he used.
*Not very entusiastic on Avrika,(another PW said had no chance btw)

Mullins was in a completely different vein on Hurricane Fly, Faugheen, Quevega, Annie Power and Briar Hill, all who he expected to win, the latter being the stable banker.

Young Patrick also said Felix Younger would be ‘very hard bet’ on good ground and let slip that he’d backed Wicklow Brave A/P for the supreme and that Armagnac was his auld fella’s tipple of choice.

The big thing from the night was the chirpy form of BC. I remember last year commenting that he looked frail and was markedly grumpy, not long for this world I think I said but he cut a completely different cloth last night. Amazing what landing a 2million coup will do for a mans health. Paul Kealy from the RP had a go at him for his making a mockery of the game but Barney told him he never worried too much about the opinions of ‘quite moderate human beings’, all in good jest.

Kealy btw, a shrewd judge himself put up his best bets as Present View 14s in the novice hcap chase on the Tuesday and Next Sensation 7s in the Grand Annual.
He also said to fill the Festival coffers on Regal Encore in the Imperial on Saturday, a handicap cert he reckons

Barney is good craic alright i watched the last half or so of it and he was in great form. :D:clap:

@fenwaypark, direct quote from Donald McCain on Clondaw Kaemper

“The only reason he hasn’t run since he was third at Aintree in December is because I’ve been saving him for the Coral Cup. He looked very smart last season then he got hurt in the Challow at Newbury when he was going well but had to pull up three out when he stumbled. I was pleased with him at Aintree and he’d improve for better ground.”

Barizan another of McCain’s I’ll be keeping an eye on, hadn’t realised he’d moved from Evan Williams.

That was reported in the Racing Post today.

Had a few bob on Tap Night at 16/1 in Terry Rogers earlier. Looks primed for a big run in the Byrne Group under a nice weight.

[quote=“Sandymount Red, post: 911932, member: 1074”]That was reported in the Racing Post today.

Good authority so!

@fenwaypark , Muldoons picnic on the tues? I know you also liked him

Corrin Wood is my current choice for the RSA…the ballycasey fall was harmless by all accounts, crumpled on landing

Poor @Lazarus will be devastated. Alderwood definitely out of the festival.

Doubt he would have seen any grade of mine this year. He saw enough last year:pint:

Interesting fact. Of the 14 horses trying headgear for the 1st time at last years Festival(not incuding cheekpieces), 4 won Benefficient 20/1, Hollywell 25/1 Same Difference 16/1 and Macs beloved Flaxen Flare at 25/1.
Ackertac was 2nd at 66/1

A pointer perhaps for the handicaps especially if trained by Elliot, Jonjo or NTD

Jedski gets headgear for first time. I think Holywell will run a huge race again in whichever of the novice handicaps he goes in

Don’t think it would make much difference in a Championship race. Could be the rocket up the hole some shaper needs to put in a big run in one of the handicaps

Hood helps horse to settle (that’s the intention anyway). If Jezki settles early, he will run his best race so far this season. Whether that will be enough to win a Champion Hurdle i’m unsure of.

Have not looked at handicaps in any great detail KC. I did like Indian Castle for the above race. Good profile for a race like this.

[quote=“Mac, post: 911930, member: 109”]@fenwaypark, direct quote from Donald McCain on Clondaw Kaemper

“The only reason he hasn’t run since he was third at Aintree in December is because I’ve been saving him for the Coral Cup. He looked very smart last season then he got hurt in the Challow at Newbury when he was going well but had to pull up three out when he stumbled. I was pleased with him at Aintree and he’d improve for better ground.”[/quote]
I was convinced that he was well handicapped based upon his runs as a novice. I’m more inclined to think that he is not much better than his last run.

Bayan will take a lot of beating in this race.

[quote=“fenwaypark, post: 912406, member: 276”]I was convinced that he was well handicapped based upon his runs as a novice. I’m more inclined to think that he is not much better than his last run.

Bayan will take a lot of beating in this race.[/quote]

There’ll be some craic if Bayan wins.

On another note, its looking likely Un De Sceaux might line up

[quote=“Mac, post: 912408, member: 109”]There’ll be some craic if Bayan wins.

On another note, its looking likely Un De Sceaux might line up[/quote]
I hope he does. I think he is massively overrated and very ground dependent. Just my opinion, I know a few lads on here rate his highly.