Restaurant margins have traditionally been a lot smaller. Much more susceptibility to price rises and much more variables than pubs too. And shit hours too.
I’d say it is fuck all craic to own or work in a restaurant.
They go in and out of fashion very quick too
My local is losing 60c on every pint of Guinness they pour so.
That’s dreadful.
A good few rural ones are. Kinda being retired out of business more than just closing
Josh is probably claiming charity status
Roderick O’Gorman has put an extra few quid back in my pocket this week. There was some additional childcare subsidy for parents/guardians (maybe in relation to ECCE) that became effective this week. Pass on my gratitude please @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy.
Price of a pint probably isn’t the end of the world really and if you have five or six sure what of it.
The price of spirits and mixers is where you’d feel properly gouged particularly if your better half is too demure to drink pints and has expensive gin and fancy tonic notions that need paying for.
I’m shocked.
The Vintners Federation of Ireland poor mouthing.
I remember when a loop the loop was only 7p
Same here - monthly Creche fees are now lower than the mortgage repayment for the first time for me!
Graph above represents % of income spent on childcare costs in Europe with Ireland being the highest in the EU and the plebs here think theyre doing alright out of it.
Yea, but Diesel Annie was dirt cheap.
That’s bloody plamas,00 erdinger is e6.50/7 in places for a pint ( less actually) bottle
My mates paying over5k a month, sometimes e6K just for electricity in his pub
This is before the gas bill kicks in to hear the beer gdn/ pizza sit down place
Everything is relative. That could be good value.
Not to me it’s a rip off in my eyes
Similarly 00 pints of Guinness etc
Price varies hugely all over the gaff
Is there not a regulator to sort this shite out?
The regulator is the consumer. The market will set the price.
Pubs can charge €1k for a pint but no one would buy it. Or maybe someone would.
What’s the cost of a pint in relation to the average wage or minimum wage?
It’s probably not that straightforward for most people.
There’s a price point where people stop having a casual one and for most that has been passed. 7 notes for a lager just feels like too much, it’s not that long ago 7 quid would have got you a chicken curry in the woking.
The southern europe holidays really bring the beer rip off into perspective.