The Cost of Living šŸ“ˆ

I agree with all that.

Ireland needs a properly empowered and funded force to investigate corruption at all levels. Whether that’s the guards or another agency I don’t know

Id say the cost saved by stopping accidents and deaths exceed the cost of implementing drink driving measures

What was the cost of it in the end?

It was obviously a stunt by him electioneering but all politicians engage in that. The outraged responses to the campaign and his other comment on taking the leadership were interesting.

Of course a clue that this wouldn’t happen would have been provided in his other action in 2017, when he demanded an across the board welfare increase rather than just pensions. That helped him win the leadership as he looked the hard man vs. FF. That meant you had to be earning €50k a year to get an effective €5 a week tax cut like all welfare recipients we’re getting a €5 increase. All when Ireland was closing in on full employment. A man for workers, apparently.

His leadership has been marked with trying to appeal to Twitter who despise him rather than his core vote.

Bit hypocritical of you to lambast welfare cheats but celebrate Apple’s tax appeal win. Leo said welfare cheats cost us 500m. The campaign cost 150k. The campaign resulted in 300k being recovered.

You can pocket that €13bn, wait till other European countries invoice us for ā€œtheir shareā€ and then watch the rest of MNC tax related income leave the country.

If this was 2006 people would just be ā€œreleasingā€ another 50k of equity on the house and getting on with things, instead of standing around moaning.

Yes Tim, lets stop bullying the MNCs and target the poor instead. I’m sure we can bleed another few drops from them yet.

From the MNCs? We collect a disproportionate amount of CT from them by OECD standards and that is expected to fall so not sure what else you want to ā€œbleed from themā€?

That’s fcuk all compared to council tax.

Lolz. Disproportionate. Good man Tim.

Yep.

Ireland now collects a similar % of its overall tax take via Corporation Tax. This has risen dramatically in the last few years from being a bit above the OECD average to significantly above it. This is now being called out a fiscal risk.

The reason they ā€˜disproportionately’ pay more tax here than OECD average is because we allowed them to pay 0% tax on certain profits resulting in them siphoning off as much profits as they could through here.

Ireland have since been shamed in to ceasing the facilitation of this tax evasion. The people that believe the nonsense that MNCs will leave are the same people who believe the wildly overestimated scale of welfare fraud. The cap doffing dullards will always believe what their told by their perceived betters. No different then the dim Tory voters over in the UK.

It was just the sheer hypocrisy of the man and subtle ā€˜people on social welfare are spongers’ implication.

That and his carry on about rewarding people ā€˜who get up early in the morning.’

All while he spent a small fortune on PR when he himself was Taoiseach. He’d no problem finding the money then.

And he’s out every day trying to appear sympathetic to people, saying how terrible the overcrowding is, how terrible the price increases are for everything - if only he’d been in Government for the last decade.

A Grade A spoofer, the worst in cabinet, which is some feat when you’ve Harris, Eamon Ryan and Trampoline Donnelly beside you.

Has the brass neck to brazen it out while he’s under investigation for alleged corruption and leaking sensitive documents.

Which if it were true would mean the likes of the Apple tax would have to go elsewhere.

You kept talking about how this money could be used, the greed dripping off you. So let’s not get into a discussion on taxation and ethics.

When he was first found out about the leaking he suggested it was because he cared so much about health and was desperate to bring in free gp care for over 6s. Hasnt mentioned it since… must be working incredibly hard to achieve it.

Lads with kitchen islands want Paddy to siphon off even more tax revenue from Uncle Sam while Billy-Bob lives in a trailer. You couldn’t make it up.

This lad nails it.

Leo’s campaign uncovered minimal welfare cheating… Does it happen, yes of course, but is it happening to the propensity and volume that it’s costing the state billion? No… It was a stunt. And a clear tactic of pitting class v class and neighbour v neighbour. He tried to portray those in social welfare as the enemy if those that get up early in the morning as a diversionary tactic to screen FFGs neo liberal 'the market will correct itself ’ stance.

What’s his name - did he make a video walking around Dublin at night. ā€˜ā€˜Twas good I remember

Assume he was never asked back on the show