Either that video is on a loop or The Irish Times left off a 0 on its figure.
This is why itâs easy to dismiss anything in the media nowadays and why extremists are doing so well.
Thatâs funny as fuck. They all seem to be shouting âfight fight fightâ
Like a day out in cherry orchard
That time in 07 when there was worries there wouldnât be money in the atms must have been incredibly exciting. Did everyone take to the pub or was it only found out later ?
I do remember Anglo had a massive staff party some time in the midst of it all but before it all went completely off the rails. It was called a âDoombuster Partyâ. @Bandage might remember the details. @Arshavin23 still talks fondly of the night.
Iâm predicting complete anarchy this winter
Youâd sometimes forget the timeline of everything - took about 3 years to fully come crashing down.
August 2007 - credit crunch in US. Everyone here dismisses it.
March 2008 - St. Patrickâs Day massacre. Anglo and Irish banks crying foul.
September 2008 - bank guarantee.
January 2009 - Anglo nationalised.
November 2010 - IMF.
Really? We didnt have anarchy when half the country was told to stop working cos of covid and people lost jobs and businesses. We didnt have anarchy when the government decided to bail out banks and fuck the cost at the population. We dont have anarchy when very few of the country under 35 can afford somewhere to live. We didnât have anarchy when Thierry Henry stole our countryâs future. Do you think there will be anarchy because the heating bill goes so high?
Irish people donât do collective protest.
Is there a cumulative effect here that next one increases the chance of it?
When Lehmans collapsed there was a period of about 48 hours, I heard a few years later from lads at the coal face, when the entire financial and trading system was on verge of collapsing and trading screens were effectively blank.
Jesus. I cant leave yis for a second. You cunts really fucked this place up.
April 2007 - Juhniallio left for China with his Sublimity money.
Oct 2007 Juhy returns to Ireland. Works for a few months sans mrs J. Becomes regular at rds for leinster rugby games. Boosts local economy by inventing jackman chant which then gets sold as t shirts.
April 2008- Having steadied the ship, Juhy returns to asia to lead tfk Asia branch.
July 2008 returns to ireland for whistlestop tour of country. Country still doing fine. Juhy explores option of getting helicopter to fly from an island off the coast of sligo to Cork for high profile wedding. Costs of helicopters still holding up. Aug 2008 Returns to Brijing for Olympics. Plays a lead role at beijing Olympics as fixer/tour guide/pisshead, again rejuvenating the feelgood factor/consumer sentiment of the country.
2011 after the unholy trinity of the bank guarantee, anglo and imf, juhy returns home to lead the country out of recession, setting up a small business. Hitting the m50 daily, he helps irelands growth back to 15-20% house price rises yearly.
You left out Rockos âthe fundamentals are soundâ post
As he then joined @Bandage sagely nodding their heads confirming theyâd heard nothing about impending doom.
Dempsey and Dermot Aherne wasnât itâŚIâd say they hadnât a breeze what was going on.
The one time we went out to protest en masse we won.
Mercifully I drank my share of it when it was relatively cheap.
Half-ones 16p and pints 17p. Heady days. A cautionary noteâŚ.
Folk fawning about the âgood old daysâ are talking through their holes.
That was a good solid drink you had Boxty.
The 2008 Heineken Cup final in Cardiff was the final day of the Celtic Tiger. There was a tangible end of days feel in the air. Bertie had gone, @BenShermin had predicted and already been proved correct in his warning that the banks were a house of cards and the new Taoiseach already looked like Stan doing his post match interview after Ireland had lost 5-2 to Cyprus.
Baby minerals⌠What were baby minerals? And how did minerals enter the Irish lexicon for soft drinks?