Thatâs the way I played it
I had a 2.5km walk to my nearest kerb.
Haha was gonna ask you did you play stakes. From one field to another
Did any of ye play red rover?
We had a fat lad on our road who could tip along for a big lad and wasnât very coordinated either. My fuck did he do damage
Yes red rover was a classic.
Releivio
Tip the can.
And in the summer manhunt in st Anneâs park
Bulldog
Rounders
Never heard of releivo
Releivio basically was say two teams of 5.
One group waited whilst the other one hid.
If a lad was caught be brought back to team a base and if u could get to that base and relieve the caught lad the game continued.
A bit like capture the flag I suppose
45 was similar so without teams. Fella at base counted to 45 and everyone else hid. He goes looking and the lads hiding have to time it right to run out to get back to base if youâre called out youâve to run.
Some amount of spoofing went on because you werenât supposed to call out unless you could see someone
All the birds then wanted to play queenie eye oh.
Queenie eye oh who has the ball,
Is she big, or is she small
Is she fat or is she skinny,
Queenie eye oh who has the ball
Then theyâd read the fuck out of each other
Kids today really have no lives. In when the street lamps come on those were the day
We used to get whistled in. We could hear the Daâs whistle from 2 streets up. Like fucking dogs
All frog marched in saturday night was a belter.
Noelâs funhouse mr Bobby gladiators and later that night mots.
All of this after playing 2 matches on a saturday morn and afternoon good good times.
Just so youâre aware weâre going to get pelters for this little exchange off the lads who spent their childhoods tipping cows and worrying sheep
I will be ready with my pitchfork and flamed torch
The only 45 I knew of as a kid included a deck of cards
We had that but I think we called it 40/40. First fella who made it back to the base without being caught shouted â40 40 I free allâ .
We were the same. Iâve a whistle for my lot too. #oldschool
Good idea on Ryan Tubridy snow this morning to control kids at home all day eating shite* that I have adapted and improved
Create a tuck shop and open it twice a day and make pretend money they can spend in it if they behave they get more pretend money
Deece Dad skills
- just say no is also an option for the curmudgeonly fuckers
Donât buy the stuff in the first place. If itâs there theyâll want it, if it isnt they wont