The Daddy Thread

I asked them today about it, and was told to basically go and figure it out myself and send them the difference. I asked did they have a new fee list, but it was basically ah itā€™s too complicated each case is different etc etc.
Lazy bastards.
Very tempted to leave them short ā‚¬100 for the laugh and see how quickly they correct it.

They are very nice tbf, but have an admirable fuck you policy in terms of, like it or I have a waiting list of 50 kids. They have you over a barrel

Iā€™m waiting for the fee increase to eat into the grant, but theyā€™ll have to wait a few months to not be too obvious about it I suppose

Looking after the people who get up early in the morning and then go for an afternoon nap.

Lot of detail on the website incl details of all of your providers fees etc. I think you make the claim and once approved let crĆØche know and just pay them lessā€¦ They get paid direct by gov

And people wonder why we vote for these people?

Ya you have to go onto the NCS website, which is literally one of the worst websites of all time. Although it has significantly approved since it first launched.

It only takes about two goes to login now. When they launched it first youā€™d have to log in ten times, each time with a text code, only to be knocked out if you changed page on it or something, which you had to do. I had to ring up the helpline to get sorted the first time. I says to your man, ā€œI presume you know the website doesnā€™t work?ā€ At which point he just laughed, and said ā€œya we are aware alrightā€.

A great country

Have things changed at all among teens? Obviously most of us grew up in the most claustrophobic nobody stand out from the crowd society it was possible to have. I would have thought people doing their own thing would be a lot more common now and there would be a lot more acceptance of difference. And far greater awareness of bullying, special needs, different sexuality etc.

Even though it is the norm in Limerick Iā€™d be very slow to send the daughter to an all girls school. I know that studies show girls perform better in single sex schools than mixed, but it sounds toxic. Missus went to one and would be of the same opinion.

Thinly veiled Mrs Julio has decided sheā€™s going to Crescent Comp

She is in her fuck going anywhere near a rubby school

100%. But thereā€™s also character development that can, with encouragement, come from it. Being comfortable in your own company and not seeking group at the expense of your own values is one of the first major steps towards independence.

Wouldnā€™t wish them having to learn it too young but strong lessons can be learnt quicker through adversity and from it comes self assurance.

Or bitterness. Lots and lots of bitternessā€¦

Have you ever gone out with a bird that went to ColƔiste?

Its mean girls on speed and the women are mostly on coke. And thats after they all have finished the LC they still hold grudges

Yes. We pay for afterschool care, and they notified us of the new rate before the start of the return last Thursday.

I had worked it out on the National Childcare Scheme web portal anyway.

It would take you two minutes to figure it out, and each case is different. Youā€™d never make it as a farmer if you canā€™t sort out a tiny bit of grant admin.

Iā€™ve it sorted sure, Iā€™m saying surely they should tell me what I owe them, not the other way around

Our crowd gave us out the documentation and got us to signand acknowledge that we got it.

Itā€™s a non profit community outfit back by the local Enterprise office thougb.

I donā€™t know what age you are but there was far more individuality when I was a teen, nowadays I have great admiration for the kids who stand out particularly in how they dress (or wear their makeup etc) because of how unusual it is.

The Auld Lad was laid to rest yesterday. Tough few days but even tougher few weeks and months witnessing a colossus of a man slowing loose the good fight. Heā€™d been ill for a few years, slowly getting less and less able to fend for himself until after been very ill in early April, went into a nursing home in July and then was in and out of hospital between then and last week.
He had a bad turn on the 23rd Dec and slipped away peacefully from us all on Saturday evening.
I loved my Dad, he did a great job with us all and cared practically solo for Mam when she was sick with MND. Any shortcomings a man of his generation had in parenthood were wiped clean when he spent two years caring for Mam.
Dad was a Hurley maker. The amount of people at the wake who came to us speaking about getting hurls off of Dad and who were upset at his passing was endless. I saw lassies and lads with many AI medals in their pockets be extremely upset as he had some bond with them all. When you played county you got your picture up on the wall of the shed, when you won an AI you got your own pattern, that was the rule.
There was a minute silence for him in his honour before the Walsh Cup game above on the Green on Sunday, a great gesture shown by the Lockes and the KK county board.
He was able to convert his passion for hurling into his craft and he always said he was living the dream.
I went out to the Shed there today for the first time in a while, Christ you couldnā€™t be but moved when youā€™d pick up his hammer, his spoke plain, his chisel, looking at his bandsaw, the sanding machine down the back.
To its credit, rip.ie is a great service and youā€™d get great comfort from all the messages on it.
Thanks to the @Callanpose and thanks for giving your time so generously over the last couple of days. Thanks to those on here too who knew the craic and gave support.
I donā€™t know what Iā€™ll do for an AI ticket, he was always the one to get them for us, Christ he loved the build up to AIs and sourcing tickets for us all. I saw one KK player at 10pm the night before an AI call to the house with two tickets for Dad, he was laughing about the story yesterday, crazy stuff!!
And the fact that I will have to pay for a hurl, I nearly fell off the high stool last night and knocked over the table of Large Ales when I heard the price of them!!
Rest well Dad, you earned it. Mam will have the ear worn off you now you can talk again to each other.

74 Likes

Sorry for your loss, RIP to your dad. .

Incredible tribute there, very sorry for your loss, take it easy

Iā€™m very sorry to read that pal, may your dad rest in peace. Look after yourself.