The Daddy Thread

That fella doesn’t have a patch on Boxty.

The little lad was visited by his cousins on his mother’s side yesterday. Bo is nearly 4 and girl around 18 months like himself.

The boy was sitting in the little lad’s chair and nonchalantly picking up and dropping his toys. I found a huge protective urge in me to defend his possessions but I needn’t have worried as himself came over and shoved the boy out of his chair which I was delighted with.

My wife said I was being petty :roll_eyes::roll_eyes:. What’s petty about claiming victory over a four year old with my 18 month old son?

Women won’t get it. You’re on the ball here. Allow yourself be walked over once and you’re done for good

Perfectly normal. We all want to see that our kids can hold their own… it’s why i hold off when the eldest girl is beating on the younger lad. Let him learn.

nephew GIF

It’s the little lad’s house as well.

The wife asked what would I do if the roles were reversed. I would make sure our little lad didn’t just plough in and use the toys and reprimand him if he did.

That’s it in a nutshell. Fucking parent.

The three year old is toilet trained since the summer. She’d still go through phases of wetting herself some weeks. Three times today in the creche. We only had 2 spare trousers in so they brought her out to the car in a pair of knickers.

Was on a long drive yesterday. I stopped into Tiredness Kills (Fermoy) for a break and for love nor money she refused to go. Told me around Cahir then she was bursting but wanted to wait until we were home. I pulled into a gateway at the Limerick exit and no way would she get out, pulled in at Tiredness Kills (Cashel) again and again she kicked up. Had to pull up between Thurles and Templemore to let her make her waters.

Impressive bladder control for a three year old to hold it so long but she is a stubborn yoke at times.

That’s poor form. Creches should have spares for such eventualities.

Women have great bladder control.

I suppose. She was a bit put out over it though they did give a blanket

In ours they would take a pair from another child’s bag discreetly and tip you off to clean them and get them back asap

She refused to go to creche this morning, presumably after her accidents yesterday. A day of parenting and WFH ahead. I’ve told her in no uncertain language that there is no TV for the day now.

Poor thing. Be nice to her. Take your frustrations out on those footix cunts.

I’d say you’re well broken on the no tv by now.

Go easy on her. She’s still young to be trained even.

What’s she watching now?

I once shat myself in senior infants. I said nothing. The teacher asked what the smell was and I volunteered I thought it might be be. I was sent home in a pair of girls underwear as that was all they had. This was year before we had school uniform introduced and so I was presumably also in shorts. I can still remember the blackboard had leaf/leaves on it.

I was back in school next day. We were a proper country then.

Ah - that explains a lot.

You know what, it probably does in hindsight.

Like Nastya