The depression thread

Whatever United did to you seems to have been a lot lot worse. It’s as impressive as it is disturbing.

What did they do to him?

The fans gave him dreadful abuse. Read the article. Then he was living it up at West Ham and united dragged him back and blocked a permanent move.

Thank God for Forest.

You know what you did. Shame. Shame. Shame.

Fair play to Lingard for being open about this. Might help other young men dealing with. I don’t think there was anything in particular United did that caused or exacerbated the problems. Each club will have a few idiot fans that will hurl abuse at their own. The main thing is that the lad is back enjoying life and football.

They destroyed him.

They currently have a young player going to jail. Another spilling his heart out about how they didn’t believe or care his daughter was ill / dying. And now another opens up about abuse he got and depression he experienced while at the club… These are just recent transgressions - there’s a litany of player mistreatment stretching back to Fergies early days to now.

What an absolutely vile organization.

Ferguson’s time !!! Have a gawk at this - deplorable.

Disturbing reading… it appears to be in the club DNA.

Best was indulged too i suppose and never helped. Same with Paul McGrath - got rid if instead of helping.

They destroy George Best too.

This is the 14th day in a row I’ve taken one of these. First five days were half dose (37.5mg Venlafex) then 75 mg each day after that.

Usually having two Anxicalm tablets per day and half a sleeping tablet (zopiclone) at night.

Has taken the edge off things a bit and to be honest the anxiety tablets have probably kept me alive but overall I still feel pretty shit and am worried about becoming addicted to anxiety tablets. Got out of bed about 20 past 11 this morning which is early by my recent standards.

Doesn’t feel like there has been much if any change in the eye for the last month.

Finding it hard to get out of the house. It’s a grand day today and I just can’t bring myself to get out for a walk. Not very enthusiastic about food, apart from Tayto.

Don’t want to listen to music because that reminds me of happy things which simultaneously makes me feel sad. Skim reading or watching the news at best. Podcasts have lost their allure. Still find it hard to watch sport on telly. I think the World Cup will largely pass me by.

Have retreated into help groups on Facebook for people who have retinal detachments. Scouring them, so I am. These groups I’m sure have a bias towards people with bad stories. Don’t think it’s helping me. Going for another OCT scan and check up at another optician tomorrow in an attempt to find some answers, given I don’t expect my surgeon’s office to get back to my e-mail with a list of questions, and the records lady at the Regional is out of the office until Friday, she seems to be out of the office nearly all the time to be honest.

The best way to sum up my mood would be a low energy, resigned grunt.

To be fair, this does sound like an improvement on where you were, mentally and somewhat physically so you should commend yourself for that.

Skimming the news might be no bad thing either for whats its worth.

Possibly. Wednesday November 2nd and much of the following day was hell. In truth though as soon as I wake up in the mornings I’m pretty much counting the hours until I can fall asleep again that night.

Have to get up early tomorrow, have counselling, which I’m actually looking forward to rather than dreading because it’s at least something to occupy me.

27 Likes

Do your utmost to do it. Whatever superhuman energy it requires, muster it. I’ve been at bad matches, I’ve supped some baaad pints, but I can’t recall ever going for a bad walk.

I’m really bad right now to be honest. Much worse than earlier. About 1.5/10.

Are ya journaling things at all @Cheasty? Like writing it down on paper? I hear it helps. You’re an extremely intelligent lad who may actually get something out of it.

Sorry to hear that lad. Sounds horrific. It’s a rough month as well although I don’t know if that makes much of a difference in your case. Hope there is light in the tunnel soon.

Mainly here just.

The journaling part would have to go back to August 7th because that’s when I saw the new floaters, they were like four or five flies of varying sizes entering my field of vision in the eye. The biggest was in my left peripheral vision, I genuinely did keep thinking there was a fly there. I made a loose vow to go to an optician and of course did nothing. Always excuses not to go today. Typical feckless, arrogant Irishman who thought nothing could happen to them. I wouldn’t mind but I was warned at an eye exam in 2015 I was at risk of retinal detachment and in seven weeks I never even googled it, or googled floaters. I’d say most likely what happened with the floaters was that it was the very early stages of a retinal tear. Retinal tears can be fixed fairly handy with laser or cryotherapy but if you do nothing they can develop into a catastrophe.

I’ve just had four cigarettes there in the porch over the last hour just to try and calm myself a bit. I know I shouldn’t be smoking with a serious eye condition. Rang Pieta House again. I didn’t expect much from it and didn’t get much except for somebody to talk to. The line was shite too.

Looking at these Facebook groups for people with retinal detachments is ruining me as you get American style false positivity but a lot more real negativity.The internet has been poison for me over the last five or six weeks. It’s driving me up the wall. The problem is nearly all the coping mechanisms I had after my Da died are gone. I can type which is why I’m still on here and the black background helps as it cuts down on the double vision but I can’t bring myself to watch the telly at the moment, it’s nauseating. That means no documentaries and little sport on telly. I watched a bit of the Glen v Errigal Ciaran match but had to cover up the bad eye.

Pretty much the best prognosis for what I have as far as I can make out is for the good eye to “dominate” bad eye and that in x number of months, maybe six months or more, the brain will “train out” the double vision. There might be a small chance the distortion could lessen or even disappear in time but that seems like a pipe dream and right now I feel the eye is ruined permanently. I’m 43 and I cannot believe this has happened to me. I simultaneously cannot believe this has happened and yet now I nearly cannot believe I had good sight up to the 26th of September this year. I watched that England v Germany Nations League match with proper sight and when I woke up the next morning I was blind in one eye.

Most of the easily available online information you find online about retinal detachment is bollocks too. It paints far too rosy a picture. The stuff that comes up in searches talks about recovery times of 2 to 4 weeks or 2 to 6 weeks. I saw one yoke today on a “reputable” website which says posterior vitreous detachment (where the vitreous humour disintegrates and pulls on the retina) is NOT a condition which threatens sight. Damn sure it is. “Reputable” websites say that any double vision disappears quickly after retinal detachment surgery. Bollocks to that. Recovery is only measured by visual acuity. You could have 20/20 visual acuity (and my eye has a decent visual acuity, maybe not too far off 20/20) but your eyesight wouldn’t be worth a fuck because of the distortion and crumpling and slanting and things looking further away. All this stuff paints way too rosy a picture, and gives a false sense of security. Like when I went blind in the eye, I was in shock and denial and a bargaining state and I came across a thing that made me think I had a posterior vitreous detachment and it was normal to lose your sight temporarily. Like fuck it was. That cost me vital hours when I could have been legging it to the Eye and Ear Hospital - I was in Dublin on my own at the time. Instead I got on a train to Galway pulled a load of luggage after me and only rang my GP when I got on the train. The secretary groaned “oh no” when I told her my symptoms. She groaned even louder when I told her I was at Portarlington station.

Are you against use of eye patch?

That’s what happened with me, pal. I don’t want to be one of those annoying types that tells you it’s all going to be fine when getting to that point seems absolutely impossible now…but you’re still in the early stages post surgery and things are surely still evolving and settling down.

What United didn’t do to him was nothing short of a disgrace.