The depression thread

I hope so

I appreciate/d all of those things, and this appreciation was reinforced not least because of the pandemic and the war. I did about four things I enjoyed last summer - I went to the Dublin-Kerry game and the hurling final, and I went to a Clannad gig. And I went out walking almost every evening and I’d stare at the sea and gaze over at Clare in wonder. And when I was doing those things I tried to appreciate how lucky I was to be in the full of my health and enjoying them. But then suddenly you don’t have your health and you believe you won’t get it back, and things start to lose all meaning. You find it hard to do anything but look within and despair. The basic physical tools you need to appreciate the luck we have to exist in a peaceful country at a reasonably prosperous time are suddenly gone. You only have fear.

The hardest thing is to realise.
It’s alright rationalising it and havinglads moralise at you, buts thats as much use as trying to enjoy your dinner by meditating on black babies in africa. It takes practice. When I’m at my worst i try to think of five things I’m grateful for. The worse i am the harder it is to stop at five.
It takes practice! There’s somebody out there to guide you, or help you turn a corner. It might be a priest, an aunt, a karate coach or a guru (for me it was the lad who sells fish from the van every Friday…fresh mackerel and a weekly chat. You wouldn’t believe the way he picked me up. He knew what he was at too)

Focus there and you’ll get through this

@Cheasty , do you want to swap?

Tables? His can’t be moved and yours can’t be given away.

When I was walking to the railway line, I had to cross a major traffic junction, it’s the junction between Tesco and Dunnes on the Headford Road in Galway. A chap pulled up beside me on a bike, he wasn’t Irish, I’d say he was in his 40s. I’d guess he was from the Middle East. He asked me if I knew where Wellpark was. I directed him, go straight up there, then straight at the roundabout, then you go down a hill and there’s a set of lights, go straight through those and keep going and it’s on your left. He thanked me and smiled. Then I nipped across into the central island when there was no traffic and across to other side when the green man went. I was halfway up Sean Mulvoy Road before yer man on the bike passed me. “Thanks”, he shouted as he passed me. He smiled and waved.

I think his interaction with me contributed in part to me getting off the railway line.

Don’t lie, you sat on the prom tweeting about trump.

No, I’d go over to the park opposite Leisureland.

Would you give yourself a month with the eye patch just to see if you can adjust to living with one eye? You’re obsessed with recovery of the bad eye, understandable, but it’s driving you demented. That eye is a cunt now and you need to plough on without it, until it recovers or otherwise. Have you been told to keep it open to aid its recovery?

He’s a bad hoor @Cheasty , but when hes this good at it you can’t be cross

Pretty much, yes, though not explicitly.

I’ve been told “the eye won’t go back to the way it was”. But I’ve also been told “we’re confident you’ll get back to 95%” and that “one day you’ll wake up and not notice the double vision”. You have to train the brain if that’s ever to happen and wearing an eye patch doesn’t train the brain and can let the eye atrophy.

I’ve been told a lot of things, but not had much explanation. Deciphering exactly what these things mean can be tricky.

The people that tell me things don’t know exactly what I am seeing. They’re only guessing at what might happen. They don’t know.

A chap I’m acquainted with was told his eye was fine by doctors. It wasn’t fine, he had cancer in the eye. The chap knew his eye wasn’t fine, which is why he pushed for a biopsy. Him pushing was the only reason he kept the eye, had he not pushed he’d have lost it, he very nearly lost it anyway.

That eye ain’t worth your life bro.

@Cheasty auld stock you need to check in to John of Gods or somewhere for a stint. I know you were in Galway but you need to go somewhere and not come out until you are someway right. Mind yourself.

FFS @Cheasty imagine if you were dead all the craic you’d have missed after this weeks club final,think about these replays and all the matches from this week on.Ive no interest reading your shit on here but some of the lads do, don’t let them down they rely on you to tell people what they think.Get a patch,chicks will be all over you.

That is one of the best posts I’ve read on here.

@cheasty please don’t ignore this touching sentiment from @Massey.

Christ , Ive just copped on to this now. Sorry boss its been a long week

It’s the ‘wear sunscreen’ for a new millennium

Ladies and gentlemen of the class of 2023…

Take a heap of mushrooms, buy a fishing rod…or a bow and arrow, write your screenplay, go on tinder, glue yourself to @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy’s bicycle, see what those freaks are up to who sit around stone circles at solstices(solstici?), laugh at yourself, stop being an arse.

Microdosing mushrooms is meant to be a game changer