The depression thread

thats it pal. Keep the Aspidistra Flying

Nasty nasty stuff from site bully @glasagusban

Sounds More like Balls deep on a whore crawl through the third world …

Asia and south america aren’t third world…and I’m shocked that you would even consider such a thing.

Brent Pope on with COTY champion BOC here enunciating his woes. Interesting.

Era he’s dead right

His voice is dreary

I have a stye in my eye now. The good eye. And christ it’s sore. FML.

Hows the bad one? Any improvement?

Shite. No.

I do get very depressed when Dublin matches are on the telly. I can’t watch them and I can’t watch telly.

I can look at Arsenal on me laptop up close but not the Dubs. I think I need to go back into a psychiatric ward. For everybody’s sake. I don’t want to do this but I’ve been ostracised from the rest of the household and my brother wants me to kill myself, which isn’t great. I agree with him, which is probably worse.

Ah surely not Chief

Your brother has been consistent on this so we can discount him a little at least. Hows your own head? How you feeling? As we know from lads on here, getting help can sort you out. It might not happen the first time either. I was hoping you were in good nick cos youve had some stellar posts of late.

Bathe with cold tea-bag. Early and often. For those with religious beliefs make the sign of the cross on it with someone’s wedding ring. Cue dog’s abuse ………

Bad. I’m basically two weeks off anti-depressants. I did notice withdrawal symtoms - my body felt like it was holding onto an electric fence for a few days, but I dont notice any perceptible difference in mood.

The truth is I deliverately went off the anti depressants to work myself into a state where I would kill myself.

Also because a mate of mine I hadnt seen since 2014 came down the other day, and we went drinking, and I wanted to drink heavily. We were in a band together and I broke off contact aroynd the time Russia invaded Crimea for no reason, maybe low level depression. I wouldnt have contacted him again only for me being like this and feeling i had to apologise to him. Laz will know I was very drunk because I went into his pub later that evening on my own and talked utter shite to him. Laz will also be glad to know ive shaved off all my hair since then, i looked like a scarecrow trying look ljke Neil Young.

The previous day Sunday I was talking to a chap Im acquainted with who takes anti depressants and he said he drinks anyway even though he takes 75mg of venlafaxine a day. I was in 225mg per day, now im on 0.

I would have made a longer post only my laptop access has been taken away.

Did you ever find your phone or get fixed up with another? How did you feel drinking, in that moment in time, whatever about the aftermath and looking back now?

I didnt get the phone back but I did get a new phone which Im typing on now. I found that an ordeal in itself, just to go into a shop. I eventually worked up the courage one Friday around 6pm about three or four weeks back. Then the actual process of getting the number sorted out was an ordeal too as i had to ring a load of numbers with a phone belonging to the attendant in the shop and three or four times i got short shrift and after about half an hour of this the attendant had to ring up himself and then he got fobbed off, you get the picture, but eventually it got sorted, and i got ghe phone with the same number.

I felt OK drinking.

We should fix him up with my last wife, they’d be well met

Keep going mate, there’s something inside you driving you on inspite of all the thoughts. Focus on that.

I really think you need to check yourself in somewhere. Keep on keeping on.

You see the problem is, Im very good at self examination, in fact Im expert at it and I am ruthless in my self criticism. I know what my problems are. I could tell you a rich tapestry of every problem ive ever had going back to when i was six, what each problem was and exactly why each problem happened, and why the next one happened.

My problem is I never took any of the advice i would have given to other people who had the same problems as me.

Every other problem i had until now was fixable, and I now know, bullshit - but i dont think this one is and for the first time in my life i dont know what advice i would give to somebody in my situation, if it was another person.

I think my honest advice to me - if i was somebody else - if that makes sense, would be to kill themselves.

Im only hanging on in a limbo. Mental health services Ive found are completely out of their depth with my case, and so am I.

Stay strong @Cheasty