Got hockeyed, missing 12 lads that togged on Tuesday. They had a lad corner forward who played senior championship in Roscommon last month
Ffs, some flutes thinking you can get away with that shite in this day and age.
Not a hope of this happening now by the looks of it. County Football final will be at the earliest on the 7th of October. Was told the hurling semiâs will more than likely be the 20th with the final possibly the first week of November due to players possibly being unavailable due to the Irish bank holiday weekend
[quote=âchewy louie, post: 626733â]
Not a hope of this happening now by the looks of it. County Football final will be at the earliest on the 7th of October. Was told the hurling semiâs will more than likely be the 20th with the final possibly the first week of November due to players possibly being unavailable due to the Irish bank holiday weekend[/quote]
Ah for fuck sake! Thatâs some dose. Be hard to keep lads interested. Is the replay causing the final to be put back?
I am lead to believe there is an appeal in against one of the sides in the football semi finals. They were supposed to take place this weekend but have now been put back to the 30th of September (possibly even the week after) meaning that everything is now going to be delayed a few weeks.
[quote=âchewy louie, post: 626735â]
I am lead to believe there is an appeal in against one of the sides in the football semi finals. They were supposed to take place this weekend but have now been put back to the 30th of September (possibly even the week after) meaning that everything is now going to be delayed a few weeks.[/quote]
Is this the same side who had trouble with an illegal player in the group stages? I knew they were off this weekend but hadnât heard any dates
Donât know who is appealing what. It could well be that club appealing the initial judgement against them for all I know.
Over 87,000 people emigrated last year, up from 80,000 the previous year.
Males aged between 25 and 44 account for the single highest proportion of emigrants across all nationalities, with 24,700 men in that age bracket leaving in the twelve months. Among females there were 18,400 emigrants in the 15-24 age bracket, the highest in all age categories among women.
Get this shit out of the Warwichshire GAA thread :shakefist:
How do you think the football semiâs will go? We played mitchels footballers in a challenge Saturday night. They were only missing the hurlers. We ran them close until the last ten minutes and their fitness told. bout 3 points in it at the end.
Barnabas are very very dogged. We probably played our best football against them twice this year yet both times they just ran us into the ground in the second half and pulled away. They are a side that win plenty of games they deserve to lose but never lose a game they deserve to win if you know what I mean. Only seen Mitchells once this year and they were up against a side missing a dozen lads so coulnât draw too much into them although their full backline donât look all that mobile while Barnabas have some very sharp inside forwards who are very clever in their movement. Think Barnabas will edge a dour encounter
McDermotts will overpower Casements in the other one. Far too strong physically and if it is any bit tight they will start a few rows to knock Casements out of their kilter
Then it will be another installment of the grudgematch in the final.
Fullen Gaels will play John Mitchells in the Warkwickshire senior hurling final next weekend
2 poor semi finals yesterday. Fullenâs to lose next week I think.
Was told that the standard was way up on previous years :o :lol:
Well not having EGB or casements there brought it up. Pure plodders. Only saw 20mins of the first game but the second game was quite flat I felt. Certainly after we got a run on ye.
We were carrying too many lads in the forwards. 4 of the starting forward line are in their first year of playing hurling and it shows, none of them were really capable of winning ball, getting out in front or even slowing the ball down. We were missing 5 lads who would have strengthened us, we have plenty of numbers but fuck all depth and it showed yesterday
We held our own for 20 minutes or so but once Ivors moved inside and started bring the other forwards into it ye fairly opened up alright.
Was expecting far more from ye to be honest, presume ye werenât showing your full hand ahead of next week. the full forward is hardly your regular free taker?
[quote=âchewy louie, post: 626746â]
We were carrying too many lads in the forwards. 4 of the starting forward line are in their first year of playing hurling and it shows, none of them were really capable of winning ball, getting out in front or even slowing the ball down. We were missing 5 lads who would have strengthened us, we have plenty of numbers but fuck all depth and it showed yesterday
We held our own for 20 minutes or so but once Ivors moved inside and started bring the other forwards into it ye fairly opened up alright.
Was expecting far more from ye to be honest, presume ye werenât showing your full hand ahead of next week. the full forward is hardly your regular free taker?[/quote]
I thought it was a bit daft playing a two man full forward line to start with. Our training has been terrible to be honest with you. Only getting 9/10 a session. And the standard hasnât been great. Weâve a good team but that was the first time weâve played together all year. Not even in training matches. Yea heâll be our main free taker. Normally much better. Ivors could go on them too.
Is Bergin hurling at all this year or is he just managing?
Your guess is as good as mine. He told us he wasnât starting himself yesterday a few weeks ago. He could do anything that lad.
Kilkenny footballers will ply their trade exclusively in Britain[/url] next year after opting out of the [url=âhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/National_Football_Leagueâ]National Football League and the Leinster junior and U-21 championships.
The draft fixtures for the league, which have been circulated to counties and are still subject to change, do not include Kilkenny in what is now an eight-team Division 4 again.
Kilkenny have been on the receiving end of some very bad defeats in the league and underage football[/url] championships in recent years, culminating in the 50-point defeat to Louth in this yearâs [url=âhttp://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Leinster_Rugbyâ]Leinster U-21 series.
The GAA have given the green light for their move to Britain, which will see them play teams from London and other parts of England and Scotland in a redrawn British championship next summer.
The competition is being run off along the lines of the Christy Ring Cup and the winners will gain entry to the All-Ireland junior championship.
It is viewed as the most sensible solution to the sequence of morale-sapping defeats that have become commonplace for Kilkenny since their return to the league in 2008 after a period of hibernation.
Their only victory came against London.
The move into a much less competitive environment received unanimous approval at Monday nightâs Kilkenny County Board meeting and is understood to have involved GAA president Liam OâNeill behind the scenes.
Kilkenny will travel to Britain for all their games next June and those trips will be financed with the help of the GAA.
Kilkenny have been out of their depth, even in Division 4 and this year suffered a 9-23 to 0-4 defeat to Fermanagh.
Meanwhile, opportunities for Dublinâs novel Spring Series to thrive look limited after the release of the draft fixture list.
The Dublin footballers and hurlers are scheduled to be on the same ticket on only one Saturday night, March 16, when the Limerick hurlers and the Tyrone footballers are on the same programme.
Dublin also play Cork and Mayo in football on other Saturday nights in February and March with a further match on Sunday, March 24 against Down.
Their last football match is away to All-Ireland champions Donegal on Sunday, April 7.
Dublin chairman Andy Kettle said that âwith some ingenuityâ the Spring Series can continue to thrive, despite the obvious problems in aligning good hurling and football league matches involving Dublin.
- Colm Keys
Irish Independent