For the boys in Aus, a couple of my friends are home from Australia and they said the Irish drug scene is absolutely massive over there, is that true?
The Irish drug scene is massive where ever there are Irish, Jimmy.
Not here anymore mate, drug scene has died a death. I suppose thatās one good side to the recession, most of the druggies are in Australia.
I had a pint with the man at Christmas . Not long back from a six month holiday. No fear of him.
Sent from my GT-S5830 whilst on the jacks using TFK App
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/2012/0317/1224313458935_1.jpg?ts=1332196277
The recession has its good points. This guy has fucked off to Australia and loves it there apparently. Stay there buddy.
Whoās that?
Iād well believe it. Most of the crew i know from back home who are there are well into their drugs and when Tournafulla Man was over there with them he said it would make you blush how bad it was.
I think anyone who has read Kevās posts would agree.
Everybody knows the main reason most people go to Australia is to have the crack.
How dare you. Crack is not a problem in Australia. The preferred drug of choice among the criminal underclass is ice.
I could be wrong, but I think heās supposed to be representative of the hipster-type arsecandles who plagued the country during the boom years.
Ah right. Cunts
Call on God, but row away from the rocks
No, he is a specific person. Featured in the Irish Times on Saturday. Managed to reach a seemingly impossible level of cuntishness in the few hundred words and one photograph that were available to him.
An emigrant writes āI feel great in Melbourneā
Will Keena, who recently moved to Australia, reflects on his new life
Mornings are beautiful down here at Melbourneās majestic, tranquil Brighton beach. Iām awake just after dawn and thereās an inky blue sky that just runs and runs. The depth of the shade is striking, its freshness replenishing.
Iām up early because Iām anxious. Today I will find out whether Tuesdayās second interview went as I hoped.
When I arrived, some friends offered me a room in their house until I got on my feet. Iām endlessly grateful for and humbled by the generosity of such friends. No one likes to have to rely on others, especially when they canāt offer much in return. āCould I interest you in a short story, perhaps?ā doesnāt help with utility bills. It motivates me to do better though, to repay their benevolence and their faith in my success.
The employment positivity here is infectious. Triumphant stories abound among my acquaintances, a welcome change from the gruelling death-match for opportunities in Ireland.
Melbourne has much to offer in terms of quality of life, from perfectly judged cappuccino along the stooped, winding splendour of Degraves Street to an endless selection of luscious beers and delectable food in the rooftop bars and Yarra-side establishments.
Art, music, ethnic culture and a celebration of life are on every thoroughfare, in every neighbourhood. Everything is illuminated. A friend referred to it as the ānewā New World and Iām starting to really believe in it, investing my all into that; building my dreams around it, if I may paraphrase The Pogues.
I drink less on nights out, my diet is healthier and Iāve lost some weight. I still have no hair but the face below is tanned, smiling, mischievous.
I walk or cycle everywhere, driven forward by a cocktail of vitamin D and inner contentment.
I feel great. The anxiety borne of a lack of success in Ireland is being slowly assuaged. Iāve always believed that I had a lot to offer, that I could produce good work . . . all I required was an opportunity.
Emigrants often discuss returning to Ireland eventually. I still canāt provide an answer of any real certainty. Just being away this year means Iāll miss the weddings of some dear friends, and my fatherās 60th birthday. These things matter to me, these things sting. But I have to stay where my skills are valued, where my self-confidence is secure.
Emigration and sacrifice have always regarded each other warily
Heās staying in someoneās house, free of charge? I thought you were meant to prove you had funds available, in excess of a few grand, in order to get the visa? I may have to alert the authorities that some immigrants are coming here under false pretences. It will rightly come as something of a shock to them.
lad from home, came over to Aus last month. Loving it man, mental, women, pills, fucking hammered yeah. On the facebook the whole time to one of his equally troubled mates, he was going coming over too.
apparently he got deported last week after getting in a row with the cops. now he was hanging around with some wannable hard sorts from west clare. utter scumbags, most from good families, but all in need of good hidings. but id say the whole row with the cops thing is a facade. more like he just couldnt handle being away from home.
back at home now where by all accounts he got into a few scraps at the weekend. will be surprised if this lad makes 30.
Australia is ruining a whole generation of young Irish people. Thankfully TASE is on his way to sort it out.
I have a nephew over here at the moment, at least I think I do. He phoned me once after arriving in Sydney and then buggered off to QLD where heās been doing the whole mad for it thing on that Facebook yoke (which I unfortunately had to log onto last week for the first time in months, took me ages to figure out my password). His mother is terribly worried.
most of those very young Irish dont last 6 months though.
Their life expactancy is shocking alright.
drugs are very expensive in Aus. The Irish in the US are where the real āirish drug sceneā is.