nor I with you, it’s a genial discussion about one of lifes good guys
He’d fit in well here so.
Dunphy danced at every dance over the years and still very much young at heart.
I don’t listen to it so I can’t comment. I was speaking in general about the guy.
I had a few great encounters with the man over the years.
One night after watching a Champions League match in Corrigan’s Mount Pleasant Inn, myself and a friend were walking back towards Ranelagh when we rounded the corner at the arch next to Dunphy’s house and I said, ‘I wonder what Dunphy would have made of that?’
Low and behold, the great man was standing right there outside his house puffing on a cigarrette, and in that mischievous tone, that only Eamo can pull off he put the hand up to salute, and goes ‘Hi Guys, I’m right here if ye want to know’.
I only found out the other day that Dunphy kept a diary when he was finishing up his playing days, after he retired this was adopted into an episode for ITV playhouse. “Only a game”, late 70’s early 80’s I think.
Anyone here seen it?
TMCNH
No, but the book is very good
It’s a great book.
Someone put up a great interview in the proper journalism thread. Worth seeking out
You just know if the pandemic was 20 years ago dunphys views would be completely different. Old age has ruined him.
With age comes wisdom.
We need to listen to our elders, they carry the voice of our ancestors with them.
He takes everything Tomás Ryan says as gospel. Like Gilesy, he’s scared out of his wits for his own personal health rather than any wider aspects of society
His articles in the Sindo during the 90s were brilliant - lowered the blade on Official Ireland. Nearly financially broke Sindo in the process with court cases
There was always this thing that ED was a radical
We was in his bollix
The role of presenter on the podcast or when he did the Last Word never really suited his strengths. He is better interrogating than interviewing.
He appears diddery in his questioning, however they are quite good. The other good thing about the podcast are his guests who are generally well informed and good communicators.( I generally only listen to John’s, Stanage, O Connor or the Russian lad). It was the same with his radio show when he regularly had Robert Fisk.
Lads here would prefer Dunphy to die off and not be interfering with their pints.
yes, no variety, Chris Johns talking about brexit, Johny Giles talking about the EPL, some american dude talking about Trump
was good at first but stopped listening now
At least as radical as his mate Shane Ross