The end of Oxegen?

Oxegen festival may have run out of air

SPECULATION IS growing that the seminal music festival of the summer, Oxegen, will not take place next year.

Concert promoters MCD yesterday announced 1980s rave-generation band The Stone Roses, fronted by Ian Brown, will play the Phoenix Park on July 5th.

The date coincides with the Scottish music festival T in the Park, which takes place in Balado, Kinross-shire from July 6th to 8th.

Oxegen, which has been promoted by MCD for the past seven years, has always been held on the same weekend in July as T in the Park, to facilitate big acts moving between the two festivals.

The Stone Roses have also been announced as the first headline act for T in the Park.

Doubts have been increasing over whether Oxegen would take place next year, particularly as no announcement had been made about dates on the festival website, long after promoters of rival summer festival the Electric Picnic confirmed it would take place in Stradbally, Co Laois, between August 31st and September 2nd.

Both festivals lost money last year, although Oxegen was particularly badly hit, having sold an estimated 40,000 of the 80,000 tickets that went out.

Sources say it is now “extremely unlikely” Oxegen will take place. Jim Carroll, music writer for this newspaper, said MCD could be planning a non-camping festival in the Phoenix Park, similar to the London Calling festival in Hyde Park.

“There is still a captive audience for that kind of musical festival . . . I have heard a London Calling-type of thing is planned over the same weekend as T in the Park, and that makes sense.”

He said US singer Rihanna was also rumoured to play the Phoenix Park in the first July weekend.

Some great photos here of the legendary feile festival

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1596002020657863.1073741830.1595545344036864&type=3&__mref=message_bubble

I was looking at them earlier. If similar photos were published of a festival these days there would uproar.

Fucking hell that looks horrific

Kids today wouldn’t be able for that carry on… They’d be done on the first night after a naggin. Buckfast is your only man for a job like that.

Carnage

Dave Fanning was on about feile on 2fm on Saturday morning. As 90% of the tickets were bought on the day in Thurles they had no idea how to handle if the event was sold out. 1 year it did sell out quite early in the day so they had to interrupt programmes across the entire RTE network of TV and radio asking people to not come to Thurles and to turn around and go home. Most people ignored it and there was fucking carnage in the place. Sounds like great craic.

When you look at those photos it’s shocking to see how much Thurles has deteriorated since.

The couple to the right of the skip in Julios first photo are like an optical illusion. He half looks like he’s trying to ware the face off her while half trying to strangle her from behind

I was there in 91 - it was as bad as it looked. Lads selling crates of beer on the street. Somebody would rob one, the guy would chase him and the rest of his crates stolen.

Tunnel out under stand in semple was like an open sewer

Building human pyramids and the walking away so the lad on top fell about 18 feet

Lads going for a shit in the campsite and carrying it back and having shit fights
Going to the public swimming pool in Thurles (I think ) to have a shower and get clean and drinking cans of beer in the pool

I remember not really knowing what to drink and somebody ordered a brandy at 11.30am so I ordered a brandy. Throwing beer mats at the bar owner who only responded with “a bit of decorum please gentlemen”

Bruce Hornsby just came on the radio. Think he played the Saturday before Something Happens - the way it is

Great days

I went 91-94, unrale! Can’t get over the pics, they are from the earlier ones, 90 or 91 I’d say. They had their act somewhat together by 93/94. Good times

Was your man in the background a creep, or was there some sort of queuing system for the shifting skip?

Thats TAN

Savages

I was there as young lad in 1994. My main memory of the square was seeing punks drinking 2 litres of cheap cider everywhere and houses with signs offering a shower for ÂŁ1!
The mosh pit for Rage Against the Machine was epic

Think there might be a documentary on the radio on Monday about the Feile