Portland
all fair criticism. the town is too small to handle the crowds that want to drink there. it can’t expand laterally into the sea or lake so its only going to be an ever increasing bottleneck. Allied to this emigration has made small commuter towns like loughrea, beautiful gort or tuam dead zones socially almost, where once younger lads would have happily gone to their local nightclubs and pubs, now town is the only option. The roasters are harmless, its the cashed up young lads off their heads that really ruin it. the lad KP saw buying the rolex might be a portent of their return.
but its age too, ten years ago I thought race week, rag week etc were the bees knees. I’d guffaw at friends in UL or UCD when I went to their rag weeks, you barely knew they were on, while galway was brought to a standstill with yahoos pissing and puking everywhere. You couldn’t pay me to be out on such nights since I turned 30. Any Irish town will be the same mess on stephen’s or new years, galway is a concentrated magnified microscosm of it. You’re getting old pal.
Have lived in Galway, Cork and Dublin - in that order. Each one fantastic in its own right. Once ever have I gotten into a scrap on a night out - and lo and behold it was outside Supermacs at 2:30 in the morning. A royal cunt of a spot. Galway is a cracking city to go on the beer in, but the best thing to do is fuck off home at around 1:00.
Having said that, the same could apply to any city.
One other criticism - Galway City Council and Galway County Council. Levels of ineptitude in roads and planning that are right up there with the country’s worst.
Gaillimh abú!
The only city pubs I go to are Tigh Neachtain, Freeney’s and the salt house. Naughton’s, if you get a booth, is one of my favourite daytime drinking pubs. The rest of them are a balls. Bouncers in Galway are the most ignorant on the planet, I love abusing them.
Murphy’s across the road from Freeney’s is an oasis of civilisation in the city centre. And they always show darts on the TV behind the bar. Best pub in Galway.
I’ve also grown fond of Hughes’s in Woodquay of late. Cheap pints and you can hear yourself talk.
The West End is alright.
Upstairs in The Front Door is the worst place on the planet. Busker Browne’s is also an utter cunthole of a place.
The Front Door and Buskers are the equivalent of pubs in Dawson Street and some of the places on Leeson Street. Every city has them, the only thing to do is avoid them. Very simple.
They’d be like the pubs in Dawson Street if the pubs in Dawson Street were populated by badly dressed roasters with notions about themselves, who puke on their takeaways and still eat them.
The only proper pubs on Leeson Street are Hartigans, Houricans and the Leeson Lounge, which are all excellent pubs.
Even the cunthole spots on Leeson Street are preferable to the Front Door and Busker Browne’s.
The Front Door and Busker Browne’s occupy a different, far worse niche to Dawson Street and Leeson Street.
They’re all the same as in they are meat markets full of cunts with notions about themselves. Avoid at all costs.
I was at the Galway races this year for the first time since i was a child. I can safely say it is the last time i will ever go up there for the races. It was just as @ChocolateMice described it. Don’t think i’ve ever seen it as bad anywhere. Women seemed to be worse than the lads to be honest. Stumbling around out of their minds, short skirts, fake tan, big chunky legs on them, eating messy food with their hands, food and sauce all over their face and hair.
If i go back to Galway again it will be on a “normal” quiet week. Just stay away from the masses as a rule of thumb. But it is a bottle neck there. As regards Galway people any Galway people i’ve ever met have been sound out. I was in college with a fair few Galway lads, all the grandest types, and still keep in touch with one of them. You couldn’t say the same of bucks from certain other counties.
In my humble opinion Limerick is a top notch city to drink in. You have a bit of everything there as regards pubs. You want a quiet spot to drink good Guinness, you’ll get plenty of that. Or more lively places where you can’t move, plenty of that too. The city is so well spaced out and the pubs are not concentrated in any one area that it seems the crowds are not there in one spot together until the rush for grub at the end of the night. You wouldn’t see cunts falling all over the streets at night in Limerick too. The odd few yes but not the majority.
I used to not like that about Limerick when I first moved there that the various watering holes I used to frequent were a bit away from each other but grew to appreciate it over the years.
Don’t go next to near Galway during race week. It is the epitome of everything that is wrong with Irish society. Galway is full of nordies during the marching season and then a week or two later, the opposite happens with a lot of Galwegians getting the fuck out of there for race week. I haven’t been in Galway during race week for about 10 years and don’t see that changing anytime soon.
Not giving a dig to Limerick, but it has a pretty abysmal social scene for visitors. Grand if you’re living there a few years and you find the odd gem but most around the city centre are shite. There’s also zero tourism which leaves it pretty dead. Fucking unreal that it has a fantastic castle in the middle of the city, and ye lobbed a load of council houses into it.
I feel that the only hope longterm for Limerick is to create a city centre, which there isn’t currently, around the peoples’ park and station area. You’d have to buy out prospect and hyde road area and redeveloped that side. That’s a fantastic park that only sees scumbags currently. That would be a great heart of any city leading down to the Georgian quarter too.
Yeah they could make much better use of it i agree. And for tourists they would not get it and would likely think it pretty drab. I would not care to live anywhere else in Ireland though (urban areas) it ticks many boxes for me.
Race week and summer weeks the place is full of tourists, many galway people stay well clear of the place and despise the crowds. So the roasters that starting fights with themselves or sexually assaulting passers by are as likely to be from mayo roscommon or clare. Not that we dont have our own amount. If you want to go to raceweek go monday or Saturday. At least the majority of roasters we get, most of whom stay after college, are from alright parts of the country like donegal, mayo, clare, i imagine dundalk or cavan or such spots must be hell on earth on stephens or new years.
Galway is well overrated when it comes to drinking sessions. I like Monroe’s though.
Agreed, hard to find a few places in a row that haven’t got pricks on the door or too many pricks inside the doors.
Have you ever had a pint in Eugene’s drinking emporium?
Galway City is infested with cunts from Mayo, that’s a lot of the problem.
Wouldn’t be a place I’d frequent too often, but yes.
Great spot, and best named pub in Ireland Imo.
Your fellow Galwegian does not concur.