The Game - The Story of Hurling

Strange training technique to have players practicing their golf swing with a hurley bat.

Lols. Sanctimonious Senior lashing out.

'67 final was good manly hurling.

I watched the whole of that 67 final. Jesus christ allmighty :rofl::astonished::astonished:

Ironic. KK beat the filth. And then became the filth.

Awful filth here from Tipperary in the 1967 final.

Who hit Walsh? Was it Mick Roche? :astonished:

To be fair, our lads were just as bad with the filth. It was downright nasty all round.

Next week :popcorn::popcorn::popcorn::popcorn:

Kilkenny invented the handpass. That priest looked a right sinister bastard

Walsh was using a bit of timber himself, pretty sure it was Tony Wall allegedly.

I hope Canice Picklington was interviewed for the final episode.

Tony Wall

Barry Windows

My grand father always maintained Wall was a supeior centre back to Pat stakelum. He used to tell me great stories about the games in 50s and 60s.

Is Declan Hannon a grandson or maybe its a grand nephew of Pat Stakelum?

A grand nephew.

The supporters of that generation had the life. Cycling to games in port laoise or Dublin or wherever and not getting back for a couple of days with the various pit stops.

Somebody should have a go at writing a hurling equivalent of Jonathan Wilson’s “Inverting The Pyramid”.

I imagine it would go something like this:

1954: Wexford catch the ball in the air. Nobody can believe what they are seeing.
1986: In a tactic copied from Gaelic football, Galway revolutionise the game by playing a third midfielder. Nobody had ever seen anything like it.
2003: Cork string a few handpasses together. Everything changes, changes utterly.
2015: Waterford play a sweeper. The hurling world is scandalised.

The End.

He was a great bit of stuff.