The Glorious 12th of July

Is there still a boxing club in Dunfanaghy

Francesca Albanese effigy surely featured somewhere last night

21:05 start tonight for the highlights on BBC1. Programme finishes at 22:10 so we get an extra five minutes as a treat this year. I hope that means there will be coverage of the Augher demonstration. A very big day in Tyrone today.

It was good to see my suggestion of a Kneecap effigy was acted upon. Hi Loyalist bonfire effigy hangers.

It’s too late now but I would have also suggested an effigy of a health safety officer who has special focus on asbestos to be burned.

Hopefully George Best Belfast City Airport will have its named changed to George Asbestos Belfast City Airport.

Why do brethern commemorate on 12 July when the Battle of the Boyne was on 1 July?

I’m sure the late and much missed Voice of the Twelfth, Walter Love has explained this, but I either wasn’t paying sufficient attention or have forgotten.

I believe the Twelfth is actually a celebration of the Battle of Aughrim which took place on the 12th of July 1691 under the Julian calendar.

The Battle of the Boyne took place of the 1st of July 1690 under the Julian calendar which was used at the time. However under the Gregorian calendar which is now used it would have taken place on July 11th.

A similar mismatch occurs with the naming of the October revolution in Russia which actually took place in November under the Gregorian calendar, but as Russia still used the Julian calendar and because under that calendar it was October, it is referred to as the October revolution.

The Julian calendar was introduced by Julius Caesar while the Gregorian calendar was introduced by Pope Gregory XIII in 1582.

It must be frustrating for the brethren that they have to choose between a calendar introduced by an Emperor of Rome and another introduced by a Pope in Rome. Surely there must be some other calendar based on the pronouncements of Otto Von Bismarck or somebody that could be used which would be more palatable.

Who or what the fuck are “brethern”

This is as good a time as any to just ignore,
You’re the bigger eejit etc :man_shrugging:

They’ll be too wrecked to carry out all the other horrible shit they do in this weather. Hopefully someone gets a night off.

There sure is, as well as one in the Rosses. However, we’ve never produced anything great in the region. There was one fella who had massive potential, a guy called Brian Ferry not of Roxy Music fame, but the fast life got the better of him.

When the team sheet gets announced, the brethren are the lads outside of the starting 15 plus the starting 15 combined.

Will they have the energy left to burn a few women and children out of their homes?

It’s the warmest 12th in many years. The lads on the Royal Black Preceptory will be sweltering in their black suits, orange robes and their silly little bowler hats.

What’s the difference between an orange and a lemon?

Ye had some decent lads back in the day.I was on the bill in the Lake of Shadows a few times

Ive never heard of a lemon bastard

A 6 mile round trip for marching brethern in the Belfast Demonstration.

I was reading there earlier about 98 year old Joe McKibbin. 80 years in the Orange Order and off to the Kilkeel Demonstration today. He wouldn’t miss it for the world.

I hope the heat doesn’t make Joe keel over and kill him.

Joe is far too much of a catholic first name for a staunch orange man to have

Orangemen are sourer than a lemon?

@Massey has nailed it above.