The Irish Sporting Mentality

Besides the Rep of Ireland football team, the Irish cricket team, our swimmers, track and field performers, darts players, International hybrid GAA teams, snooker players, boxers- and for those that consider them sports- Horse riders and golfers- Every other Irish sporting organisation seem to have a losers mentality and are beaten before they take the field.

Would this be a fair assessment? And how can we bring these organisations up to standard?

kind of on that same mentality, but we always have to be the underdog too, and the team that is up against all odds. Watch all the threads during the championships, and lads clamber over each other to declare the opposition the favorites. ‘Oh lookit sure we’re only going up to give it a right go and sure you never know on the day like’. all this so when they inevitably do lose, they can fall back on the ‘ah sure we gave it a right crack ya know, but they were a great team and it was always going to be hard to beat the favorites’.

we should be more like all the Limerick and Clare lads on here coming up to their semi final last year. Yeah the Limerick boys looked like right fucking tools after they were hammered, but at least they were not going out with a loser mentality, even if that was inevitable.

Risible.

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 865528, member: 1796”]Besides the Rep of Ireland football team, the Irish cricket team, our swimmers, track and field performers, darts players, International hybrid GAA teams, snooker players, boxers- and for those that consider them sports- Horse riders and golfers- Every other Irish sporting organisation seem to have a losers mentality and are beaten before they take the field.

Would this be a fair assessment? And how can we bring these organisations up to standard?[/quote]

It is in our DNA mate… note my mention of Kinsale 1601 in the Irish chokers thread.
We have been selectively bred to be glorious losers for centuries, nay millenia. If some cunt bucks the trend, he either fucks off to another country, or we begrudge the fuck out of the cunt until he falls in line.

They should take a look at the Flat and National Hunt horse trainers and jockeys as an example - world leaders in both codes :clap:

[quote=“Gman, post: 865531, member: 112”]kind of on that same mentality, but we always have to be the underdog too, and the team that is up against all odds. Watch all the threads during the championships, and lads clamber over each other to declare the opposition the favorites. ‘Oh lookit sure we’re only going up to give it a right go and sure you never know on the day like’. all this so when they inevitably do lose, they can fall back on the ‘ah sure we gave it a right crack ya know, but they were a great team and it was always going to be hard to beat the favorites’.

we should be more like all the Limerick and Clare lads on here coming up to their semi final last year. Yeah the Limerick boys looked like right fucking tools after they were hammered, but at least they were not going out with a loser mentality, even if that was inevitable.[/quote]

I will always believe, pal. Always. Bill and Tom have taught me that.

We also have the single most successful horse related empire the world has ever known, and people begrudge the fuck out of J. Magnier. Nobody, but nobody, has been as financially successful at breeding and racing horses in the history of the sport.

yeah the horses’ mentality is spot on

and we have the best midgets in the world

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 865528, member: 1796”]Besides the Rep of Ireland football team, the Irish cricket team, our swimmers, track and field performers, darts players, International hybrid GAA teams, snooker players, boxers- and for those that consider them sports- Horse riders and golfers- Every other Irish sporting organisation seem to have a losers mentality and are beaten before they take the field.

Would this be a fair assessment? And how can we bring these organisations up to standard?[/quote]
This sort of sums us up though. I honestly think Ireland, for its population size is by far the greatest sporting nation in the world. As well as providing world class competitors at all of the above, we have hurling teams to rival the success and aura of the all blacks, and which provide the greatest entertainment in sport. There are very few sports, however esoteric, that there won’t be an Irishman or woman competitive at the sharp end at international level. Achieving an Olympic qualification is an outstanding achievement in itself in many sports. We should be humbled by the talent and efforts of those competing for our small country, not knocking them. I am proud of that performance in the rugby. I am proud to be Irish.

That’s surely a pisstake. We’re absolutely shit when compared to other small nations.

The likes of John oxx, ruby Walsh these are the real heroes

Which other small nations? The kiwis don’t have football and hurling and are shite at soccer.

What’s the difference between a midget and a dwarf?

You can get a midget dwarf, but not a dwarf midget?

What’s a goblin then?

Most of them. Shit countries often have world class tennis players, motor drivers, skiiers, runners, swimmers and crap like that. I don’t regard a load of the activities as sports but our Olympic Games record is dire by comparison. We’re above average at football though.

We’re the only country that is able to sustain four major field sports - gaelic football, hurling, association football and cricket.

The kiwis have way now Olympic medals than us off a smaller population. Also better at cricket rugby league etc.