Congratulations @myboyblue. Better team by a mile and laois will make a better fist of Leinster Championship
Donāt try make me shout for Dublinā¦.ah fuck it I will so. Tbf the Dublin hurling folk are good stock
![]()
This didnāt age too well. 22 wides ag an deireadhā¦.Ćafasach!!
Itās fantastic, thereās massive upside to Laois long-term
Well done to Laois. Well deserved win and Tommy Fitzgerald is a good guy.
From a Carlow perspective, 22 wides and any number of butchered goal chances tells a tale. As myself and @Aertel220 were flagging beforehand, this Carlow team is at the end of its cycle, league relegation earlier in the year and today was very much a last hurrah. Laois will make a better fist of Leinster next year and possibly going forward beyond that than Carlow would have if they had prevailed today.
Ah weāve still got issues and will be to the pin of our collar again next year. Weāre very dependent on Picky but fair play to him for coming back this year when he could have easily sailed off into the sunset after his most recent knee injury. A big part of the reason he came back was Tommy Fitz who is as decent a man as youāll find. Ryan Mullaney is another who after being dropped for the final last year could have thrown the toys but Ryan is a decent man who knuckled down and had his day today, another good man.
Thereās others I wonāt name who could take a leaf out of Picky and Ryanās book but they havenāt the manners to. No matter.
Big club championship to come now. Be great if ye could get absolutely everyone and get all ducks in a row for next year. Great day today anyway. I know two of the lads from 19 but neither togged today. Itās great anyway.
Gaa to think Paddy Purcell walked away, no announcement, no fuss. Gone into the juvenile admin in Rathdowney Errill, some man.
I felt it was a mistake to decouple from the Liam Mc but so be it. Year done, two trophyās won.
It was very similar to a Wexford malfunction in Croke Park in 2023 when they lost by a couple of points to Dublin but pucked 21 wides. Brian Treacy, Paul Doyle, Dion Wall, Marty Kavanagh, James Doyle and John Michael Nolan all north of 30. Chris Nolan and Kevin McDonald hurtling towards 30 as well. I wouldnāt share Pat Bennettās optimism that the average age is 24/25. Iād say heās including a lot of periphery and bit-part players in that statistic. The only positive you could draw from it is that thereās efforts being made to increase the number of hurling clubs in Carlow. The start of which could be seen with Burren Rangers and Kildavin-Clonegal representation on the panel yesterday. But trying to spread hurling into non-traditional parts of the county is almost akin to the issue facing hurling nationwide.
Thinly veiled I got it all wrong