The Luxembourg Darts League: 2013-2014 season

Form peaking at the right time @Piles Hussain :clap:

So that’s two losses in a row for Piles

Yeah, bit of a trough at the moment, but it’s all about the team pal.

MATCH DAY 15

Rusty Darts I v Game Over
Venue: All In bar
16, rue de Hollerich, L-1740 Luxembourg
In attendance last night: 1 Irish, 1 Scotch, 1 English, 1 Belgian, 1 Pole

The evening kicked off in the Country restaurant for the piri piri chicken. The weather was splendid leading to a bumper crowd of ropey sorts hanging around outside. We recruited yet again, another decent player by the name of Bob, also a fervent Leeds Utd fan, and after his welcoming dinner, we headed down the short street, frequented by the finest hookers in Luxembourg, and entered the All In bar in a good mood and, more importantly, in good darting form.

The All In is the premier heavy metal bar in the Duchy, and the small few there who weren’t present for the darts were very excited about the visit in June of Slayer and Anthrax to Den Atelier, the venue on the same street as their beloved bar.

Rusty Darts I were fully focused on the arrows though, and knew that if they beat us last night, the title would be theirs. They beat us earlier in the season by 5-2 and were fully confident of a repeat dose, but we were determined to not be dominated as we had been in the previous meeting.

As the captain was absent, we decided to shake up the running order, and so Jo led off against Mike. Mike won the first leg quite impressively but Jo shook off the cobwebs to take the next two legs and get us off to a fine start.

Debutant Bob went second, facing Tina who is the best female player in the league. First leg was tight, Bob snuck it, he then went on to win the second fairly convincingly to give Game Over a 2-0 lead.

I threw third against Joel, who is currently in third position in the individual players table. He takes it very seriously and was quite perturbed when I took the first leg. He roared back and leveled it though. The third leg could have gone either way, but Joel took it in the end, extending my losing streak to three now.

Mr 143 finished off the singles games, pegging very well and comfortably beating Laurent by 2-0 to leave us in the lead by 3-1.

I stood aside for the team game and the Magic Pole took over in my stead. A win in this and the tie was ours, but we were behind from the get go.
Our opponents were on a double while we were still in the low 200’s but they didn’t finish and so we worked our way down to 121 which Mr 143 finished beautifully - 17, Tx18, Bull - to win the game and the tie.

We whooped and a-hollered, and while we did so, Joel took a fierce shtook altogether. We weren’t gloating or anything, just having the craic, but he decided to fuck off home. Like I said, he takes it seriously. His team mates apologised for his truculence, decidedly unimpressed with his behaviour.

As a result, they had to forfeit one of the doubles ties, giving us a 5-1 lead. The other doubles tie was played between myself and Mr 143 who faced off against Tina and Laurent. We won handily enough, I took out both doubles at the first time of asking, to leave the final score on the night, 6-1 to Game Over.

So, another win, this time against the champions-elect, and with one round left of our season, we can finish anywhere from second to fourth in our maiden season of top flight darts.

You will be the first to read about it, right here.

Exclusively live on TFK.

Real darts.

Real people.

Ah fuck it @Piles Hussain , that was a brilliant result. :clap:

Fuck that horrible little cunt Joel. :eek::mad:

MATCH DAY 16

Anarchists v Game Over
Venue: The White Rose
7, rue Dicks, L-1471 Luxembourg
In attendance tonight: 2 Irish, 1 Scotch, 2 English, 1 Belgian, 1 French, 1 Polish

And so, the final round of games in the Luxembourg darts league division 1 was played last night. Your heroes, Game Over went to the White Rose to face the Anarchists, hoping to round off the season on a high note by chalking up their fifth win on the bounce.

The evening began in the Country restaurant for the now traditional pre match piri piri chicken. With our fill eaten and the waitresses cleavage ogled at, we made the short trip to rue Dicks to begin proceedings. We were very confident of winning, having beaten the Anarchists earlier in the season. Their place in the league was already finalised - third from the bottom - they will face a play off with the third placed team in division 2 to see who gets to tread the top table boards next season.

Our Belgian ace, Jo, went first and triumphed 2-0 to give us the perfect start, his form steady as it has been since his sensational debut a few weeks ago.

The captain went second. We had a discussion as to which of us it would be. He wanted to play because if he did and I didn’t, that would mean we’d have played the same amount of singles matches over the season, and a 2-0 win would put him above me in the individual table. I had to concede as I’d lost three on the spin (all to players in the top 5 btw, he usually ends up playing the dregs of the other teams. I’m not bitter).
He played well, and won, 2-0, and he’s been letting me know about it all day via email, the bollix.

So, 2-0 up and looking good, Mr 143 threw third for us. A 2-0 win for him, and he would finish the season in 2nd place on the individual table. He started determinedly and won the first leg comfortably. Inexplicably, he then lost the next two and blew his shot at 2nd. Distraught at his capitulation, he promptly blamed the Irn-bru and got a double G&T for himself.

Yorkshire Bob took the anchor leg, and despite not producing his best form (that were fookin shaaiite), he won 2-0 and gave us a healthy 3-1 lead facing into the team match.

The Westmeath Wizard, on his first outing since the birth of his second son, the Magic Pole and myself came in for the team game along with Bob. We played well enough, I managed a 140 and a ton on two of my visits, and won the game handily enough.

Job done then, 4-1 with two doubles to play. A satisfying winning end to the season.

The doubles were played and both lost, we were well and truly on the deckchairs at this stage. Final score on the night, 4-3 to the Game Overs.

Beer leg was played, and also lost, but we didn’t mind. The Anarchists are a good bunch and we wished them well in their play off.

And that was that.
Season over, our record is;
P 16
W 10
L 6

A debut season we could only have dreamed of. Our points total will see us finish third on games difference.
We take our ease for a few months. All going well, we’ll be back in September, hopefully, to launch an all out assault on the title.
Already, it looks like Jo won’t be around beyond the summer which will be a huge blow to us.
The Captain has also given notice that he may not be able to play as much next season.
As the current vice-captain, it looks like I’ll be taking the armband and all of the responsibility that goes with it. I can only hope to fulfil the role with as much poise and dedication as he has done in the season just ended.

If the gods are kind, and time allows, you will read all about it, only here.

Exclusively live

On TFK

Real darts.

Real people.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15YgdrhrCM8

shit thread by a shit poster

How’s the jet lag mate?

i think im over it now

Thanks for following it all the way pal. What a ride it’s been, enjoy the summer break.