The Luxembourg Darts League: 2013-2014 season

The biggest and best darts league in the world began tonight. Rocko, please sticky this thread that the masses have demanded.
Two divisions: 10 teams in division 1, 11 teams in division 2.
Piles’ team name: Game Over
Ethnic make-up of panel: 3 Irish, 2 Scotch, 1 English, 1 Pole, 1 Romanian, 1 French

Present tonight: 2 Irish, 1 Scotch, 1 English, 1 Pole, 1 French (late arrival)

So it all kicked off tonight. Our first outing in the top division. To put it into context, we would be the Crystal Palace of the division. Of the three promoted teams, we were the third, so we would be looked upon as the whipping boys of the division.
Our aim will be survival. The top 4 are way, waaaay better than everyone else and the title will be a shootout between them. The other 6 teams will be left fighting for their lives against each other.

Luckily enough,we did gain one valuable acquisition during the summer transfer window, one of the Scotch lads, whos nickname is 143.
This is because, a couple of years ago, he ended up caling the final of the Luxembourg darts open between Christian Kist and Alan Norris.
The first 3 darts thrown totalled 81, but our lad was so pissed, he cried out in a loud and happy voice, ‘143’. Hilarity ensued and he was soon replaced.

Anyhoo, our first match was in our new home venue of Updown Bar on Montée du Grund against the Bulls Eyes, who would have been favourites for the tie, being the top division veterans they are. Think Aston Villa and you’re close enough.

The format is: 4 singles (best of 3) - 1 team game of 4 players each from 1001 down (1 game) - 2 doubles (best of 3)

So I went first as usual, playing against a fella called Butch, who apparently had recently done a little bit of chokey for dealing.
Probably bullshit because Butch turned out to be a 5 foot 7, mid-50’s english fella with a bad limp. Seemed a decent sort, and took it well that I wiped the floor with him. Double 5 finishes both legs. 4 tons and a 140 over both legs. Decent enough performance.

Next up was our Captain (the english lad) who went down 2-0. He didn’t throw too badly to be fair, and his opponent was the best of the other team.

After that came Mr. 143. Being a Cellic fan, we were hoping he could hold his focus on his darts rather than the telly that had the Milan game on.
We needn’t have worried, he won in fine style, 2-0

The final singles match was contested by the Westmeath dynamo and some crotchety gray-haired old duffer. Our lad lost the first leg despite having, what seemed like, 6000 go’s at double 19. He recovered magnificently to claim the next 2 legs and give us a very healthy 3-1 lead going into the team game - historically, our great weakness.

I chucked in a ton to get us up and running in the team game, and for most of it, we stayed circa 100 ahead until the doubles came up. We missed a few and gave the opposition a couple of chances before the captain came good on mad house to ensure a triumphant start to the season for Game Over.

The doubles matches were split between the two teams to leave the final tally on the night, 5-2 to Game Over.

So, a wonderful start to the season that promises thrills, spills and some drunkenness for good measure.

The next fixture is set to take place next Wednesday against the Prototypes, who we both beat and lost to last season in division 2. Their main man topped the individual points table in the division last season. He only lost two matches…both to me. Grudge match in store unless he’s afraid to face Piles again. Who knows.

All I know is, you will only find the in-depth updates here, exclusively live on TFK

Real darts

Real people.

(Any chance of a darts smiley Rocko?)

All the very best to everybody involved in this BDO-affiliated competition.

I’d like to confirm that Piles is indeed an excellent darts player.

Ah fuck it. This has made my week @Piles Hussain:clap:
Real Darts, real people. Impressive scoring too pal, great fucking start. :pint:

What a beautiful thread. :clap:

That’s a superb fucking first post in what will become a favoured thread of many. Any sport created to validate drinking is ok by me.

MATCH DAY 2

Prototypes v Game Over
Venue: Q42, rue Strasbourg

Present tonight: 2 Irish, 1 Scotch, 1 English, 1 Romanian, 1 French

Handy venue for Piles tonight, a 3 minute walk, so I got down around the 7 mark for a bit of practice. Right away I could tell this was going to be a difficult night. The practice was all over the place, I managed to hit a 180 and a finish of 108 but there were a lot of stray ones too. The form was very up and down, as it was for the rest of the Game Over team.

Anyway, the tie got underway, myself going first as is the norm, but not against the main man of last year. He has transferred to another team so, his chance for revenge against Piles will have to wait.

Played dreadfully in the first leg and deservedly lost. My opponent is one of these 19’s specialists, never goes to the top of the board unless he has to, and he was solid as a rock to be fair to him. This was going to require all my reserves - self-belief and guts was what were going to get me through this one.
The second leg was taken, just, with a 48 finish. Hit the 16, then another but nailed the double 8 to draw level with my opponent having missed a couple of efforts at 10’s to put me away.
The third leg started poorly and I quickly found myself playing catch-up again. My opponent was left with 95, I on 205 and not throwing well. I invoked the spirits of the darts gods of old - Leighton Rees, big Cliff Lazarenko and the wonderful Jocky Wilson - and hammered in a 125 to put the enemy under serious pressure. He left himself a finish with his throw, then I stepped up with 80 left to clinch the match.

DOUBLE FUCKIN TOPS BOH

Game set and match to Piles despite a pretty poor performance, and we were off and running.

Captain Englishman won his match 2-0 with a much improved performance from last week. Indeed, he was the only one of us that really played to any decent standard, and gave us a 2-0 lead in the tie.

Our Scotch lad, Mr 143 was up next and went down by 2 legs to 1. Very frustrated with himself, but the night was young and nothing was decided at that stage.

The Westmeath lad played the final singles match of the evening and lost 2-1. Again, the doubles were his achilles heel, he missed a fair few in the first leg, which was lost. He then buried double 16 on the first dart to draw level in the second, but missed a scatter of chances in the third leg and was reeled in and caught in the end. Plus ca change.

So, after a great start to the singles, it was all square going into the team game. Our Romanian player came in for this, replacing the Westmeath chap. He played alright but the rest of us were dire. It was a putrid showing from Game Over and we were still in the late 200’s by the time the Prototypes were down to a finish.
But, lawsy laws, they could not hit their mark, and so we kept plugging away until we ended up on madhouse while they were still trying, frantically at this stage to hit double 4.
More doubles were missed by both sides until Mr 143 came good on madhouse to give us a miraculous win and put us in the lead, 3-2 with 2 doubles matches remaining.

When you’re 3-2 up with the doubles to play, strategy must be carefully considered.
The usual course of action is to play the 2 best players together, but which leg do they play? Odds are the opposition will split their two best players up as they have to win both matches. Then again, they may go with the two best players in the first game to level the tie and let fate decide the final match. It’s a lottery.

We decided to go for the kill so myself and Mr 143 were first up…against the two best from the opposition.

Again, the form was poor and the start was slow. The Prototypes took the first leg with 100 odd to spare and we were floundering.
Things didn’t get any better in the second leg but a big 140 from Piles brought us back into it and the same man finished a 55 to bring parity to the proceedings once again.
The third leg was a cagey affair, but the standard improved slightly on the Game Over side and Mr 143 clinched the match and the tie with a lovely double 16.

The final doubles match was played, and while Captain English and the Westmeath dynamo played well, their opponents edged them out 2-1.

So, 2 weeks in and the newcomers to the top flight are 2 and 0. Tonight was a great win. We played poorly away from home in a hostile environment and still came away with the points. The game is far from over for the gallant Game Overs.

It’s cup week next week. We will be playing against D’artagnan, a division 2 side we beat twice last season so we should be winning it and progressing to the next round.

The report will be found, only here, exclusively live on TFK.

The home of darts.

Real darts.
Real people.

[quote=“Piles Hussain, post: 836997, member: 363”]MATCH DAY 2

My opponent was left with 95, I on 205 and not throwing well. I invoked the spirits of the darts gods of old - Leighton Rees, big Cliff Lazarenko and the wonderful Jocky Wilson - and hammered in a 125 to put the enemy under serious pressure. He left himself a finish with his throw, then I stepped up with 80 left to clinch the match.

DOUBLE FUCKIN TOPS BOH

Real darts.
Real people.[/quote]

Ah @Piles Hussain , this is just wonderful internetting, just plain wonderful. :clap:You are a guiding light & an example to all Darts people throughout the World. :clap:

@Bandage please make this beautiful thread an Official TFK thread with a sticky please pal.

It’s far from game over for Game Over. :clap:

Make it a sticky Rocko for fucks sake.

Stone cold legend. Feel free to post up the time and venue for the next one and we might lend some support…

Piles, can you investigate what it would cost for TFK to sponsor your team or to sponsor the league. Do ye wear matching polo shirts or anything?

Thanks for the kind offer Rocko. The polo shirts have been ordered and we saw them last week, but they had to be sent away to have the players monickers printed on them. They were part of the deal that saw us changing our home venue, I’ll throw up a picture of the finished item when we get them.
The league itself receives no sponsorship whatsoever. It is run off the contributions and annual entry fees of the teams. The corinthian spirit of the league is remarkable in this way. I shall however, try to raise the forum’s generosity at the next AGM of the league and have it entered into the minutes :clap::pint:

This thread keeps on giving. :clap:

Next week is not cup week as previously stated, it’s a league week and we will be facing the defending champions, Brooklyn Zoo I away from home.
Possible hammering for us on the cards if we play anywhere below what we’re capable of. If we play well, it may just be a mild beating.

[quote=“Piles Hussain, post: 837445, member: 363”]Next week is not cup week as previously stated, it’s a league week and we will be facing the defending champions, Brooklyn Zoo I away from home.
Possible hammering for us on the cards if we play anywhere below what we’re capable of. If we play well, it may just be a mild beating.[/quote]
:popcorn: Cannot fucking wait for this report. ( Stop talking down you’re chances too please @Piles Hussain )

Brilliant thread Piles boh! Burst me hole at the 80 checkout bit. How did Ron get in over?

Ah grand weekend. Went supping on friday and saturday night, then Sunday down to the Black Stuff for the football final and bbq.
Weather held up nicely, a fine weekend all round.

dungeon with this shit

We’re willing to accommodate your inane GGA ramblings but I think I speak for everyone here when I say FOAD with that last post.