The Luxembourg Darts League - Summer season 2015

Awwwwwww yyyyyeeeeeeaaaahhhhh

We’re back ladies and gentlemen. After the incredible excitement of The Lakeside, the Greatest darts league in the history of all mankind swung back into action last night, much to the rejoicing of the entire dart-watching world.

MATCHDAY 1

Thargs v Game Over
Venue: The White Rose, 7 rue Dicks, L1417 Luxembourg

Present tonight: 1 Irish, 1 English, 1 Scotch, 1 Pole, 1 Belgian

No transfers into or out of your favourite team over the new year, and we began the season as we did the previous season, with a visit to the White Rose, a fairly dingy spot run by a geordie and populated by a wide range of alright sorts and hobo looking types.

Our opponents were the Thargs who we lost to in the corresponding fixture of the Winter season. The Belgian Butcher was the only one of us who had practiced at all over the holidays, so hopes weren’t exactly high.

The Butcher went up first and faced their best player, a trampy looking hoor named Mirsud. Three good, close legs of darts they were too. Unfortunately the Butcher lost out by 2-1 but should have won it 2-0. Missed doubles in the first leg cost him.

The Spear took the second singles game and played brilliantly, sweeping Erwin aside to win 2-0 and tie the match.

The Magic Pole went third against their captain, Jeannot. He played alright but his opponent is a good player and took it 2-0 but he was made to work for it.

So, at 2-1 down, Mr 143 faced off against Daniel. Didn’t play as well as he can, lost 2-1 but could have won. He couldn’t buy a treble, on the wire with so many, plus a few missed efforts at doubles added up to a frustrating three legs for him.

At 3-1 down, we needed to win the team game, which we hardly ever do, to maintain any hope of winning the match. As is usual, we let them into a big lead. They were down to the mid hundreds while we were languishing in the 500’s when the chase began. Almost did it too. Made it down to the mid-50’s before they finally rid themselves of their yips and hit the mark to finish the match as a contest at 4-1.

The doubles were played anyway, with the two continental lads taking the first by 2-0. Big Magic with a lovely tops finish in the first leg was nice to see, as he rarely gets a chance at a double.

The unbreakable union went second but lost by 2-1 in a game that, again, should have been won. The Spear’s form wasn’t as good as his singles form but Mr 143 upped his game.

A 5-2 loss to begin the season was our lot on the night. Our proud tradition of losing the first match of every season was maintained, but we all agreed that it was good to be back. All we have to do now is get back in the groove.

That won’t be easy, as next week we go away again to face the defending champions, the Others, who were the only team in the division to beat us twice last Winter.

You will be kept informed, only here and exclusively live on TFK.

Real people, real darts.

Ah @Piles Hussain , you have no excuse for failing to practice over Christmas.

Good to be back all the same. :clap::clap:

MATCHDAY 2

The Others v Game Over
Venue: Updown bar, 28 mtée du Grund, L1645 Luxembourg

Present last night: 1 Irish, 1 English, 1 Scotch, 1 Belgian

We made the short trip to the old town area, via the lift through the valley wall, to our old home venue of Updown bar to take on the reigning champions, the Others in the second round of the Summer season of the Worlds most popular darts league.

We traveled in hope more so than confidence. We put in a few hours of practice last night though, and were feeling better than we were last week.

The Butcher led off against the opposing captain, Christophe. 9 times out of 10, our lad would expect to win. Last night was that one time unfortunately. The worst I’ve seen him play since he joined the team, and a shock 2-0 loss gave us the worst possible start and turned an already massive ask into a damn near impossible one.

I went second, almost fully recovered from an upper arm ailment that kept me on the sidelines last week, against Joe. First leg didn’t go well, I failed to hit any kind of stride and lost it comfortably. Much better in the second though, and took it after Joe had missed a couple of doubles and let me in. The third leg was a cracker. We chased each other down the board and Joe left himself on 56 while I had 116 left. Hit a 20 with the first, treble 20 with the second and just missed the double 18 for the win. I was hoping that the opponent would miss and let me in again but he didn’t, and took the tie 2-1.

So, with Game Over 2-0 down, Mr 143 stepped up to play against The Others, other Joe, probably their best player. Mr 143 played quite well but lost 2-0. He kept the other lad honest though and pushed him hard in both legs but Joe’s class told in the end.

The Spear played the final singles tie having just arrived in fresh off a feed of chicken wings. Kept up his good form from last week too, but the gulf in class was too much. Just like Mr 143, he kept the other guy honest and made him work hard for the 2-0 win.

So, that was it as far as the contest was concerned. We played the team game and the doubles but lost them all, leaving the score 7-0 on the night.

A crushing defeat. They are a class team, admittedly, but the misery was compounded by the fact that I was the only one of us to win a leg on the night, thus avoiding an absolute whitewash. Our legs difference is already fucked and we are looking at a long hard fight to maintain our top division status.

Open doubles night next week, so no league action. We will return in a fortnight.

You will hear all about it, only here and exclusively live on TFK.

Real people, real darts.

:frowning:

MATCHDAY 3

Game Over v Rusty Darts II
Venue: Decibel bar, 42-44 rue de Hollerich, Luxembourg

Present last night: 1 Irish, 1 English, 1 Scotch, 1 Belgian

Our first home match of the new season took place last night. We faced the newly promoted Rusty Darts II in Decibel and all arrived down good and early to practice as we needed to win having gone down badly in the first two matches. Losing this one was not an option. Also, as our favourite chicken/crack house is currently closed, we got some food in from the restaurant next door to our home ground.

The match got underway with the Butcher facing off against a lad named Andy Kill. Decent player too, by far their best and it was a good encounter between the two. Our lad took it in the end by 2-1 to get us up and running.

The Spear went second and played horrifically. The lad he was playing is nowhere near as good as him, but he managed to win 2-1. Shocking really, he was dragged down to the opponents level and beaten by the more experienced shit player.

So, at 1-1, Mr 143 stepped up and registered an easy 2-0 win without exerting himself too much and despite the prawn salad affecting him too much.

At 2-1 up, I took the anchor singles and won it 2-0. While playing the worst darts of all time, it must be said. In the first leg, I still wasn’t under 400 after 12 darts. Fucking horrendous, the adjustment to the new darts is not going well. Good thing yer man was atrocious or I might have been in trouble.

At 3-1 up, we headed into the team game, confident of clinching the match and wondering how on earth this lot managed to get promoted. We won it handy enough to register our first win of the season and relieve the pressure after the traumatic experience of our previous match.

The unbreakable union team of the Spear and Mr 143 took the first doubles tie, 2-0, then myself and the Butcher finished off the night with another 2-0 win to give us a whopping 6-1 win on the night.

Nice to get off the mark fr the season even though we didn’t play well at all. Same start as the winter season just gone, W1 L2, we will have to play far better if we are to reach the same level of respectability as before. We will avoid relegation, the crowd we paid last night were brutal and barring some major shocks, will lose all of their games by wide margins. We are capable of better though, and we will persevere. Next week, we play host to Rusty Darts I.

You will hear all about it, only here and exclusively live on TFK.

Real people, real darts.

MATCHDAY 4

Game Over v Rusty Darts I

Present last night: 1 Irish, 1 Polish, 1 Scotch, 1 Belgian

Having steadied the ship last week, we were hoping to build on our win against Rusty Darts I last night on our home turf against the champions of two seasons ago. They are a very good team but we have beaten them before and reckoned we could repeat the trick last night. So we got down early for a bit of food (got the chili - twas smashing) and practice, which went alright, but wouldn’t be good enough to win the match.

The Butcher went first against smelly Mike. He’s a very good player, due to the fact that he’s been unemployed and does nothing but practice. It was a brilliant three legs of darts too. Mike took the first in 16, with a 180 for good measure. Our lad came roaring back and took the second with a 180 of his own to boot. The third was a cracker too, unfortunately, our opponent won it, taking out the double on his first effort while the Butcher was waiting to pounce.

So, 1-0 down and big Magic faced off against Joel, one of the top players in the league. He got down the board before our lad but his finishing was dreadful, allowing the big Pole to get close in both legs, but he won both eventually. The Magic man played well by his standards though, his ski trip seems to have done him the power of good.

I went third against Dan and finally rediscovered my throw after a horrendous few weeks with the new arrows. Wasn’t my best performance, but much more consistent than the last few matches. The finishing was especially good. Won the first with an 84 finish. 20, then 14 then dead centre of the bull to nick it from under the enemies nose. He bounced back and took the second to leave us tied and facing into a crucial third leg. He got to the double before me and should really have won it but he let me in. Double 8 was the shot, the first two darts were close and more or less covered the fuckin thing. Had to go right of the oche by about a yard to see it properly and buried it right in there for the win.

At 2-1 down on the night, Mr 143 took the anchor singles game against Laurent and played very poorly. Had he played to form, he’d have won and we would have gone into the team game level and with a decent chance to take the points. Alas, his form deserted him and he lost 2-0. After losing the first, the second was never going to turn for him. When he gets frustrated, he tries too hard and struggles even more.

3-1 down then and onto our greatest weakness, the team game - which we didn’t win - again. We were well behind by the time they got down to a double, but they couldn’t finish. Of course as soon as we got onto a sub-100 finish, they did.

So that was that then. 4-1 down, we won the doubles quite comfortably. The Butcher and Magic winning the first, myself and Mr 143 winning the second to take the bad look off the scoreboard and leaving it 4-3 on the night.

We didn’t really deserve to win, but it was a frustrating night, team wise. Pleased with my own form though, hopefully it will continue.
Week off next week, then we have the cup quarter final the week after. With the league title all but out of our reach, we will give this a right good rattle in the hopes of a shiny thing at the end of it.

You will be kept in the loop, only here and exclusively live on TFK.

Real people, real darts.

CUP QUARTER FINAL

Brooklyn Zoo II v Game Over
Venue: Scottsl bar, 4 Bisserwee, 1238 Luxembourg

Present last night: 1 Irish, 1 Polish, 1 English, 1 Belgian

We gathered in our former home venue of UpDown bar to prepare for the visit to Scotts and a quarter final tie in the Luxembourg Darts League Cup last night.
We fancied our chances too against Brooklyn Zoo II who, as you no doubt will recall, were relegated from the top division last season, losing twice to your favourite team while doing so. The cup, however, has never been kind to us, but we were in bullish form as we made the short journey across the small bridge over the small river to get things rolling.

The Spear was slightly nonplussed that they weren’t showing the Arsenal game and insisted that we make short work of the opposition so he could go somewhere else to catch the second half at least. With this in mind the Butcher led off against Pepe and threw very well. First leg in 18, second in 20 to register an easy 2-0 win and get us off to a flyer.

The Spear went next and flew down the board in the first leg. He then proceeded to miss a raft of doubles, but hit 6’s eventually, only after his opponent had missed two darts at tops himself. Pressure, it seems, brings out the best finishing in our lad. The second leg was closer, but had the same result, leaving Game Over 2 up after 2 singles.

I took the third singles tie, facing off against the hosts captain, Greg. He’s a decent player when on his game, but gets frustrated very easily when he’s not. This was the case last night. I played well - I’ve definitely found the groove with the new arrows after a ropey bedding in period - and won 2-0 while Greg’s head nearly exploded in anger at his poor form. The wall was kicked, his darts were fucked into the floor after it was over. We all had a good laugh at it.

The Magic man took the anchor tie against Sabrina. She was one of the top players in division 1 last season and proved too good for the big Pole. He threw alright and chased her down the board but couldn’t find a finish in either leg. Never mind, after the singles, we were 3-1 up and looking good for the win.

The team game was competitive until the 300’s when we stretched it out and took out thew double with our hosts in the high 100’s, to leave us 4-1 up and with safe passage booked to the semi finals.

The Butcher and the Spear went first in the doubles so the Arsenal man could nip off early. They won it comfortably, 2-0, ad he headed off to watch his team get embarrassed by Monaco.

Myself and Magic finished off the night with a 2-1 loss, to leave the final score on the night, 5-2 to Game Over.

Semi final on April Fool’s evening. Only top division teams left as our cohabitants in Decibel were knocked out last night.
We’ll have to play very well to go all the way, it’s in us, it’s just a matter of getting it out there on the night.

The league returns next week when we return to Scotts to face Brooklyn Zoo I.

You will be kept in the loop, exclusively live.
Only here, on TFK

Real darts
Real people

Jaysus I forgot this weeks report.

MATCHDAY 5

Brooklyn Zoo I v Game Over
Venue: Scotts bar, 4 Bisserwee, 1238 Luxembourg

Present on Wednesday night: 2 Irish, 1 Polish, 1 English, 1 Belgian, 1 Scotch

We gathered in UpDown for the bit of practice before heading to Scotts for the second week on the spin to face the top team of that venue in the final tie of the first half of the greatest darts league in the universe. The win last week was good but this was an entirely different prospect, so we traveled in hope rather than expectation.

The Butcher, who’s weekend team confirmed their place int he top 8 of the Belgian league today, led off against Christian, who was beaten as soon as he saw who he was playing. Our man won it 2-0 but was made to work hard for both legs without ever really hitting the heights.

The Spear went second. He eschewed any practice on the basis that he hadn’t practiced at all the previous week and played very well. Naturally then, he played horribly in the first leg against Marko and lost it easily. Better int he second though, got down to a double but only because his opponent missed a few. He got it eventually to even things up on the night.

Mr 143 went third against Leeds Bob, who hasn’t won a singles match against us since he jumped ship last year. Mr 143 was very determined to uphold this record, but played terribly and went down 2-0. Nothing went in for him, he looked like he was trying to fire his darts through the board. A thoroughly disappointing showing from the Scotchman.

SO, at 2-1 down, I faced off against Serge looking to level things up and played well. My run of good form continued and I came out on top by 2-1. Even after my opponent levelled it at 1-1 I wasn’t worried. Knew I was playing well enough to do it, and so, did it.

Onto the team game them. We would need all 4 of us firing to win this. We didn’t, but even if we did I’m not sure we’d have won. The enemy began with 3 tons and a 140 and got to the double when we were still working our way through the 300’s. They won it to take the 3-2 advantage into the doubles.

We decided to split the strongest 2, and so the Spear and the Butcher went first against Marko and Christian. If they played well, they’d have a chance. As it turns out, they didn’t. The Butcher’s form collapsed and with the Spear in a trough of his own, they were beaten handily enough by 2-0.

At 4-2 down and the tie lost, myself and Mr 143 finished off the evening with a 2-0 defeat to Leeds Bob and Serge. I played alright, Mr 143 was only throwing depressed at that stage. We were dead but to wash us to be honest.

A 5-2 beating then, to leave us second from bottom of the table with a record of W1 L5. One win less than this time last season. We’ll probably survive in the division as the bottom team are atrocious, but we could be doing better.

We welcome the Thargs to our home turf on Wednesday. You will read all about it, only here.

Exclusively live on TFK

Real darts
Real people

MATCHDAY 6

Game Over v Thargs

Present last night: 1 Irish, 1 Polish, 1 Scotch, 1 Belgian, 1 English

Second half of the season begun last night with the Thargs visiting our home ground. They have yet to beat us in our place and we were reasonably confident that we could maintain that trend if we played well. Arrived early and got the Ornella pizza from next door. It’s nice, potato, spring onion and some class of white sauce base, not too heavy, just enough not to upset the balance of the throw.

I got us underway against Mirsod, their best player. He took the first just before I got a chance at a double, but I powered back to win the second before collapsing in the third, and ending my win streak.

The Spear went second and threw very well in the first leg until he got to the doubles. He and his opponent then proceeded to miss an awful lot of attempts before the visiting player finally finished madhouse to take the lead. Our man came roaring back though, and won a tense second leg. He then started the decider with three straight tons and went on to win it comfortably to level matters on the night. A great win for him and a real boon for the team.

The Butcher went third and won 2-0. Played alright and hit a maximum while doing so, but is capable of more. That being said he had a skinful of Chimay in him at that stage and was doing well just to see the board.

Mr 143 took the anchor singles match and finally discovered some form for himself. It had been a long time coming but was heartening for us all to see him playing well. Scored very well and finished brilliantly to win 2-0.

So at 3-1 up, we brought big Magic in for the team game. Usually, we start the team game horribly and lose. This time we lost, but we started well and maintained our level all the way down, just didn’t hit the double when presented with the opportunity.

Onto the doubles then and we decided to put the Spear and Mr 143 first thinking that they’d put their strongest player in the first doubles with either the third or fourth strongest. To our amazement, they put their best two up first, and they won, 2-0. The two boys gave it a fair rattle in both legs though.

Myself and the Butcher played the final match of the evening and had no trouble whatsoever in winning 2-0 to give us a 4-3 victory and our second win of the season.
A good win, a real confidence booster too ahead of our cup semi final against the same opposition in the same venue in three weeks time. We stayed on for a couple of more sups and pegs before heading off in celebration.

Week off next week, we return to league action in a fortnight, with the runaway leaders, the Others, coming to Decibel. They have beaten the piss out of everyone they’ve faced so far, including us by 7-0, so we’re not too hopeful about how it will go. Taking a few legs off them will be good going.

You read all about it, only here and exclusively live on TFK.

Real people, real darts.

Real People, Real Darts.

An update on winter league @Piles_Hussain?

No Winter or Summer league this time round pal. Back to two divisions and one long season.
We’re going well, won all but one league match so far and beat one of the other big guns in the first round of the cup.
There’s a chance we could win the double, but this would mean winning all remaining games in the league, including against the reigning double champions, who we would also have to beat at some stage in the cup.
They’re a shower of mercenary cunts, so it would be nice to turn them over, but a very tall order.

Wonderful.

Please start the updating the board on games, pal.

(joint) Top of the league
We’re (joint) top of the league
We’re Game Over
(joint) Top of the league

End o season update.

Oh yes, a perfect season for Game Over
10 and oh. Immediate promotion without dropping a point.
Tonights win was achieved without dropping a leg
Won my singles game 2-0 which confirms my finishing top of the individual table.
2 trophies to pick up at awards night.

TOUCH ME, MOTHERFUCKERS::beers::beers::beers:

:clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::+1::+1::+1: