The Official Irish Times Best Places to Holiday in Ireland Thread

Theres an Italian place around the corner from Imaginosity called Pizzicato that has the most reasonably priced food in Dublin. If you don’t go at lunchtime yer man will let the kids run will around the place too. He’s half Tunisian half Italian. Bit of a character.

Take a stroll down beautiful Abbey Street, KP and scare the kids off drugs for life.

KP be aware that Sandyford is a bleak post recessionary landscape, so don’t plan on doing too much else up there. There’s a reason that restaurant @Mac is plugging is cheap.

This is a man who stayed in Liffey Valley. Bleak seems to be what he likes.

The Museum - Abbey street jaunt was interesting alright… some broken hearted American tourist male pouring his heart out to 2 junkies… apparently her new guy likes to talk dirty to her. It cuts him deep.

If youre thinking of the cruise to howth check it out on living social. Tickets were 10€ instead of 22 and booking it is very easy. Google dublin bay cruises

Leopardstown races at 5.30 this Thursday - get the luas green line
Johnny Marr is playing

if stuck for something to do on a wet evening - luas outside your hotel brings you to Odeon Cinema in Point Village beside 02 - great cinema

Walk to the Zoo from the Aisling

Will be like that for the next 4 years.

Castlegregory anyone?

Is Juhy on commission for the cruise to Howth?

Cops chasing a group of black youths all along O’Connell street. Some have taken refuge in our Luas. All of them have a bit shaved off the left side of their eyebrow which probably signifies some gang symbol or could be just some hip fashion thing that I am completely unaware of.

3 heroin addicts boarded in four courts and took our seats as we left in museum… one of them had a pale blue ben sherman jumper that I used to wear back in the day. He’s not filling it like I used.

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 994455, member: 686”]Cops chasing a group of black youths all along O’Connell street. Some have taken refuge in our Luas. All of them have a bit shaved off the left side of their eyebrow which probably signifies some gang symbol or could be just some hip fashion thing that I am completely unaware of.

3 heroin addicts boarded in four courts and took our seats as we left in museum… one of them had a pale blue ben sherman jumper that I used to wear back in the day. He’s not filling it like I used.[/QUOTE]

You shouldn’t be hanging around that part of town after 6pm.

Wasn’t hanging around pal. I was in transit.

I was just saying in general there’s a lot of scum around there!

I get about as much from them as you get from the Lahinch tourist board. Loaded, I am.

Need a storm to come to wash the scum off the streets.

Its Lehinch

Ryan’s in Parkgate St do a great early bird - part of the FXB chain.

[QUOTE=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post: 994295, member: 464”]We had a quick bite in oranmore after the races last evening and took a leisurely drive home with many stops via kinvara, tracht, new quay & flaggy shore, ballyvaughan & fanore. A lovely evening for it.
Kinvara was busy with a large crowd down at the pier, we walked by and did not imbibe as we had places yet to see.
The large number of caravans and camper vans all along the route was remarkable.

Off to doolin & lahinch today, will take in a stroll in lahinch, a game at doolin p&p and a visit to o’connors to meet Patrick t.[/QUOTE]

Great road tripping.

I have never seen Kinvara as busy as this year. Buses and buses of tourists day upon day. If you could move the castle into town they’d clean up altogether.

Where did ye dine in Oranmore?

I see tremendous potential in KP’s reports. He’ll be in the local next weekend, surrounded by a few rustics, embellishing these yarns by the mile along the lines of “there were the 3 big bl*** fuckers with small machetes, roaring and shouting at the Guards”…And I said Here to fuck lads, cool down

There’s a ballad in there…“On a warm summers evening, on a Luas bound for Galway…”