The official Kilkenny Senior Football Thread

[quote=“Locke”]There’s a reason for it Fran, don’t know the exact reasoning why but I think it was to do with trouble on a bus coming back from a game and the heirarchy there used it as an excuse to pull the team altogether.

Nothing gets in the way of the hurling team. When I was there we had a good soccer team but there were 6 lads who were on both hurling and soccer panels. If training clashed at all the boys had to go hurling training, le fin. Used to drive Jimmy (RIP) mad. It worked out okay in the end as both teams were successful, still though, it was an eye opener for me at the time…[/quote]

Something must be getting in the way of the hurling team Locke cos theyre gone to shit,St Keirans(the hurling nursery as it nostalgically known) have been also rans at Senior level for a decade now,the whipping boys infact.

I think the actual reason for there being no Senior football team, and someone can correct me if I’m wrong is that Kierans were banned from the competition because one of the teachers, God rest his soul, got in a fight with a priest at a senior football match.

I think the ban is well up by now but they just never bothered re-entering a team.

The silence is deafening from the stripey men of Keirans College on why thier much heralded nursery of hurling is completely gone to shit over the last decade while nobodys like Kilkenny CBS,Comer CS,Good Counsel New Ross,Birr CS,Dublin Colleges,basically anybody who fields a team beats them handy in the 1st round every Year.Before last Years senior AI final i heard an extremely lazy piece of radio journalism where some fella off Radio 1 was in the Keirans nursery while Liam Smith took a training session with the supposed stars of the future,they had the mike trained in on L Smith while he roared on the troops with cliches like “cmon now lads do it fast,hurl direct,the KEIRANS way” and orher puke inducing crap like that,hes obviously stuck in the same time warp as the journo who bothered going down there.

Is L Smith over the seniors? I doubt it. Juniors maybe. A Finan not over the seniors? And if not, why not…! Is there a rule that a school must be coached from within.

I agree with you Link, a school like Kierans should be challenging again in some capacity at senior level, not getting beat in the first round every year. Delighted that Comer, CBS etc are doing well but KK needs a school the size of Kierans producing good hurlers to feed the troll that is the senior KK hurling team.

On the question of a senior football team there, I suppose if it were there at the time I would have tried out for it but don’t know how serious it would have been taken. More of an excuse to get time off class to go and play a game in November I’d say…

Just thowing something out there…

could the apathy for football in Kilkenny stem from not requiring the helmet?

Last week Leitrim hammered the shite out of Kilkenny in a National League match. And, far from having any sympathy for the vanquished Cats with the big balls, Leitrim selector Martin McGowan has said it could have been more. Fair play to him and all like him.
According to McGowan, Leitrim were gunning for a 35-point winning margin to squeeze into third place on the Division Four table. Showing a remarkable display of sportsmanship, McGowan insisted they could well have achieved that target:
I think the final scoreline really flattered Kilkenny to a large extent as we created an awful lot of chances in the second half that we didnt take. Were happy enough with the result, even though we should have scored a lot more. Kilkenny are just out of their depth in the Allianz league. Three of their points were given to them by the referee in the first half when they were playing against the wind.
In the second half, they rarely - if ever - threatened to score and their only point came when they intercepted one of our frees.
What then to do with the Cats if theres no place for them in the National League? These hammerings do little for their morale.
Perhaps our friend McGowan has lost the run of himself a bit, I mean after all, Leitrim are no world beaters themselves despite their high profile management duo. But then, in the end, all these things can be explained one way or another.
In the land of the blind indeed.

I’d say Leitrim have been on the end of a few trimmings themselves in their day.

In fairness Leitrim were missing the best corner back in the country the same day

Of course they were, Joe Higgins is a Laois man.

Well done Leitrim. Great win for the lads.

Tempers the joy of the Cork win for the Kilkenny folk I’d say.

Speaking Cork folk MGG has been fierce quiet this week…

[quote=“myboyblue”]Tempers the joy of the Cork win for the Kilkenny folk I’d say.

Definately. Back to the drawing board for the team now after what was such a promising start

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]I played Gaelic Football in Kierans Juvenile and Junior

Juvenile we got to the South Leinster Final. We beat the shite out of Portlaoise and Peters, and we had two tight enough games with Council but got by them in the end.
We got beaten well by Naas(I think) in the Final.

At Junior level people were beginning to care less and we went nowhere.

There was no football senior team.

We have all the talent needed underage, somewhere along the way the priority changes to hurling and hurling only.[/quote]

when would that have been CD that ye got to that final?

would have played football with a good few kilkenny lads, and they’d be as good as any players around. Walter Walsh from tullogher completely outplayed Donie Kingston in the colleges quarter final this year, showing the ability is certainly there.

[quote=“Gman”]when would that have been CD that ye got to that final?

would have played football with a good few kilkenny lads, and they’d be as good as any players around. Walter Walsh from tullogher completely outplayed Donie Kingston in the colleges quarter final this year, showing the ability is certainly there.[/quote]

It would have been U-14 in jaysus, late 1996, I think…
South Leinster Final.

Disappointed to see how things fell away for the lads in the end, and with it public interest. Had the Sligo game not gone so badly who knows what might have been achieved. There’s always next year I suppose.

Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn 4 Table

Team Pld Won Draw Lost Diff Points

Kilkenny 8 0 0 8 -212 0

Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn 4

Sun 1st February
Sligo 3-20 Kilkenny 0-4

Sat 7th February
Kilkenny 0-5 Antrim 4-27

Sun 15th February
Waterford 2-20 Kilkenny 0-3

Sun 8th March
Kilkenny 0-3 Wicklow 7-24

Sun 15th March
Clare 5-23 Kilkenny 0-4

Sun 29th March
Kilkenny 0-4 Leitrim 4-19

Sun 12th April
London 2-12 Kilkenny 0-7

Sat 18th April
Kilkenny 1-9 Carlow 2-22

[quote=“Watch The Break”]Sun 29th March
Kilkenny 0-4 Leitrim 4-19

Sun 12th April
London 2-12 Kilkenny 0-7

Sat 18th April
Kilkenny 1-9 Carlow 2-22[/quote]

This is only the beginning for this wonderfully talented bunch as you can see from their ever increasing score average. They’re on somehwhat of an upward spiral and could prove very difficult to defeat towards the business end of the season

1-16 in the last two games was an improvement in fairness. I reckon we’ll do a Tipp on it over the next two years. Just have to get a Kerry man in to train the team.

Isn’t there one already living in KK?

http://blog.mymunster.com/wp-content/uploads/mick_galwey.jpg

[quote=“myboyblue”]Isn’t there one already living in KK?

http://blog.mymunster.com/wp-content/uploads/mick_galwey.jpg[/quote]

True for you MBB. More into the eggball these days though

They all come back to their roots eventually locke.