The Official TFK Farming Thread

You’ll sleep well tonight.

When you’ve a clear/no conscience you sleep well every night

Just too many of them from dairy breeds is my understanding.

Any beef you buy in Ireland or UK is generally from Heifers under 30 months. The only exception might be ground beef in burgers or mince. The steers (males) are sold out to Europe or The middle east.

Could you not get veal out of them?

You could, but there no market for veal in Ireland or UK. 10s of thousand of males from dairy herds go to Holland every year where they are finished for veal, probably at 8 months.

The quality of calves coming out of the dairy herds is putrid these days. I was watching a calf sale online at the mart in your homeplace there a few weeks ago, the auctioneer couldn’t get a fiver bid on many of the scuts of calves that came in the ring.

One of the lads was saying you could buy Holsteins for a tenner

Could you not make money out of a male calf for a fiver? Even if you only ate the fucker yourself? A bad box of mince is a fiver like

Is there anything to be made buying calves and finishing them or seeing them through to stores?

Marginal and you’d need plenty of luck with them.

We never bothered but I want to get the wee lad started with something of his own…chickens just aren’t enough

Be no harm to try a few of them and see how he gets on. Great way to learn the basics.

Well? Do they come with instructions?

Get cattle
Put them in field
Count them every second day
Collect grant
Send them to factory
Get paid

The basics of business! Keeping outputs lower than income etc etc

Grand. Is a barley field ok?

If you had an Aberdeen angus or Hereford from a good British Friesian cow, and paid less than 300 for him at 6 weeks, you might have a chance. You’ll be keeping him for 30 months and possibly getting 1300 for him, but you have to minus the costs and 2 winters.

I’m getting out of suckler cows as I work full time and the auld lad is pushing on, can’t be calving these crazy bastards of cows anymore. I buy weanlings and stores at 2 years, finish everything off grass at 30 months. On the stores, I bought 25 of them in Oct 2019 and killed them September 2020. Some made 400 others 250 gross profit. Marginal at best.

Keyword

You’d be as well of rearing cats as some of them.

Would cost you about 250 to get him killed, hung for 2 weeks and cut up. And he’d taste like shite.