The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

What kind of a young lad says their team "dominated "a game,I’m afraid I’m with @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy here

Knocking a kid for being slightly articulate is roasterish

Phonetics is a gamechanger along with Lego cartoons

@Little_Lord_Fauntleroy is consistent in his disdain for all things Gaelic which is admirable if mean spirited

I don’t believe this kid ever said such a thing

Kids don’t talk like that

Do any of you give kids (toddlers) supplements just in case something might be missing out of their diet. Have tried Paharmaton but it tastes like shit so they won’t go near it.

Once in a blue moon. Concern is that by giving them a multivitamin supplement you’re force-fitting them to a bell-curve. What if they end up getting too much of a vitamin they don’t need and it causes other issues? Best route is plenty of fresh organic veg and running around outside.

Not sure if that makes sense pal. If you’re worried because how sick the smallies have been this past winter, it’s been exceptionally bad for a lot of families. There were weeks where it felt like it would never end. But, what doesn’t kill you… :muscle:

That’s unusual, mine would kill for the liquid pharmaton, they love it.
You can get the jellies if they won’t take it from the spoon, no kid ever refused a jelly.

Yeah, the odd time but never keep it up. To be honest I reckon multivitamins are bollix if the diet is fairly balanced. The nutribullet is handy for getting the likes of celery and spinach into them even if their molecular structure is smashed.

Pharmaton jellies? Good man, just what I was hoping for.

Your right, but after a bout of sickness the young fella can go off proper food for up to two weeks. Won’t eat meat, just shite like pasta, cheese and cereal.

On too much vitamins and minerals, doesn’t the body just pass them out?

Chitty chitty bang bang was great everyone. Cant wait for annie now

With the best will and intentions in the world it’s impossible to get a stubborn 4 year old to eat a healthy diet all the time. Fuckers have too much choice and are exposed to such a variety of foods that they can be very picky. I have 4 kids and only one of them will eat sausage and chips, two point blank refuse to eat fish. Luckily they all love carrots and will eat lean red meat. Given the choice it would be bread, pasta and rice for every meal. Supplements will do them no harm at this time of year.

Get sneaky with how you get the veg into him. And be patient - it could just be used phase. My eldest wouldn’t touch veggies for months there, but now he insists on bringing raw carrots to school, he eats courgettes, legumes, etc. Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall has some great kid-friendly pasta recipes that are healthy. One example is macaroni and cheese, with a pureed pea sauce. Another is a courgette mozarella pasta bake. Let me know if you’d like me to upload a few here.

As for passing excess vitamins out, sure - the likes of VitC will give you cramps, the scutts and possibly headaches but you could pass it. For a kid, the above could be an issue though. With the levels in a kid’s multi-vit, this possibly wouldn’t be a severe and immediate issue. But long-term low-dose exposure could lead to all sorts of health issues.

As an aside, a relatively new issue relates to foods that are “enhanced” or “enriched” with vitamins. Look at Kelloggs, avonmore super milk, etc. It’s becoming impossible what vitamins we’re getting over the course of a day, and it’s suspected that these foods are introducing new dietary imbalances. Keep it simple: organic where possible, unprocessesed, and as close to the start of the production line (e.g. Steel-cut oats are better for you than quick cook oats).

And go seasonal with fruit and veg if you can.

Getting access to local honey cam be a game changer too for the likes of colds and allergy’s especially around pollen season. I had a local source for a few years but his swarm produced fuck all last year so didn’t get anything.

Cheers lads!

That’s a great suggestion, and very true. Kids are exposed to so much environmental shit nowadays. Moulds due to poorly ventilated / airtight houses, electromagnetic pollution from wi-fi and mobiles, etc. Turn off the phones and wi-fi at night, and a spoon of local honey in the porridge every morning :thumbsup:

I’d be very tempted to keep bees. A neighbour had a few hives when we were kids. The honey was honreal. :honeybee: :honey_pot: :heart_eyes:

The local stuff didn’t taste great in my opinion but the subtle smell from it was so familiar, just like walking through one of our meadows on a summers day… Which makes complete sense obviously!