Jaysus lads the little has got her feet under her the last couple of weeks, itās a whole different ball game now. She is starting to get faster as well.
Yet you were happy enough to judge the crĆØche employee for following her professional training and work protocol. Iām shaken by the hypocrisy on display.
Thankfully nothing bad has happened yet just the usual falls. She is now starting to climb, I swear its those kids in the creche that are leading her astray.
Also @caoimhaoin, you seem to be using the fact that the kid was fine once the mother arrived as evidence that the problem was easily solvable. The kid wanted its mother - she came therefore it was solved. You could more accurately hypothesize that he could have kept going until he got his mam.
this āfriendā of yours has all the signs of being a right fucking weird bitch.
but considering she left her husband while she had a baby and 4 other kids and now doesnt want to have to deal with her own traumatized toddler and her parents have practically disowned her it doesnāt really come as much of a suprise.
Sad to hear some folk badmouthing creche staff. Thatās one of the toughest jobs around and in my experience they are dedicated and care deeply about the kids. Our creche is savage and has little or no turnover of staff. A brother has his in a chain one with a high turnover of staff. That is a bad sign and the kids are often with different people which isnāt great. I imagine any parent in the world would whip their kids out quick enough if they didnāt trust the staff. @caoimhaoin on another note make sure your make doesnāt make an issue of dropping the kid from now on. Talk up how good/much fun the creche is and let the drop off bz quick and all smiles. No āitāll be okā or āitās only for a whileā. All smiles, quick drop, donāt look back. Otherwise the kid associates being dropped with fear and anxiety. This is the advice of the child psychologist on moncrieff, David Carey. Heās good.
agreed
spoke to my estranged wife about this case also that i was involved with on the INTERNET and she said the right call was made also in calling the mother
notwithstanding (cc @Bandage ) the fact that the kid was distressed , he/she would have seriously disrupted the room and made the job of the girls there imposible
id trust their judgement as professionals , many of them are mothers also and if they thought best course of action was to call for help so be it, they wouldnt do it lightly
No I never said that. I said that it didnāt seem right that a single mother would have 5 kids that sheās completely responsible for with no help. There must be something else at play. Youāve alluded to her being beaten up which may or may not be the reason sheās on her own. If this is the case the poor woman should be getting help from someone as what sheās doing isnāt sustainable for any human being and could be 1 of the reasons why 1 of the kids is finding trouble adjusting to a new environment.
Also, you continue to refer to the people in the pre-school as teachers but Iām assuming theyāre not teachers but the equivalent of childcare workers? The 20 minute crying rule seems nuts. Most creches (as I understand it) have adjustment periods where you live the kids in gradually (2 half days 1 week, 3 half days the following week, 1 full day, 2 half days the next week etc) to let them adapt to new surroundings and get used to new people. Its completely natural for a child to freak out if the only person who usually tends to it is its mother and all of a sudden its landed into a new situation with strangers and other kids.
No-one will know the child better than she does so only she can decide whats best. However, it sounds like sheās not in the right frame of mind to make logical decisions based on how you describe her circumstances so what she really needs is someone to help her, be it a friend or family or otherwise.
Our young lad is with a childminder the last few weeks. She is 100%. Minimal chit chat at drop off and runs it like clockwork to the extent that our young lad who was an extremely picky and bitty eater and thus waking up at night hungry is now in a set routine with other kids there for meals and eating all round him. Which in turns means he sleeps through the night. The missus of course is doubting herself of where she went wrong but the minder is at it years and came highly recommended. He still gives the trembly lift at drop off but otherwise all good.
The chain creches employ people who only want to get promoted to the next level and to be a creche manager and care little for the kids they ācareā for as a result. The structure is just rotten. I used to be anti-creche in a big way but after weighing up all the options of au pair, child minder, mrs mac not returning to work etc it was the only one that made sense from the childs benefit point of view and for all our mental states.
absolutely. the fact that I nearly lost both last time and that this time was smoother was just a relief. not sure that cheering about it is the right way of putting it, but there was certainly anxiety this time as a result so I cant help but feel relieved that we had no such issues again.
The overwhelming emotion for me at the birth of all my kids was pure relief once it was obvious that all was fine, one gave us a bit of a scare but the doctor and midwife were superb, calm as fuck and only later did we find out exactly how hairy it was.
Hmmmm, I wonder did something like this happen with my young fella recently. I dunno did I imagine it but I thought after he was produced that his body went limp and was a funny colour. He came around after a couple of seconds and the midwives didnāt seem to react so maybe thatās normal. My wife noticed it too and neither of us remembered it from the first time.