Thstās tough palā¦ You know your mrs best, but maybe a little break away for you both or her and a couple of close pals might help her blow off a little of her own steam in the way Ireland dod for you.
Also, go easy on the young lad, heās not that type of child and im sure he was only looking to give you a fair dunt.
Itās good to talk about it as hard as it is to talk about it.
I told a handful of close friends and the Mrs was glad. She thought Iād just bottle it up like everything else and carry on as everything is normal. Everything is not normal and itās a cunt of a thing for both @bandage and his life partner. Take care of each other and the little fella. Time is a healer. About three weeks after what would have been two years since ours, the Mrs remarked that sheād completely forgotten about the āanniversaryā of it (I hadnāt) because she was so preoccupied with our little Miss that came since.
As an aside, the support I got on here at the time was very important. I felt I could talk openly and honestly.
Look after yerselves @Bandage. Its a tough old station. Itās a bereavement without anyone really knowing or helping you grieve. The young lad and sport are a great distraction. Look after herself now. They take it very personally. Shoot off somewhere where no one knows ye and have real nice time.
Sad news so eloquently described. Sorry to hear your story, however there is a resilience running through the pain of that post so let that, and your partner & child, be your strength.
Thatās a really shitty thing @Bandage. Weāve been there as well. The wait between first and second scan was horrific, itās just a torrid time. It really affected Mrs J for a good while. Itās brilliant that you have the little fella, makes you really appreciate the joy and the Craic and the miracle of it all and itāll stop you having time to think about it.
Iām not sure why but it didnāt bother me as much as I thought it would in terms of loss, I was just concerned for Mrs J mostly. Keep talking and make sure she and ye both are ok.
@Bandage thinking of you and your other half at this time. With the significant others in times of difficulty, just be there; you might not have to say or do anything. They will appreciate the smallest gesture be it doing a few chores or bringing a cup of tea. Sometimes this is all they need; support and help with the smallest, everyday things in life. Trust her to open up and grieve fully when the time is correct.
Itās a tough break and never easy to take, particularly for your life partner. I donāt think weāll ever truly understand what itās like for a woman to go through it.
Thatās a fantastic post though, not an easy thing to talk / write about but itās great to get it off your chest
Spot on.
We as men never truly understand and miscarriage is awful for them. Happened us twice.
Men think they can say the right thing or maybe take a holiday etc but best thing imo is just be normal with her.
If or when the floodgates open be the best shoulder she can lean on.
It is different if youāre lucky enough to already have a child at foot as distraction helps but truth is that only time heals these things.
Itās part of human nature unfortunately and as said above itās more common than anyone realises. Sad matter of fact with so many people starting families into their early 30ās is that these issues become very common.