signing in - TOP Kinsealy 1994-1995
Amber - Askeaton - 1994 - 1995
I was paid ÂŁ2 a hour, for 3 hours every evening.
Signing in. Esso, Ardkeen Stores. Early 1970s. Donât remember the rate of pay. Also changed batteries, tyres and mended punctures.
Signing in.
Summers of 1997(ÂŁ2 an hour) and 1998(ÂŁ2.50 an hour). Right in the heart of the village. Shell station and also a car dealership. Did some wax on wax off there just before cars were picked up by their new owners.
a definite trend between former fuel injection technicans &
A) Top Top Posters
B) EV enthusiasts
Signing in.
'99-'00.
Best job i ever had.
Signing in.
I worked in my granddadâs mates place so âI could learn some graftâ for a year when I was 16. 5er an hour but the tips were simply magnificent. Cars would be out to the road queuing for the wash. Being watched by some dickhead taxi driver while you scrubbed the wheels of his 10 year old Merc and told you off if you missed a spot certainly put you in your place though.
The lads who deliver fuel to garages are 99% insane. Some of their utter shite talk turned me into the TFK poster I am today.
Some eccletic characters there though, mostly young lads just making a buck during school but the long termers were a mad bunch.
- the ownerâs brother worked on the forecourt as he was not all there. He boasted after Christmas one year that he gave his nieces and nephews a box filled with rocks which he wrapped up nicely as he was angry his brother wouldnât give him a 50p raise
- one guyâs dream was to become a taxi driver. He used to hang around with the taxi drivers outside looking for tips and tricks on how to break into the profession. He was on his 4th Provisional by the time I left and had a Monster Munchies addiction
- another used to try and sell us âhigh endâ watches he clearly had stolen. He used to take personal time out in the coal shed daily
All in all it helped turn me into the well rounded, socially conscious and empathetic person I am today, Iâm grateful for the time I spent there.
Did you get a deduction if you went over the customer order i.e. filled 20.02 instead of the 20?
Mate of mine put petrol in diesel car two weekends in a row career ender
I did it once, after asking the guy twice what he wanted
He was big into his cars too, he took it well enough to be fair to him and he was able to drive it off. I didnât hear anything back from him afterwards.
The now defunct statoil which used to be in portmarnock. Around 98 I think. A culture of grift existed before I arrived and I could do nothing to stem the tide so I joined in wholeheartedly. A couple of the regulars refused to pay for newspapers insisting we chop the top bar code off and they got their papers for free.
You used to get a few quid from those guys who came to pump out the diesel if you called them. Some panicked old dear would be over to you asking what she could do and youâd try to pretend to be sympathetic while you were really delighted you were getting 20 pound out of it. Serious upgrade on your cans that weekend.
I didnât realise until I was a car owner myself that a lot of insurance policies cover that so it was sneaky enough by them but sure how was I to know.
1998 - Maxol Enniscorthy.
We were filling our own tanks since the 80s fellas, ye were selling fags and carrying bags of coal and briquettes
In, Statoil Nogra, late 90s. 16-17 years old. Days of alcoholic heaven.
ââTwas sitting in a warm forecourt that gave ye soft hands and turned ye into the soft townie bastards that ye are today. I was out doing mans work at that time.
A lot of lads who just worked in shops trying to claim they were fuel injection technicians here.
I was exclusively a fuel injection technician, no car washes, no serving customers. I was 100% focused on my job.
Did you have a little hut that you sat in eating wine gums and reading the Irish Mirror while waiting around?
No, I waited in the shop, it was pretty small.
The owner had 3 daughters, so I would spend my time conversing with which ever one of them was working.
The tips were pretty good from what I remember and youâd match your wages most days with them. It was cheapest place in the area for petrol so the forecourt was pretty busy.