The Official TFK Ireland 1912-1923 Thread

https://www.theirishstory.com/2019/12/18/today-in-irish-history-18-december-1918-the-attempted-assassination-of-sir-john-french/#.Xfq6e1PLedM

Fair play to Crowe. Charlie Flanagan is an odious creep.

Fair dues, man of principle obviously

Fine Gael seem to be taking a kicking over the RIC commemorations. #blackandtans was trending on twitter last night.

FF simpletons at the front it would seem with a tin ear for nuances around the North now etc.

Be some craic explaining to them that they’re forefathers won’t be commemorated for their civil war efforts under the same logic because they lost.

It was a fairly bizarre thing to take a position on given there was no clamor at all, by anyone, for it to be done.
Fine Gael are just a bit thick. They can’t do PR at all.

Twitter isn’t the country mate.

It just illustrates how thick many of the day to day Twitterati are.

I didn’t say it was :man_shrugging:

It’s amazing how many people seem to have a great grand uncle who was in the Old IRA (which gives them great authority on the matter). I wonder where the family trees of all the RIC officers have gone off to. :shushing_face:

It’s a pretty moot point then really. Higgins got lots of blow back from the Rastoolers on Twitter for not going to Soloheadbeg last year.

Twitter does drive certain agendas, this isn’t a big deal.

Soloheadbeg was just fine without Higgins in fairness

West Brit Tim is seething here

Tim definitely had family in the RIC

What’s the problem here?

The ones that weren’t informers.

Again, what’s the problem here?

Does anybody commenting even know?

I discovered from 1901 census documents online that my great grandfather on father side was in the RIC stationed in Connemara. The aul lad was seething when I brought it home to show him.

I must say that comes as no great surprise

Only the most secure poster would dare reveal that information to the Rastoolers.

It’s always good to give the latchicos the odd tap-in.