The official TFK solar panel thread - thank God for Eamon Ryan

I’m in shortly.

Did you research this particular switch @KinvarasPassion ?
Do you need to spend that much?

I have a SigEnergy system so I went with their one. There might have been cheaper ones out there but not sure how compatible they would be with the SigEnergy App.

We get 3/4 power cuts a year on average and with both of us working from home it’s a pain to have to go to the office for a connection. This just takes the chaos out of it as it’s an automatic switch over.

You still need to ensure the likes of the heat pump and main over don’t get used during this time as they’ll drain the battery quickly, that part is still manual but I believe it’s possible to automate that too but not simple.

I’m not sure what ours is, but the app is solis

New record of 46.4kw yesterday, not quite the month in yet

Installation of a 9kw system scheduled for this day two weeks. Sigenergy inverter and 8kwh battery. Huzzah

We need the likes of you to offset against @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy and him polluting the planet

Real gavin pepper anti australian immigrants vibes off that post mate

australians can stay in their own outpost, it’s big enough for them

Has anyone made a kilowatt in a calendar month yet?
Been very close but not quite last month. This month should blast through that. Last power bill was 169 quid credit.

This will be a Roger Bannister four-minute-mile equivalent in TFK history

Id say you’d need panels on both fronts and back roof of house so that are producing from early morning til late at night to hit the kw

Edit do you mean a MW?

I checked there I did a MW in May…and discrediting my own their above I only have panels to rear of house

I did 800 odd in June and it was shite auld weather. If we got a bit of sun this month I’d say I’d get to 1000kw.

Three lads gave visited to give a consultation to me; the house is on an east/west orientation with a small enough section of South facing roof.

Two suppliers wanted me to fit 6 panels on a small enough South facing section with the remaining 14 on the West facing roof. The other guy, (and the one I’ve chosen) said it would look a bit haphazard and said 8 on the East facing and 12 on the West facing would make more sense as you want to maximise production from as early in the day as possible from the months of March to October. All panels would be hit for a few hours during the middle of the day also. I was unsure but producing from half 5 in the morning in the height of Summer sounded logical so I went with the third guy.

I made 920 so should blow it this month.

Makes perfect sense. Iv a dormer roof so had no real option at front with chimneys shading etc but can see it that I don’t generate anything until around lunchtime …generating til v late alright then in summer

I’d say that’s what was being suggested @flattythehurdler

I hit those heights in June

Similar experience here. Got three quotes, Panel location and system design was all over the place, you’d think it would be standard enough…Also, there was E12K in the difference between the three suppliers, for the same kit, panels and inverters were the same quoted x 3, same batteries x 2. The highest quote had the poorest battery and Inverter (looked them up online)… some lads are making absolute hay

One lad was claiming a saving of 90 grand in total over 30 years. Pie in the sky stuff. The lad I went with seemed the most realistic and gave a great price for the battery too.

He was probably factoring in the energy price increases coming due to Trump & WW3

I got 1.2 MW in may and 1.05 in April, down a good bit in June, only got 0.96