https://twitter.com/brianfenton08/status/1867988404769575064?s=46&t=0sQkcb7z4szDmx1-2Xlm0w
Failed LoI footballer Cluxton still trying his little heart out at soccer.
The stupid cunt thinks he might get a spot in the Irish sporting hall of fame
They won’t like that
Bumper day today with two of the three top sporting celebs in the Douglas area spotted by yours truly.
On my walk back from the local EV charging point I passed Donnacha O’Callaghan walking the other way. He was walking their large black Lab dog at the same time. We exchanged pleasantries to the degree that we don’t both know each others names (as in I know his but he doesn’t know mine) but recognise each other from the local GAA club. Donners was not wearing shorts for a change, most likely because it’s baltic outside and it’s past the month of September which is the cut off point as to when men should stop wearing shorts and anyone who does has a want about him cc @Kyle.
At lunchtime I was in Easons in Douglas Court. ‘Big’ Donal Lenihan was in there too, pouring over the top 10 sellers on what I imagine was a stocking filler for someone close for Christmas. Donal was wearing navy top, navy jeans with Hoka running shoes. This is his usual attire, just change out the jacket for a navy tee shirt and jeans for navy rugby shorts in the summer. It was then I noticed I too was wearing a navy jacket, navy jeans and Hoka runners. I then thought about the things that make you realise you are old thread on here. Lenihan is around 6’ 4".
Two great spots.
I met Donal in the Clayton hotel in Ballsbridge there a few weeks back he had been at the IRFU 150 year celebration in the RDS the night before.
The young fella elbowed me and within his hearing range said that is the fella off the telly. Donal got a laugh out of it and I got the young fella to take a photo of me and Donal then
A fine yarn but what about the sports stars you mentioned seeing?
Live spot: Fento on a southbound dart with Raheny GAA comrades. Have the cut of lads heading for pints in town. Even asked for a photo with me & my lads.
Did you say yes?
Sounds like he’s been told he needs evidence.
Your spot is always welcomed here @Alan-partridge
Just spotted Fento & Michael Darragh MacAuley separately at the Goal Mile in St Anne’s Park, Dublin 3/5.
Ex Cork hurler, and ex Cork, Waterford and Limerick coach Justin McCarthy spotted outside 09:30 Mass this morning in leafy Douglas. With his wife. Justin’s daughter had an unsuccessful run at the Dáil recently.
Paddy Christie queuing behind me at the bottle return machine in super valu Finglas on Christmas eve. I was in there to collect two John Cena dolls bought off adverts. Id say I was the only person in Finglas who’d recognise paddy so he probably wouldn’t make the cut on the main celeb thread.
In Pairc ui Chaoimh yesterday at the Christmas merries I spotted a gape n the security and tried to bring my daughter onto the pitch, we were left disappointed by a fence at the last minute but got in behind the city end goal, as we turned to leave we saw that somebody else had the same idea and wasn’t it only Derek Lyng and his own kid, it didn’t hit me immediately who he was but we exchanged a howya,
I gave him a jolt on the bumper cars shortly after and he repaid me in kind
Did the ice skating there a few weeks back . Great setup.
I was completing a tempo & hills running session this morning & progressed down through St Anne’s Park in the direction of Yang’s Hill (at the junction of James Larkin Road & Mount Prospect Avenue, colloquially named after Yang’s Chinese Restaurant adjacent to the hill). When I emerged out of the tree cover at the top of the hill at 8.45am I was somewhat taken aback to see a group of 25-30 military-aged, white men sprinting up the hill towards me. “Bollox, they’re using the hill I want to sprint on”, I said to myself as I surveyed my options. I quickly deciphered it was the Clontarf GAA senior football team undertaking their own hill sprints session & I spotted legendary Dublin footballer Jack McCaffrey within their number. Instead of sprinting up Yang’s Hill in the park interior, I slipped over to Mount Prospect Avenue itself & did my 3x(90, 60, 30 sec) hill sprints - jog back after each sprint & 2-minute jog between sets. The Clontarf squad continued to complete a series of 30-45 second sprints up Yang’s Hill off a jog back recovery for the 20 minutes I was nearby. McCaffrey was wearing white trainers, navy shorts & light blue tshirt & was generally positioned towards the front of proceedings.
Jack McCaffrey retiring/stepping back from Dublin this time hasn’t been officially announced anywhere as far as i know, so this is a bit of an exclusive again for TFK that he’s back with his club.
Yang’s “hill” I think you mean.