The Overrated Thread

We all got brought to the Vaults in the IFSC by our manager for an early lunch that turned into an afternoon session and back to one of the girls flats for a party.
An older woman asked what should she do if she didn’t like football. The manager told her to go shopping or something :joy:

Great days!

The Spain game was on a damp Sunday afternoon from what I recall. I was on the rollover from the night before

After the Saudi Arabia game four of us went on a session in town from about half three to about half 11, ending up in the Portobello. One of the lads said he was going to Korea for the Spain game. He didn’t go. We went back to his gaff in Rathmines to drink vodka in the kitchen. After 20 minutes an Australian dude comes down the stairs to tell us to shut up. After another 15 minutes of drunken whispering he came down the stairs again shouting at us to get out. The other three of us got out.

Fuckin pegged that.

It was an incredible strike. In the fullness of time Glenn will be recognised as one of our all time greats.

Jaysus you’ve a better memory than me

You were warned about smoking that amount of hash

Mr Rogers Reaction GIF by MOODMAN

I was in 6th class, we were brought to the PE hall ti watch the Germany game. Bastard teachers telling us to calm down when Robbie scored. Only quarter of the class there, all the rest taken out and brought to the pubs. Thankfully me ma and da took me out for the Saudi and Spain games. Remember the Cameroon game because it was on at like 7am on a Saturday. Wexford footballers took on Dublin that evening. All the Dubs were in the horrors and they had about 50 streakers. Great days. No phones.

Spain game was a Sunday?

Maybe, I don’t remember Spain one too well compared to the rest. I was just happy to be in the pub.

Stop making up tall tales

It was. I was in a pub around 11am watching it iirc. Some day long session. In the manyana’s by 6 o clock. Couldn’t even remember the missed penalty by the end of the day

It was, the Munster final between Kerry and cork was on in Killarney after it, Twas pissing rain and there was only about 5000 at the game.
We asked the barman to turn it off as it was too depressing

Snap…

Quinn at Wembley, McGraths ball, super cool finish

Watched all the games in The Scholars in UL bar the Cameroon game which was viewed at a house party near UCC which had last the distance since The Frames gig at The Big Top the evening before when Glen nearly got lynched by the seucurty staff for crowd surfing.

The Spain game was the same day that Kerry beat Cork. Darragh, Tomas and Marc buried their father that morning. I can’t remember if they played but I think Cork were unwilling to put the fixture back.

I won a few tickets to that gig on the Limerick Leader so went down to that as a rake of mates were going. I watched the Cameroon match at my aunt’s house in Bishopstown the next morning.

It was a replay and Cork insisted they play the game at the wake

My abiding memory of the Cameroon match was that TV3 were showing a repeat of a Celtic champions league match at the same time, I often wondered if a single person was watching :man_shrugging: