We’ve asked Juhniallio to stay on in Beijing to be our official correspondent for the Paralympics too. Most media organisations in this country were only too happy to send their top class journalists out on 3 week junkets to cover the regular Olympics but here at TFK our commitment to sport runs deeper than that. We can look forward to regular updates from Juhy in the weeks to come.
In the meantime check out this wheelchair rugby tackle
a friend went to see jimmy carr - one segment is he asked the audience what the para in paralympics stood for - people were shouting up stuff like paralysed or paraplegic etc when its actually means in parallel with the olympics
“The word Paralympic was originally a pun combining ‘paraplegic’ and ‘Olympic’, however with the inclusion of other disability groups and the close associations with the Olympic Movement, it now represents ‘parallel’ and ‘Olympic’ to illustrate how the two movements exist side by side.”
So while they’ve changed the meaning of it recently, it’s fairly understandable that people would still think it derives from paraplegic.
“The word Paralympic was originally a pun combining ‘paraplegic’ and ‘Olympic’, however with the inclusion of other disability groups and the close associations with the Olympic Movement, it now represents ‘parallel’ and ‘Olympic’ to illustrate how the two movements exist side by side.”
So while they’ve changed the meaning of it recently, it’s fairly understandable that people would still think it derives from paraplegic.[/quote]
jeez, did you go searching or that - thats quite pedantic - as I said it was a Jimmy Carr sketch to see what people would say
No I actually sort of knew it. In one of my nerdier moments I did some research a while back on what the word “para” means - as in paratrooper, paraglider, parachute, paraplegic, parallel, paradox, paragraph etc. to see if they’re related.
Turns out it means a load of different shit.
Anyway more having a go at Jimmy Carr than anything. He’s laughing at people for thinking it refers to paraplegic. Well it did so it’s not a million miles from the truth.
[quote=“therock67”]No I actually sort of knew it. In one of my nerdier moments I did some research a while back on what the word “para” means - as in paratrooper, paraglider, parachute, paraplegic, parallel, paradox, paragraph etc. to see if they’re related.
Turns out it means a load of different shit.
Anyway more having a go at Jimmy Carr than anything. He’s laughing at people for thinking it refers to paraplegic. Well it did so it’s not a million miles from the truth.[/quote]
A mate of Jugs, cesc4 and myself from Wexico made an offensive and politically incorrect remark about the Special Olympics at a client dinner a couple of years ago. Himself and a crowd of his colleagues were all promoted together to some new, makey-up role that wasn’t really much different to what they were already doing and upon receiving congratulations on his promotion from one of the clients, he said, ‘In fairness, it’s about as worthwhile as a gold medal in the Special Olympics.’ Cue an awkward silence.
A disappointing lack of updates from Juhniallio so far. I had to listen to Adrian Eames on RTE Radio to get an update yesterday and you’d have to wonder whether Juhniallio’s discriminating against some of the competitors because they’re missing arms and stuff.
My full apologies Bandage. I’ve had some disturbing events in my professional life of late and have sadly been unable to view the ParaOlympics at all. Here’s a few bullet points
-The Opening Ceremony was absolutely amazing.
-The Irish ParaOlympic football team dispatched a Beijing Celtic seven with a fair bit of ease last weekend, 4-2 being the score. I missed the start and was fookin bullin. Nice lads though.
-The Irish set up is fantastic, a superb job done by the ParaOlympics Ireland.
-We have a load of tickets for the Ireland versus GB game this friday, which will be a super occasion.
-I’ll be attending some of that murderball next week end.
-The original chinese word for the ParaOlympics translated as ‘useless cripple’ and was changed.
-Rangers took a fooking pasting from Beijing Celtic at the weekend. The hoops beat the all orange sporting Beijing huns 12-0 and I scored my first ever 11 a side hat-trick. Two of them were peaches. Absolutely delighted as I’d begun to wonder if it would ever happen, I’m the wrong side of thirty now so the thought had crossed my mind it might not…
Once again, apologies, I’ll try to get up to scratch for the rest of the games.
I accept your apologies Juhniallio and congratulate you on your hat-trick. Yer man Adrian Eames mentioned how impressive the Opening Ceremony was all right, except it came out a bit wrong and he said something like, ‘A wonderful spectacle even if it was only the Paralympics and not the real thing.’ I laughed anyway. Tell me this, they were on about some sport (?) on the radio that the Irish were doing well in. Can’t remember what it was and I’d never heard of it before. It seemed to be a man versus man sport and the scores were typically 4-2 or 3-1 or of that ilk. Please investigate for me. It had about 6 letters in its name.