The Pretend Fitness 2 - the Turkish Get Up Thread

No I went up left and parked down further. Took the soft option today… It’s about 3hrs if you park in the closest car park.

The highlight was seeing a couple walking a goat, this was a first. He was casually trotting along full harness like you’d see on a dog.

You must have been going at a nice clip

The January gym merchants out in full force today. There was one lad today who nearly snapped his breastbone on the bench as he had 100kg on the bar. He tamely walked out after with tail between his legs, which I presume was his prolapsed anus from the fright and humbling he must have got.

What took the cake though was this couple. She was in your standard gym girl apparel whereas yer man was in a thick hoody and baggy tracksuit. He was getting in everyone’s way recording yer wan doing her sets from different angles. Every single set. This girl looked nothing like an influencer I might add. You might ask, here Scorpio mind your own fucking business ya prick, and you’d be right but these 2 were wandering around every area of the gym it would be hard to not notice them, let alone the fella doing nothing except record her. They’d do a set here and a set there and in effect deprive others of going to a machine or area because they were hogging so much. Thankfully today was back and biceps for me so I wasn’t too interfered with it bar them getting in the way of the dumbbell rack.

They’re a different breed.

Bastards.

Only consolation was there were also a few big lads and a few young lads with the head down getting after it. I hope they’re still going this time next month. First month is always the hardest.

The videoing in gyms has accelerated to epidemic levels. It’s quite amusing to watch once they don’t get in your way. Women are gone shtone mad to build glutes and that’s to be applauded.

A few women train them 5-6 times a week.

And it shows

The arse machine is a great bit of kit, It has improved my parkrun time immeasurably

Nothing like Bulgarian split squats at the end of a murderous leg day to humble the life out of you. I was making noises of utter filth at the end of my sets.

I did a few light sets myself today with 22.5s … 3 sets of 7 only but done a nice squatting session before them.

On the 20s myself until failure, something magical staring at yourself in the mirror going through an adrenaline fueled hell.

FFS I’d need an instructor to remember that

What really finishes a nice leg session is walking lunges… 10 out/ 10 back x 3 with 40-50kg . I hate them but love them

Aye must add that the next time I fix up my program. Strongest, but most unassuming lad in our gym is always flat out doing laps around the gym doing them.

Weights are the only job when you get older, Running is for mugs, my knees are fucked from it, All those years wasted

The weighted sled sorts men from the boys. Inertia is your enemy.

Go lighter and do a temp 3 seconds lower one second pause to mix it up.

#timeundertension

Pretend runner to pretend lifter, how easy is that :joy:

Those over 40 who regularly resistance train look younger, feel better, live longer and are much less likely to develop serious illness.

Ah now. You’ve nothing to regret. You really expressed yourself.