The lads are right about the technique aspect, it’s also a bit dangerous benching and doing squats with no on around to spot you.
For the sake of arhuing the other side, the convenience of your own setup makes it far more likely that you’ll stick to a program and develop the routine/habit that will actually make a difference to you in the long run. I know lads who trained like demons for 6 weeks under a personal trainer, and completely fell out of the habit once that structure was gone.
While weight is expensive and you have to keep buying more to keep progressing, you could get a pretty decent set for the price of 12 months gym membership. In terms of ending up with an expensive clothes horse, you’re equally if not more likely to eventually stop bothering with the gym. And at the end of the day it’s easy to sell your weights if you want to, your gym membership fee is gone.
Comes down to yourself really though. It’s all about what you’re likely to stick to.
Excellent fenway. Fair play that is outstanding. Is that a PB for 10 mile?
Just after my LSD run this morning. Pleased to have it over but disappointed with time.
I try to run even splits as thats the key to running an efficient race. this was a tough course as you are basically climbing from miles 6-9. With that in mind, i tried to bank some time during first half of race.
I lost 30 secs in mile 9, but most lads would have lost time on that mile.
To be honest, I only do about 3 races a year. If I did more, my pacing would definitely improve.
Anyone here compete in any duathlons? There’s one in 6 weeks time that I’m thinking of entering.
5km run - 40km cycle - 10km run.
I wouldn’t see the bike leg as much of a problem, I’m cycling over 100km a week as it is in the evenings. Could surely manage one big effort. My run would be slow though, mainly down to a dodgy back. I only manage 1 or 2 runs a week because of this.
Any idea of what sort of times I should be aiming at?
I’ve done a couple, very badly. The averages for the run seem to be around 4m per km and the bike around 1:40 minutes for a km - these were over shorter distances and I was well back from these as well.
Who does a bit of cycling on here?
Do ye have any training plans? I’ve been at it most of the summer. Usually go out for a 3 x 15mile spins in the evenings after work and maybe a 25-30 mile spin at the weekend. I’d presume speed depends on the type of bike too?
Well a better bike is easier to ride and the lighter it is the better if you are going up hills especially. The best thing to aid speed on a bike is a decent pair of wheels rather than the frame.
You can’t just dive in and start riding fast, need to build up strength over time. I’d hardly put the bike onto a big gear until May usually. If you tip away in the winter and build up a base then it will stand to you. Locke probably has a plan. He races with Sean Kelly now:)