The Rugby Thread (Part 1)

That was manifested in the amount of die-hard rugby football fans who either 1) didn’t realise the game was on at all, 2) didn’t realise the game wasn’t on free to air television or 3) didn’t make any plans to watch it on a stream or in a venue which had access to the relevant TV channel but who were all over social media in the aftermath raging about RTE not showing it.

how many of the die hard football fans that were in France made it to the georgia game pal? Im supposed to be keeping a log of the attendances here myself and @rocko are going to do an excel table. Will I just mark it down as a sell out? WC qualifier surely was?

There is nothing wrong with private schools.

I can’t make any exact claims as I don’t have access to information collated on an individual level but I estimate that the majority of die-hard supporters of the Irish international team who travelled to the Euros in France were also at the Georgia qualifier game.

I see what you did there pal you canny fucker. You did have the detail of the die hard rugby fans who annoyed you though on an individual level? You must have had sure.

What are you blathering on about, pal? I never mentioned anything about being annoyed.

I almost feel sorry for that Jobless fuck gilgamboa

he was on cloud 9 that the west brits bet the Kiwis but now he is all deflated when a few people pointed some home truths out to him

your seething mate. Its pretty clear.

*you’re.

Did you miss the letters to the national newspapers, tweets to RTE / RTE Sport, articles on clickbait sites and so on from the rugby football fanatics who didn’t see the game?

Didnt miss them as I didnt go looking for them. its pretty easy to avoid this stuff if you want to pal. If it interferes with your zen state you should just steer clear.

Mcgregor is in action soon as well if you wish I can give you a checklist of actions to take to avoid that blather as well.

That’s an ambiguous post, mate. Didn’t miss them implies you may have seen them but didn’t go looking for them suggests that you may not have seen this type of stuff. Only easy to avoid in this instance if you don’t read national newspapers and don’t use social media what with sponsored posts on facebook, promoted tweets, retweets, letter pages, comment pieces etc. There’s been plenty of folk very upset about not seeing the game but who didn’t know it was on and/or feel the need to make some plans in advance to watch it.

No didnt see much of it. Saw few lads on here pissing and moaning about it not being on RTE alright but I know from past experience they wouldnt be “die hards” as you described them.

Maybe my timeline is more populated with people who really do enjoy rugby and knew the match was on and did make plans to see it. I think that is a feature of social media. You can tailor the experience so that you interact mainly with people with similar interests to yourself. Is that a possibility mate? So maybe my timeline contains some actual die hards who had no need to complain.

your timeline on the other hand contained probably a lot of Wexford GAA, Celtic, Man City & WWF supporters. Many of whom may only have had a passing interest in the game and as a result didn’t make the requisite plans to see the game. So the description of those folks as die hards is what I would describe as misleading and possibly deliberately so on your behalf.

There wouldn’t be if it they weren’t partly funded by the Govt.

Writing on the ESPN Scrum website today, former New Zealand international prop Craig Dowd has criticised New Zealand for their choice of haka against Ireland at Soldier Field, calling it “disrespectful”. In memory of the late Anthony Foley, Ireland faced the All Black ritual in a figure 8.

Dowd finds fault with the choice of haka performed by the World Champions, rather than the performance of a ritual.

The haka performed on Saturday was the ‘Kapa O Pango’, whereas Dowd believes a more fitting choice would have been the ‘Ka Mate’ haka. Dowd elucidates the differences between both dances in the piece. The Ka Mate haka is usually used to honour a warrior, and Dowd believes it very different to the more “aggressive challenge” of the Kapa O Pango, which closer resembles a battle cry.

Well we know what Haka will be performed on Friday night in Thomond Park.

I think you’re deliberately misinterpreting my post and being (dare I say it) a little disingenuous and mischievous in outlining your understanding of how social media works, mate. Even tailored social media profiles allow promoted / sponsored content through which the user often has no interest in following / reading themselves. Aside from that, I don’t have any control over the letters page of the Irish Times for example. Comment on the broadcasting arrangements for last Saturday’s friendly from disaffected fanatics were fairly prevalent within print, social and broadcast media but well done on successfully screening it from yourself for the most part. No need for the dig at the likes of @Horsebox and @iron_mike in your first paragraph either.

But you can decide not to read a specific letter in the IT about the rugby if you wish. Unless I’m missing something?

Im not on facebook so that certainly limits my exposure to cuntish behaviour for starters and I absolutely didnt notice any promoted/sponsored tweets about the match not being on RTE? What would a tweet like that be promoting? Humour me here? Im just not sure any “fanatics” as you describe them, or “die hards” really didn’t know the match wasnt on RTE. My own father wasnt one bit pleased that the match wasnt on the telly. But he wouldn’t have been able to name three of the team so I dont think he would have fallen into the fanatic category. he would certainly have said to me Sunday morning though “did you see the match” if it had been on RTE. Id describe him as a casual fan. Perhaps you could maybe re categorise some of the disaffected in your timeline to casual supporters and it would make a bit more sense to me.

You see I also think you were being a little bit disingenuous and mischevious when you made your first post about the die hards which is why I engaged with you on it.

As for @iron_mike and @Horsebox . I wouldnt be a rugby snob & I have no idea about the lads interest in rugby but they were willing to engage reasonably on the subject so I have no issue whatsoever with them. In fact it was a pleasant surprise to have someone on here to engage in discussion with about a rugby game.

I might not be a die hard fan like @gilgamboa or certainly not as knowledgable as him. But that’s his privilege and he’s entitled to it. And for the record
I didn’t complain about the fact that it wasn’t on RTE. I saw the game.
The difference is that I will also watch the soccer match on Saturday and will shout for Ireland. Unlike yourself and @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy I don’t pick which Irish teams I follow. I might not hold a whole lot of interest on some sports but I am glad to hear it when they do well. Yourself and @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy are perfect examples of class bullies. Trying to pollute threads with shite just to get a like or a reaction. Instead of just leaving those who want to talk about it do just that. Now I’ve had a quick look at the Austria v Ireland thread and in fairness to you and others, your knowledge is pretty admirable and I applaud you for that. I haven’t gone through the full thread but I haven’t seen any posts trying to belittle or degrade the game. And if we win or draw I will be just as happy as I was to see our rugby team win on Saturday. But that’s just me. By luck or misfortune I happen on be Irish. You seem to be Irish when it suits you

I stopped discussing rugby on TFK early in my posting career here as you normally only get the childish carry on of the likes of @ChocolateMice screaming about rugby only being popular in 10 countries while pulling the stomach off himself over a sport that is only played in one country.

For the record I played the game for club and school for a few years and retain a healthy interest in the game while at the same time detesting the coverage it gets in Ireland as well as most of the “fans” who follow it.

You’re being a bit obtuse here, mate. I’ll break it down for you - I used “die-hards” in a mocking way in that these individuals actually missed the game through a mixture of ignorance or not making arrangements to see it. Yet a cohort of them became belatedly enraged by the lack of RTE coverage once they were informed by balls.ie, Lovin’ Dublin and facebook comments from 21-45 year old women in the ABC1 category that this was the “greatest result in Irish history”. Some of them took to writing letters to the national papers and tweeting their anger to the national broadcaster and so on because they missed it. They were “die-hards”, you see, and they never miss a game.

I’ll take your point on the letters’ page on board - I could maybe cover any correspondence about rugby football with my hand until I’m ready to move onto the next page.