i believe this game wasnt a sell out
what was the reason for that pukey?
i believe this game wasnt a sell out
what was the reason for that pukey?
[quote=“north county corncrake”]i believe this game wasnt a sell out
what was the reason for that pukey?[/quote]
I would say a number of reasons NCC…The recession, the bad weather, christmas only a few weeks away or maybe the game iself and availability of tickets wasn’t marketed to a high enough standard…
But that is all pure speculation…Why don’t you e mail the IRFU for an official response
How is it…i just don’t like the man, always felt he came across as bit of a twat and i never liked his style of play…
I suppose it is tribal racism that you don’t like brian lohan or other members of this forum don’t like frank lampard and john terry etc…
[quote=“The Puke”]I would say a number of reasons NCC…The recession, the bad weather, christmas only a few weeks away or maybe the game iself and availability of tickets wasn’t marketed to a high enough standard…
But that is all pure speculation…Why don’t you e mail the IRFU for an official response[/quote]
but i thought they were great sport fans down in limerick?
doesnt say much when the west brits rogbee boys cant sell out an international in a small dumpy little ground
[quote=“The Puke”]How is it…i just don’t like the man, always felt he came across as bit of a twat and i never liked his style of play…
I suppose it is tribal racism that you don’t like brian lohan or other members of this forum don’t like frank lampard and john terry etc…[/quote]
Not going to get into an arguement about it but lets just leave it at you’re not the first munster man I met who hated humphries.
I don’t want an arguement mac but i think it is rich to say it is tribal racism because i don’t like/rate a player…
From RTE.ie
Ireland have added 11 players to the squad for the next game in the Guinness series against New Zealand in Croke Park.
The match 22 from the Canada game have remained in camp and will be joined by the additional players in the squad ahead of the game with the All-Blacks
The players added to the squad are: Cian Healy, Malcolm O’Kelly, Ryan Caldwell, Denis Leamy, Girvan Dempsey, Geordan Murphy, Andrew Trimble, Ian Dowling, Bob Casey, Bernard Jackman and Tomas O’Leary.
With the fearsome All-Blacks up next weekend at Croke Park, Kidney is expected to make a raft of changes, with some of his starlets seemingly certain to make way.
But the coach, who won two Heineken Cups for Munster before taking the Ireland job, admits he has plenty to think about.
‘One of the things we set out to do over the last three weeks was to build a panel. Those younger players have come into that and they took an opportunity well,’ he said.
'But there are a lot of fellows who didn’t get on to the pitch who are going well in training too.
‘We’ll just review the video and see what the mix is going forward, but at least the size of the panel now is getting bigger, and when you have that competition for places it’s always good for players.’
He added: 'It increases the number of players looking for places, so in some ways it makes it (selection) slightly more difficult, but in a good way, because if you have that competition it can give an edge to training that can allow you to prepare better for the next Saturday
Surprised to see leamy being added seeing as he has yet to play this season…
Can’t see there being a raft of changes, hayes will come into the front row, wallace will come into the back row, while possibly quinlan
or geordan murphy might come into the team also or possibly rory best…
Hayes and Wallace are certain starters - do you think Heaslip or Jennings will lose out?
Quinlan might lose out to Ferris but he’ll probably get the bench.
O’Leary should come onto the bench but he’s not likely to win his first cap against the All Blacks so don’t see it happening.
Not sure about Best or Murphy. You can make a case for both of them but they’re tight calls.
I presume Leamy’s there as a training exercise more than anything. No point in introducing him to the lineout for the first time at the 6 Nations.
[quote=“therock67”]Hayes and Wallace are certain starters - do you think Heaslip or Jennings will lose out?
Quinlan might lose out to Ferris but he’ll probably get the bench.
O’Leary should come onto the bench but he’s not likely to win his first cap against the All Blacks so don’t see it happening.
Not sure about Best or Murphy. You can make a case for both of them but they’re tight calls.
I presume Leamy’s there as a training exercise more than anything. No point in introducing him to the lineout for the first time at the 6 Nations.[/quote]
Just for pendantrys sake, TOL has already won an Irish cap, the tour to Argentina before the last WC, albeit as a sub on the wing.
Yea TOL wont be tossed to the AB’s, again, I refer you to one John McWeeney, lest we forget.
When is the All Blacks vs Munster B team match on?
tuesday week…the 18th…Tickets are unbelievably scarce…managed to lay my hands on 1…
I was in Thomond saturday night, the crowd was a massive disapointment. Weather was shite alright but FFS how many times will you get to see Ireland playing in Limerick.
Thought the performance was pretty good considering the conditions. Unless you were there it is impossible to explain exactly how bad it was raining, I was in the West stand and all of a suddden it counded like someone was battering the back of the stand, about 5 seconds later the sheets of water started coming down on the pitch. Thornley said in the IT today that Earls was the only back who came out for the second half without a bodywarmer on, hardy little fook! Id say his old fella who kick his arse if he saw him wearing one!
The back 3 was excellent overall, Kearney impresses me every time I see him Bowe was great too, an option for 13 id say too, might make sense to swap himself and Fitz for the argie match just to have a looksee.
Shane Horgan had a stormer when he came on, might have played his way back in! First time Iv actually praised him since the Ire Eng game in Croker, which is the day I think his form deserted him for some reason.
On the Sir David Humphreys issue, Im a litte torn. He was a great player for Ireland and he comes out of ROG book very well. Seems to have been a positive influence on ROG career which is good.
He was a quality player no doubt. Mac makes the point that he inspired Ulster to a HEC win which is a valid point. He was outstanding for them alright. But a lot of the credit must be given to Simon mason for the win, he was fuckin lethal kicker, which Humphreys wasnt. Id go so far as to say Ulster carried Mason as a passenger to that win because they needed him to kick.
Humphreys was nowhere near the standard of goalkicker that ROG is. I remember though SDH lording it against Toulouse in the quarters got s couple of drop goals and got a cracker try in the semis against Stade where he chipped and caught from halfway. I also remember though him sliding off a load of tackles and virtually waving many the attacker through rather than put the body on the line. I remember particulalry once about 5 years ago in Musgrave Pk he used to slot in on the wing on Munster ball and let Maggs go in 10 for him to do the tackling. That is fookin ridiculous shite for a professional rugy player, you are either playing or your not.
ROG isnt a particulalry good defender but its not for the want of effort, cant ever remember him bottling his defensive duties in that manner.
Time wil tell I guess but while Humphreys was good, he wont be judged in the same league as ROG.
My team for the AB game
Kearney
Bowe
Fitz
BOD
Horgan
ROG
Reddan
Hayes
Flannery
Horan
DOC
POC
Ferris
Heaslip
Wallace
Buckley, Best, Quinlan, Jennings, O’Leary, Wallace & Earls
Wouldnt be surprised to see a 5/2 split though. Any chance MOK might get back in?
My team for the AB match
[quote=“dancarter”]My team for the AB game
Kearney
Bowe
Fitz
BOD
Horgan
ROG
Reddan
Hayes
Flannery
Horan
DOC
POC
Ferris
Heaslip
Wallace
Buckley, Best, Quinlan, Jennings, O’Leary, Wallace & Earls
Wouldnt be surprised to see a 5/2 split though. Any chance MOK might get back in?
My team for the AB match[/quote]
was thinking along the same lines myself…earls dropping out with one of murphy/horgan/dempsey coming in…
Possibly stringer keeping his place on the bench(i wouldn’t have him there but kidney might)…
[quote=“The Puke”]was thinking along the same lines myself…earls dropping out with one of murphy/horgan/dempsey coming in…
Possibly stringer keeping his place on the bench(i wouldn’t have him there but kidney might)…[/quote]
I think we’re short a centre, don’t think Luke has the experience or range to play there (yet). I think that the decision on centre will affect the make up of the back 3, wouldn’t be surprised to see Girvan start with Kearney, Geordan on the wings and Bowe at 12/13.
Also think that we need to go toe to toe with McCaw at the breakdown, so I’d have Jennings at 7 with Heaslip and Wallace at 8 and 6.
The only other major decision concerns who starts at hooker, think we need Flannery to start there personally.
I’d have TOL on the bench, Strings was poor when he came off the bench and I think Reddan can be really ponderous at times, he gives the defence a long time to set up and his communication with the receiver seems poor. Seriously does he have a hearing problem because he always seems to be looking for his receiver? He also seems to be suffering a bit from the Boss crab disease.
WBY
Don’t think we can risk too many changes like bringing Bowe into centre. Long term that could be an option but we haven’t seen him in a playmaking role before and while he has nailed down his angles of running at wing he might find centre a very different proposition.
Before his cameo on Saturday I’d have been disappointed to see Horgan involved but there’s certainly a case for him now. To be honest I think we need to take them on in broken field though and I’d be hoping it’s either Earls or Murphy who plays with Kearney and Bowe.
Up front Best v Flannery is a tight call. I’d probably go for Flannery on the basis that the lineout did well on Saturday and he’s the more dynamic of the two players.
My team:
Murphy
Bowe
Fitzgerald
BOD
Kearney
ROG
Reddan
Hayes
Flannery
Horan
DOC
POC
Ferris
Heaslip
Wallace
Buckley, Best, O’Kelly, Quinlan, O’Leary, Wallace & Horgan
Also think that O’Kelly will get back into the second row slot on the bench.
if that is the team then it looks like munster would be able to field a team something like
howlett
horgan
tipoki
mafi
dowling
warwick
stringer
melck
o sullivan
leamy
ryan
o driscoll
puciarello
sheahan
hurley/ryan
tisn’t too bad on paper, whether the pack would be able to compete i would have my doubts…would I be right in presuming that any of the lads that start this match won’t figure against argintina the folowing saturday
Dempsey
Bowe
Fitzgerald
O’Driscoll
Kearney
O’Gara
Reddan
Horan
Best
Hayes
O’Callaghan
O’Connell
Ferris
Jennings
Heaslip
That’s yer team, right there.
[quote=“therock67”]Don’t think we can risk too many changes like bringing Bowe into centre. Long term that could be an option but we haven’t seen him in a playmaking role before and while he has nailed down his angles of running at wing he might find centre a very different proposition.
Before his cameo on Saturday I’d have been disappointed to see Horgan involved but there’s certainly a case for him now. To be honest I think we need to take them on in broken field though and I’d be hoping it’s either Earls or Murphy who plays with Kearney and Bowe.
Up front Best v Flannery is a tight call. I’d probably go for Flannery on the basis that the lineout did well on Saturday and he’s the more dynamic of the two players.
My team:
Murphy
Bowe
Fitzgerald
BOD
Kearney
ROG
Reddan
Hayes
Flannery
Horan
DOC
POC
Ferris
Heaslip
Wallace
Buckley, Best, O’Kelly, Quinlan, O’Leary, Wallace & Horgan
Also think that O’Kelly will get back into the second row slot on the bench.[/quote]
I have that feeling about O’kelly myself. BTW, Bowe has played as much at 13 for ospreys this season as on the wing, he also played a good stretch of last season in the centre for Ulster so its not like it would be a complete springer
Its a fairly shite enough line up no matter what way you jig it. Maybe we can get a another Aussie to sign for us. Or an Italian prop.
Dan how did argentina get on against france at the weekend do you know…they have a great record on french soil…didn’t see any mention of it on any paper