The Rugby Thread (Part 1)

Or an intercounty minor dual player who goes to college and ends up playing for 14 different teams with nobody to manage his workload only himself. Serious committment to a sport costs you elsewhere in life. That’s a fact.

Well it’s a better way to treat young aspiring players than your beloved Chelsea.

I care about these young men being used and abused by a horrible association.

Entry fee?

The majority of both the Munster and Leinster squads have degrees or are studying for one.

Dan Leavy just completed his UCD degree in Business and Law, which would be one of the more prestigious and high points degrees there, inside the 4 year timeframe and has just been capped by Ireland. Rory O’Loughlin who touched down on Friday for Leinster is doing the same course. Garry Ringrose the same. Adam Byrne who started on the wing is doing Engineering. Luke McGrath commerce at UCD.

I could go on…all Academy or recent graduates from the academies who are excelling for Leinster.

It’s difficult but plenty get it done. As you say repeatedly on here, people dropping out of college after a year is an Irish problem generally.

Exactly loads do it. Rory scannell is finished a finance degree and he’s 22, and has one full season of first team rugby behind him so not even luxury of academy.

Jack O donaghue is in UL and he’s in final year (if not finished) a degree in industrial biochemistry. Again this is a fella who’s had a much heavier training load than the academy guys as he’s been in senior squads for a few seasons

So you are forcing lads to take up a business degree or nothing at all? Disgusting.

Your so cross your not even reading the responses anymore. Industrial biochemistry isn’t a business degree fam

Ballsy guys

Niall Breslin was in my BCOMM class in UCD, combined that with his rugby football commitments with Leinster and he turned out grand.

So one guy managed to nearly kill himself doing a non biz related degree? One out of a few thousand - and you condone this? Shame on you.

How did he nearly kill himself cuz?

Anyways. Forget about it. Your acting weird again.

I just gave you a chap doing Engineering in UCD who started on Friday night, Adam Byrne. Captain of the Ireland under 20s last year Nick McCarthy, who has also played for Leinster of late, is doing the same.

We’ve also given you several studying law in addition to business.

Overall it would seem to be a decent cross section of study. Some do sports management type courses but plenty all over the country do courses which are a ball of shite.

Why are you so concerned anyway? You’re the guy who said the Leaving Cert doesn’t matter anyway and most young people would be better off not going to college these days.

Do you seriously think I read half the posts in here?

I’m here to stamp out the abuse, pal.

Depends on the selection. Is it 1 day or 2. I would be in with a chance of getting venue for very little or nothing. Aomewhere between 50 & 100 per day i would suggest. I would like aomething like 65.

Did he play with Westmeath Under Paidi those years ???

He used that B Comm pretty well all told. The formal education never blunted the entrepreneurial spirit.

Before the steroids.

Hartley gets a token 6 week ban which means he’s available for all of England’s 6 nations games.

Vindication for lapsed poster @Fagan_ODowd who said they’d sweep this thuggery under the carpet because he is the England captain.

Joke of a decision. Should’ve been 6 months.