The Saturday/Sunday Game Thread

It’s pretty bad when you’d nearly yearn for McStay back over Wheely Bin & TOS.

Both jobs are relatively unimportant in the greater scheme of things .

thomas o se is an allright sort with a deep love of cork football
thoughts on this @caoimhaoin
this had me a bit sentimental yesterday
will we ever see the like of Larry again?

i need to find the full article
i bought it yesterday, wonderful anecdote with Larry when did his hamstring v meath in 88 at CF, Billy just told him go play midfield and he came off with a leg black and blue from his arse to his ankle as cork fought out a draw
a tough man
they were some games v meath @caoimhaoin

those 2 games in 88 were unreal, the olympics on in seoul at the same time,savage intensity

I didn’t read the article yesterday so not sure doea it get into this but Larry went from one end of the county to the next looking for a doctor to give him a cortisone injection to play the replay. Nobody would do it because his leg was obviously clean fucked. A vet from West cork who played football for cork at a later date gave him the jab for a finish I believe.

He kicked 7 or 8 points in the replay. One tough fucker. He turned out awful weird though. I suppose he wasnt true cork

Au contraire, mon ami. If anything, he was more Cark, the fucking headcase.

Ya i agree. Larry has more time for Cork and in particular Cork football than most.

Unbelievable. And due to my age and ability to be influenced thats the standard i have had for Cork teams since.
There are a few things that stand out.

• Cork had a couple of freak u21 teams in the previous 10 years. Best of all time contenders. Absolutely full of class players.
  • They added Larry. Now people think they stole him, but Larry came to Cork via New York. It was ge pyshed it once he met the Collins brothers. Not the otger way around. And on my level of rumour/fact/nonsense scale thats L1.
  • Billy Morgan. Absolutely years ahead of his time. But whatever about his coaching skills, his ability to use everything he had available was uncanny. There is no way John o’Driscoll, Paul McGrath, John Cleary or Teddy Mac would be brought thru the present system. Cork football has an unbelievably bad habit of looking at what a player cannot do rather than what he can do. Billy bucked that trend. He didn’t care where they came from either. West Cork was ignored for a long time. He changed all that.

If either them or Meath came along on their own they would be up there with any team includong this Dublin one. In fact you’d be fairly comfident of them beating this Dublin side. So would Meath. As they would both be exactly what anmoys this Dublin team.

Like they simply had some of the classiest players in my lifetime.
Kerins was superb.
Stevie O’Brien, Mick Slocum, Tony Davis. I mean what a half back line.
Up front then you had Larry who was just an outragoys footballer but also had as described an unbelievable will. Larrys great failing as a manager was the fact that he never got past the part where everyone is like himself. Other than that he actually has a fair bit of an idea. But he was just obsessed with “no pain no gain”

The “sunburn” story about Larry.

that point to draw the all ireland semi final at the death v galway in 1987 was unreal, i remember the replay there been no electricity, either it cut off as we couldnt pay the bill or there was a powercut but us sitting out in the car in the sun listening to it , the clash in jerseys was desperate and Galway wearing maroon shorts with Val Daly running around,

go out to 2:27 for some serious roaster in the crowd and then the free

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5zmjJXkykg

didnt Larry go to Old Trafford for treatment between the 1988 games for the hamstring? Tommy Sugrue rode us in the first match eventaully giving Brian Stafford a 14 yard free to tie it up

Tomas was telling a story on saturday about the day after the 1990 win v Meath and all the team in the burlington having a few pints, Larry called Dr. Con over and said he was sure there was an issue with his knee, Dr, Con apparently gave it a rub and even thru the suit trousers could tell the cruciate was gone, apparently it went with 10 minutes to go and Larry soldiered on, Tomas tells us that the first 60s of pain after doing a cruciate is excruciating (i wonder is where that the word is derived from?) and then it settles down but for him to drive thru this is both insane and shows the type of character on the pitch
it was an unreal team full of hard men, the full back line, Stephen O Brien, Colman Corrigan and Cahalane, animals, that was proper football Dave Barry and Liam Harnan bateing the shite out of each other,. Shea Fahy Vs Mcantee

you can probably remember the 1988 munster final as well @caoimhaoin and the huge row in front of the blackrock end in the pouring rain when Counihan went ape, then Dinny Allen did this
very few kerry fans down the city end , they knew after 87 that it was over for then
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNwZwMIl7C0

What was that? I remember Teddy Mc missing a Munster final because of ‘sunburn’ don’t recall Larry off top of my head

may have been before the 1989 munster final v kerry i think dan

Don’t forget Shay Fahy

Not sure if it was that time or not but wasn’t Larry the first one to wow professional sports trainers with his level of fitness, it began the current trend of patting our GAA players on the back for their professional attitude to an amateur game.
Larry was an awesome footballer but it’s true that he had a fabulous supporting cast.

Think it was a Munster semi final against Kerry, 1992 or possibly even 1991 that Larry had the sun burn.

Definitely after 90 anyway.

I do rememver that.
But i actually remember a while before that, maybe 86/87, Ambrose Donovan was bullying his way around the place and he gave young Teddy a box. Teddy upended him with a kinda rabbit/uppercut punch. Donovan was out cold. Cork players later said it was a bit of a turning point. Put doubt in Kerry players mind about how mentally soft Cork were, as in “not any more”. And who the fuck was this brazen young lad. Ambrose was out cold, they were throwing water on him and all to wake him up.

Larrys point is way better on radio if i remember correctly (small possibility i’m mixing up with Monaghan game but i think its Galway 87). My Dad was in the National Wheelchair sports that weekend so it was one of the rare times we didn’t go, so we listened on radio on the side of CIT track. Micheal gave the “its rising, its still rising” commentary on it. Classic.

Very good player. Its arguable he was more of a “steal”. Nemo were unashamed in that aspect. He was woth them a good while before Cork.

Wasn’t he in the army?

Yip. They got a few lads from there.