Hickey who came on is Emeralds, he did well.
U17 this year too
Great game, all the better for the salty tears of Cathal Moore
You just knew it was going to come down to 1 point after that. He almost got it but in a tight game just take the handy point on offer.
Iâm presuming itâs the fella from the sponsors thatâs looking particularly glum there with his hands in his pockets.
The mentor is a Kilkenny man too, sound skin Niall
![]()
Thought he shouldâve looked to find a man rather than opting for the Hail Mary near the end too. They had a man down injured at the time which may have limited the numbers up the pitch.
Would have pushed it back to a three point game at that stage too. You take the point there every day.
Youâd think heâd give the sponsors a mention
He took a few poor shot options in the second half.
Iâve seen him hanging them regularly for Galway minors and u20s. Youâd admire his balls for going for it.
This Aidan Stakelum is racking up some medal haul.
I was thinking the same thing while watching it.Thank fuck.
Awful watching young lads have any hint of ambition and imagination stifled, which is exactly what the modern coach wants to do. Some contrast between the freedom of lads to express themselves in the hurling game and the way the football was played. That full-forward for Colmans will get a chance to show his ability and will thrive in the new game.
Weâve wrestled the game back from the spoofers lads.
Has there ever been a better game of schools hurling? Canât have been many better All Ireland Finals anyway
A tremendous contest that ebbed and flowed but where ultimately the better team won. Thurles could have been out of sight early on only for some poor finishing. Athenry were getting Niland ready from the 10th minute and youâd wonder why they didnât just bite the bullet and start him. It wasnât great to be taking another lad off inside 20 minutes in an All Ireland without doing much wrong.
When Niland first came in he picked up Murray and Murray won the first ball and swung it over from the Cusack side. The tide started to turn though and somehow Athenry got level by half time. The goal was a bit of a disaster from a Thurles point of view.
After Rossiters opening point from the throw in in the second half the next 10 minutes was another disaster for Thurles. It mostly came from their own puckout where they couldnt win a ball anywhere. They should have changed to going short a bit sooner and they mightnt have ended up 8 points down but anyway. Rabbitte and Murphy along with Niland were really driving it on and the Thurles ship looked to be sinking rapidly.
I thought the great Johnny Murphy gave Thurles a break or two around this point and they took full advantage. Fitzpatrick knocked over a few frees and Rossiter was unbelievable to keep Thurles alive. Robbie Ryan (whoâd been outplayed by Murphy for most of it) fired over a great point before a superb catch low down created another point down under the Hogan Stand. Suddenly Thurles were believing again and Nilandâs decision to go for goal and miss with the scoreline 2-17 to 0-21 proved fatal.
I overheard a South Easht Galway redneck man in his 60âs identify this as the losing of the match on my way out of the stadium. âHe rose the cuntsâ was his simple analysis that @Diabhal would have been proud of.
Murray had some great catches late on and showed leadership beyond his years. Heâs like Noel McGrath, Brendan Maher and Padraic Maher all rolled into one. Himself and Rossiter will be some yokes at Minor this year.
Great win for @glenshane boys in the Football. A totally dominant performance from start to finish under Chrissy McKaigueâs watch. Their first goal was worth the admission fee alone. While at Senior level, Derry seem to have thrown their hats at it of late, under the bonnet they have a conveyor belt coming that most counties would bite their hand off for. It might well be Chrissy himself who has the keys when they finally win Sam again.
Lovely post from a true connoisseur
TFK was ahead of the curve on Paddy Tally. I assumed he was a beaten docket based on what Iâd read on here over the years. Even when Jack Oâ Connor was crediting him as a key cog in the 2022 success for Kerry.
Mad stuff and youâd wonder what that dullard Cathal Moore was at on the line to allow it. It was almost disrespectful to Thurles giving the message Athenry thought they had it won. Thatâll teach them.