The Shame I feel about Dublin as my šŸ capital (and other random cities in videos that Muldoons think is Dublin)

That one used to drink in The Hill when I was a regular. Always came across as a bit of wrong un.
Never saw her in Corrigans, when we decamped there after they turned The Hill into a hipster joint.

Youā€™d wonder why the guards bother at this stage.

This is a reason why Iā€™m not sure of the absolute severe and completely irrational pushback on proposed hate speech laws. It applies to all, so the ā€œfar rightā€ and ā€œfar leftā€ should be equally culpable in what they do, much like your example above. Incitement to riot, not protest, would be part of that no matter what side of some arbitrary right or left a person is on.

It also comes back to a fairly simple thing as well, if you dont act the cunt and dont say hateful shit, then you wont be in bother. This rubbish that you cant criticise the government is bollix. If anything comes out that the likes of that forms it, then fair enough to be against it, but legitimate criticism of the government shouldnt, and isnt hate speech.

Porter in Briodyā€™s :ok_hand::pinched_fingers:
Porter in The Confession Box in comparison :-1:

were your lot not attacking them last week?

I think some of the ā€˜citizen journalistsā€™ were too busy to attack the guards - theyā€™d the phones out filming with one hand and the other hand holding a chicken fillet roll with loads of coleslaw

The outcry when Joan Burton got caught short in her ministerial car because protesters had a sit down protest was as bad as it got. The worst of it all was Gardai going in to court perjuring themselves to get peaceful protesters jailed.

Drew Harris is surely toast after that segment on Prime Time with the GRA guy and the chap from Maynooth University.

Was thinking the same. The rank & file have no time for Harris already (no confidence motion etc) but that GRA rep pretty much said there was no plan to deal with something like last week or coordinated response when things escalated. Guards getting told to report in & where to go via WhatsApp & little direction beyond that. The Maynooth chap has a bang of lefty off him, think Iā€™ve seen him on Twitter, but hard to disagree when he refuted Harrisā€™ talk of the riot being impossible to foresee by mentioning Sandwith Street & other ā€œflashpointsā€.

Drew Harris has never listened to the mid-2000s landfill indie band Kaiser Chiefs.

Who would have thought allowing open drug taking and dealing on one of the countries main streets would lead to a sense of lawlessness.

Harris is there to clean up the corruption. Theyā€™ll bring in a friendlier commissioner once his job is done.

Iā€™ve a pal with a restaurant in town on Aston Quay and heā€™s had dozens of calls pleading to the cops for some response go without much answer.

Open drug deal, crack being smoked, needles thrown on path, his book kepper knocked out middle of the day leaving the premises, people pissing/shitting in front of diners, cunts in swiping tips jar. Collective approach to guards from other similar businesses hasnt resulted in any real meaningful or sustained change or any more visibility of guards in the area. It really is a cesspit in parts at the moment.

Iā€™d wager there are guards whoā€™d be chomping at the bit to be let off the leash and address these cunts in a vigorous manner. But with way court system is and leadership from top brass, doesnā€™t seem the grassroot guards get the support, direction or scope to do as they may see needed

Thereā€™s a lane there between Aston Quay and Wynns that Iā€™d say is one of the worst spots in town. Iā€™d say what goes on there doesnā€™t bear thinking about. Similar lanes between the Abbey Theatre and the Irish Life Building and behind the north side of Talbot St.

Last week I was going into the Stephens Green Centre car park down Glovers Alley adjacent to the RCSI and there were 3 or 4 addicts doing whatever they do with a lighter and tin foil. This is 20 yards from Stephens Green.

Yeah, it really is lawless in patches like there. Horrible altogether

To hark back to my cosy couch republican days, Harris was as much brought in by Charlie Flanagan to wind up Sinn FĆ©in/IRA. Theyā€™ve had to bide their time but thereā€™s an opening now to force him out. I guess thereā€™s been a few notable cases where Gardai have faced charges for criminality &/or corruption alright but any portrayals of Harris as an anti-corruption crusader donā€™t sit easily with me. He was part of senior PSNI management that have consistently stonewalled Historical Enquiries Teams in the north investigating collusion. Blatantly refusing to cooperate, hand over files etc. The murder of Sean Brown who was abducted while locking up h the gates of Bellaghy GAA Club is one of these cases & was back in the spotlight again recently.

Another one that goes behind the AXA building from Upper Abbey street to Mary Street and it is a regular haunt for drug users and some pretty grim stuff goes on

You can see why @Mac wants it bulldozed really

If ever a case summed up the state of the country it is the 12 month suspended sentence yesterday for a man in possession of horrific child abuse material including a child being raped and tortured while another man is in prison for refusing to use pronouns and defying a court order due to his religious beliefs. We are truely living in a simulation.

Yes they should both be in prison