The Smashing Tunes Thread (Part 1)

Iā€™m glad you brought that up. I was about to go rip into him. Sure I only posted it a while back. Stupid fucking bollix

Ye fucking bolloxes, it was only posted once before and that was 18 months ago,
Itā€™s not that great anyway but Wendy James was a teenage wet dream for me.

Use the search function properly you flute of a man.

This has been covered before

Iā€™ll have to redeem myself so
Somebody said the other day tat the Holy Bible was a close to perfect album, I rooted out mine for another listen, this is an acoustic version of my favourite from that
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZrvfLHqlmo

Great album. US version even topped the original.

Didnā€™t realise there was one, that anorexia song I posted is outstanding, the last track on the album (PCP) is another stand out.
Iā€™m not a huge manics fan, love Motorcycle Emptiness obviously but the Holy Bible was their best by a mile for me, when it came out it was exactly what I was in to

@PoisonousMisanthrope

Northside : Shall we take a Trip

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9AShsOgwCG0

Worth checking out the US version. Label thought it was too raw for US market, so they got Tom Lord-Alge to re-mix the album. Band thought theyā€™d hate it. Turned out he made a perfect 10/10 album better. 11/10, if youā€™d believe that.

Manic Street Preachers - She Is Suffering

https://youtube.com/watch?v=OYNwr58V1Pg

The Strokes : Heart in a Cage

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3dyNbMVfeyM

The Hives : Main Offender

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_Ue3PVB4tw

Manic Street Preachers - La Tristesse Durera (Scream to a Sigh)

https://youtube.com/watch?v=zJzwIFyZfck

Smashing Pumpkins pared right back, Billy Corganā€™s voice and the strings.

Spaceboy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tw4iuM1Zjxs

Eliza and the Bear - Friends

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JP1OwRrsjlk

Manuel Gottsching E2-E4. First movement. Recorded in 1981 and considered to be the invention of techno.

http://youtu.be/lUiA0UOKIlc

Long Cool Woman In a Black Dress by The Hollies

Sounds just like Creedence

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1l0xpkk0yaQ

Few Cork lads on here, few more blow ins. Hereā€™s one of my favourite songs from the pride of Bishopstown, this one isnā€™t very well known, itā€™s about an amicable breakup, listen to the lyrics, theyā€™re fantastic

Couldnā€™t find a good online version so this is live
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tYHK8iitUY8

One of the best gigs I was at was his two years ago in the Point

Elton John - Tiny Dancer

http://youtu.be/hoskDZRLOCs

Great tune, I had Elton as the first dance at my wedding
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FP1xQvmbzOg