Wasnāt he whipped off in Nowlan Park before half time in the 2013 qualifier?
You would never have thought then that a 26 year old would go on to such heights.
Wasnāt he whipped off in Nowlan Park before half time in the 2013 qualifier?
You would never have thought then that a 26 year old would go on to such heights.
TJ had a great supporting cast of forwards there 2007-11. He was only given a start in one of the 5 finals Kilkenny featured in during that period though. He was quite enough in the last two finals Kilkenny were in too. Scoreless from play in the 9 point defeat in 2016 and 1 point from play in the 14 point defeat last year.
TJ is Kilkennyās primary ball winner and their main man to win frees also
You could say the same about canning really or Callanan
No you couldnāt. Callanan is a full forward and Canning floats around in space waiting for lads to hand pass him the ball
Hauled off after 20 minutes in that 2013 qualifier scoreless for Ger Aylward.
Yea I remember thinking at the time it was the end of the road for him.
You could say the same about Callanan, he didnāt even start that game
You could.
Callanan played well when he came on in fairness. That was an incredible occasion.
Getting rid of Saturday night qualifiers was some own goal from the GAA in favour of Mickey mouse round robin nonsense.
Fully agree. Some great games on Saturday evenings that summer in particular and 2014.
Both TJ and Joe would make fine centre backs. Seamie would be lost there.
TJ could play centre field. Joe nor Seamie couldnāt.
TJ could play in any position in the forwards. So could Joe. Seamie couldnāt.
TJ could make a shite team look decent. Joe could make himself look great in a shite team. If Seamie was in a shite team heād be lost.
Therefore - TJ wins.
Tipp v Galway in 2014 another great night. Clare v Wexford in Wexford Park.
Waterford v Kilkenny in Thurles in 2017 was the end of an era.
Now we have Dublin handing out pastings to the likes of Roscommon and Cork on every Saturday in July.
What a travesty.
Itās looking like Joe Canning could win this, a bit like when Ryan Giggs won Premier League player of the year award when he was about 40, a lifetime achievement award
Donāt think he featured in the next qualifier against Waterford in 2013 after getting hauled ashore so early against Tipperary. He got about 5 minutes off the bench in the quarter final defeat against Cork, the day Henry was incorrectly sent off.
It was really only in his 8th season in 2014 as he was pushing 27 that he finally established himself as a starter. Thatās not really the pedigree of a hurler that some label the greatest of his generation and an all time great, even if he has been good on the whole these past few years.
Canning is younger
Thatās not the point. Canning has been starting since 2008, Canning has been a starter for longer but he has never hurled as well consistently over seasons as Reid or Callanan have
If I was to choose between the two this year or last it would be Callanan.
Prior to that it would be TJ Reid all day. TJ has obviously been more consistent and has won a lot more medals, but time waits for no man.
Ya I done my Bolox in Waterford that night. Iād a big Double Clare half time /mayo full time In a football qualifier and then Waterford in normal time in the hurling. Iāll never forget it. Iād a date that night that went horribly wrong. I knew then it was time to either stop or get serious.
TJ won a lot of medals as a sub. His first four All Irelands were won as a sub.
Still has them in his pocket though. Sub or not - they count.