The TFK Champions league work out thread

Superman is where you lie flat on your stomach and left your right leg and left arm (or vise virsa) in the air and hold. Some people like to do them with both legs and arms in the air. They are far tougher than they look

Presume the kneeling superman is just a derivative of this where you stretch out one of your legs and opposite arm while your other leg and arm take the weight. Have never tried it this way, must give it a go

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 872976, member: 1137”]Superman is where you lie flat on your stomach and left your right leg and left arm (or vise virsa) in the air and hold. Some people like to do them with both legs and arms in the air. They are far tougher than they look

Presume the kneeling superman is just a derivative of this where you stretch out one of your legs and opposite arm while your other leg and arm take the weight. Have never tried it this way, must give it a go[/quote]
The kneeling ones are the only ones I’ve ever done and are great. Turn the hips a bit til you really feel the core engage, really feel the contraction in the lower core I find.

A great core exercise for this thread as it will allow you watch the game (Kev will probably have a name for it):

Sit on the ground with legs straight out in front of you, feet flat on the ground and hands flat on the ground just out in front of you. Draw the right leg in towards you, knee to chest, and squeeze, hold for a second then straighten the leg; without touching down do a single leg raise, lower to straight leg without touching the ground, repeat the in a squeeze motion. 30 secs on one leg then change over.

Much harder than it sounds/looks.

[quote=“corner back, post: 872855, member: 1572”]I’ve obviously got a bit longer on the road to fit fuck than @Juhniallio. Got up to 25 reps and back down to 20 of each before packing it in as I’d been going for an hour. Still, early days. By the time the world cup comes around I’ll be harder than Noel Hickey.
Cheers @caoimhaoin I presume you do a few reps of the above.
@Juhniallo did you increase the time of the planks with the increased number of push ups etc.
I won’t give any suggestions of sessions here as I haven’t a notion when it comes to core strength work but if anybody wants any sample amateur swim sessions or running cross country for dummies let me know.[/quote]

Ya, maybe as many as you can get to in the first half. Stretch at half time.

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 872976, member: 1137”]Superman is where you lie flat on your stomach and left your right leg and left arm (or vise virsa) in the air and hold. Some people like to do them with both legs and arms in the air. They are far tougher than they look

Presume the kneeling superman is just a derivative of this where you stretch out one of your legs and opposite arm while your other leg and arm take the weight. Have never tried it this way, must give it a go[/quote]

The first thing you described is called a cobra, not a super man.

FFS sake. What a tremendous paragraph. :clap:

[quote=“Juhniallio, post: 872889, member: 53”]Fair play. CB. You wouldn’t believe how quickly you can feel the improvement. I think my own circuit is a bit ab heavy and it probably overworks it. I up the seconds on the plank when it’s 20’s and 25 but do 15 for the shorter reps.

What sort of swim sessions/running do you do?[/quote]

Swimming:
I nearly always do about 60 lengths.
8 warm up easy
2 x 1 all out sprint for 15m and easy to the wall with 30s rest. This is just to get the system going. If you’re not worried about people thinking you look crazy, technique should be completely left aside for these, just go all out mental.
After that I do 48 lengths divided whatever way you want on different days.
16x3
6x8
3x16
4x12
30s break between each, reducing break to 20s as you improve.

To keep it interesting and maintain an effort you should time these to make sure each interval is roughly the same time. You can also see improvements.

After that I’d usually do 4 easy lengths warm down, with 2 backstroke (for your posture) and 2 frontcrawl.

The odd time I’d just do the 60 straight off, but this can be very mundane and not very helpful for technique.

If I had loads of time you could throw in a few 4 length technique sets like
swimming using just one arm
catch-up (one hand touches other out front before start next stroke),
just kicking,
increase number of strokes between breaths
try to decrease strokes per length (less strokes means more efficient swimming)

My running is nearly all endurance stuff really:
I’d go for a long 10 mile run most Sundays or do a few laps including hills in local parkland
I’ve lost a lot of my fitness since new arrival in August but earlier in year I used to do interval training with local club who are open to mediocre runners like me. They’d do interval training usually,
e.g 6x800m 90s breaks,
8x400m,
400,600,800m,1km,800m,400m

[ATTACH=full]960[/ATTACH]

Extending this to the UEFA…

Firing these lads around the living room here. If I didnt sleep last night… ill fucking well sleep tonight.

Nearly broke one of my toes when Soldado scored such was the shock…

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 873199, member: 686”][ATTACH=full]960[/ATTACH]

Extending this to the UEFA…

Firing these lads around the living room here. If I didnt sleep last night… ill fucking well sleep tonight.

Nearly broke one of my toes when Soldado scored such was the shock…[/quote]
Is that straw on your living room floor? #animal

Hit this again tonight lads in an attempt to launch a preemptive strike on my christmas indulgence. The up to 25 and back without the burpees. It’s a winner.

bumped for @flattythehurdler; re the core exercises from Kev