The TFK Champions league work out thread

As we know, this site is populated by a tonne of lads, most of whom watch as much sport as possible, some of whom are addicted to exercise and/or posting their workouts/supposed workouts.

Here’s the deal. I have decided to utilise at least half of each champion’s league game I watch to do a match friendly work out. This thread is for people who fancy doing likewise to post their versions, I look forward to trying them. @kev I beseech you to design one for us.

My first one involved press-ups, sit ups, planks and lying on my back with my legs ten inches off the ground and then lifting them to about a foot off the ground alternately. 5 times each(15 secs for plank), then ten times each(15 sec plank), 15/20/25/20/15/10/5 times. Did it during Ireland’s glorious rugby match on Sunday. Hurts enough. but you get to see most of the football.

I will be doing it for any football games I get to see. The aim is to turn this forum into a hard as fuck bunch of fit fucks, six packs all round.

Also, make em understandable, no Kiev sidewise pikes, no istanbul lat grinds, no Viennese vertigo headdrops and fucking no mention of lads trying to wrench clamps off cars as a strength exercise.

Who’s up? Kev? 40 mins max and tv friendly.

Well @Juhniallio, any TV work out during tonight’s game?

Three courses in the greedy goose in malahide. Crab claws, pork belly and scallops. The brother was babysitting so i’ve just had a drink with him. Hitting the hay now but I’m off to the land of o dowd at 6.30am. That’s a fucking workout.

[quote=“Juhniallio, post: 866265, member: 53”]As we know, this site is populated by a tonne of lads, most of whom watch as much sport as possible, some of whom are addicted to exercise and/or posting their workouts/supposed workouts.

Here’s the deal. I have decided to utilise at least half of each champion’s league game I watch to do a match friendly work out. This thread is for people who fancy doing likewise to post their versions, I look forward to trying them. @kev I beseech you to design one for us.

My first one involved press-ups, sit ups, planks and lying on my back with my legs ten inches off the ground and then lifting them to about a foot off the ground alternately. 5 times each(15 secs for plank), then ten times each(15 sec plank), 15/20/25/20/15/10/5 times. Did it during Ireland’s glorious rugby match on Sunday. Hurts enough. but you get to see most of the football.

I will be doing it for any football games I get to see. The aim is to turn this forum into a hard as fuck bunch of fit fucks, six packs all round.

Also, make em understandable, no Kiev sidewise pikes, no istanbul lat grinds, no Viennese vertigo headdrops and fucking no mention of lads trying to wrench clamps off cars as a strength exercise.

Who’s up? Kev? 40 mins max and tv friendly.[/quote]

Not a bad plan.

Im on the market for a second hand projector for the garage. Once its setup im in.

A few kettle bell exercises would work well too.

[quote=“Juhniallio, post: 866265, member: 53”]As we know, this site is populated by a tonne of lads, most of whom watch as much sport as possible, some of whom are addicted to exercise and/or posting their workouts/supposed workouts.

Who’s up? Kev? 40 mins max and tv friendly.[/quote]
Signing in. Fantastic idea.

Have put on a few pounds and lost a lot of fitness since little fella born in august. Have stemmed the flow somewhat by buying a turbo trainer for bike and borrowing box set of Breaking Bad from my mother*. The core is weak as water though so if anybody could throw up a few easily understood telly friendly exercises as described above it would be great.

*my mother is one cool granny

If I ever bother watching a soccer match I usually have a bottle a beer. I’m very fit altogether so this is another approach you might want to consider.

@glasagusban please make your way back to the fitness thread. We have no place for blowhards here. As you should have read, this forum is for modest, sport-loving hard as fuck wannabe fit fucks

Jeez you try to help some people.

Right, chaps. I’m not out or boozing tonight so it’ll be a work out during the second half for me. I’m going with a bit of circuit training.

5 press ups
5 sit ups
15 seconds of plank
5 supermans ( lie on your tummy and lift your legs(still straight)and arms(still straight) up off the ground.
5 leg lifts (lie on your back and lift your legs(still straight) up off the ground. Alternate lifting each up high(all the time keeping both off the ground).
5 burpees. (
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hX9z7uUBJOY
)

Take a minutes rest.

Repeat each above 10 times, take 1min rest
Repeat 15 times, take 1 min rest
Repeat 20 times, take 1 min rest
Repeat 25 times, take 1 min rest
Repeat 20 times, take 1 min rest
Repeat 15 times, take 1 min rest
Repeat 10 times, take 1 min rest
Repeat 5 times. Boom!

Who’s with me?

I din’t include that in my circuit as after about ten or 15 of them I’d need more than a minutes rest to repeat, CH.

Job done. It took me the guts of the second half to do this with the occasional extra stoppage when the match got interesting. In future I might pare it down a bit and try and get it done in the first half. I’m now undoing all the good with most of a Rheinbacher.

I’m still injured, going on 7 weeks, but I vow to join you as soon as I get better pal.

Shit missed this until now. I’ll do it during the first half tomorrow. Was off indoor cycling watching breaking bad tonight.

I’d advise starting about ten- fiteen mins prior to kick off if possible. I found today i missed mor than i would have liked of the game.

This is a great idea Juhy. I think most CL soccer is shite until knock outs anyway. It’s also very time efficient. I have a tv out on a covered deck myself with my weights and boxing equipment etc. there could be anything on, re-runs of The Wire, NFL, soccer, soft porn on the world movies channel. Anything.

Anyway, I suggest this.

• Push ups x 30 secs
  • Plank x 1 Min
  • Squats x 30 secs
  • Pulls (of any sort, chins ideally if you get one of those door bars) x 20 secs
  • Side Plank left x 20 secs
  • Overhead (just hands, or light weights)Reverse Lunges x 30 Secs
  • Spider-Man pushe ups x 20 secs
  • kneeling super mans
  • Side plank right x 20 secs

And jump up and do 10 Burpees every time there is a goal.

I’ve obviously got a bit longer on the road to fit fuck than @Juhniallio. Got up to 25 reps and back down to 20 of each before packing it in as I’d been going for an hour. Still, early days. By the time the world cup comes around I’ll be harder than Noel Hickey.
Cheers @caoimhaoin I presume you do a few reps of the above.
@Juhniallo did you increase the time of the planks with the increased number of push ups etc.
I won’t give any suggestions of sessions here as I haven’t a notion when it comes to core strength work but if anybody wants any sample amateur swim sessions or running cross country for dummies let me know.

[quote=“corner back, post: 872855, member: 1572”]I’ve obviously got a bit longer on the road to fit fuck than @Juhniallio. Got up to 25 reps and back down to 20 of each before packing it in as I’d been going for an hour. Still, early days. By the time the world cup comes around I’ll be harder than Noel Hickey.
Cheers @caoimhaoin I presume you do a few reps of the above.
@Juhniallo did you increase the time of the planks with the increased number of push ups etc.
I won’t give any suggestions of sessions here as I haven’t a notion when it comes to core strength work but if anybody wants any sample amateur swim sessions or running cross country for dummies let me know.[/quote]

Fair play. CB. You wouldn’t believe how quickly you can feel the improvement. I think my own circuit is a bit ab heavy and it probably overworks it. I up the seconds on the plank when it’s 20’s and 25 but do 15 for the shorter reps.

What sort of swim sessions/running do you do?

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 872378, member: 273”]This is a great idea Juhy. I think most CL soccer is shite until knock outs anyway. It’s also very time efficient. I have a tv out on a covered deck myself with my weights and boxing equipment etc. there could be anything on, re-runs of The Wire, NFL, soccer, soft porn on the world movies channel. Anything.

Anyway, I suggest this.

• Push ups x 30 secs
  • Plank x 1 Min
  • Squats x 30 secs
  • Pulls (of any sort, chins ideally if you get one of those door bars) x 20 secs
  • Side Plank left x 20 secs
  • kneeling super mans
  • Side plank right x 20 secs

And jump up and do 10 Burpees every time there is a goal.[/quote]

That is top quality right there.

But please tell me what the fuck are these?

• kneeling super mans

[quote=“Juhniallio, post: 872893, member: 53”]That is top quality right there.

But please tell me what the fuck are these?

• kneeling super mans[/quote]
  1. A lunge backwards from stationary position, every 2nd leg. Be sure to push up hard on the return up. Over head arms help develop stability, core and posture. The movement itself is a little diamond for Glute work and also has accelleration benefits.

2. A push up with one hand 45 degrees out past your shoulder, the opposite hand 45 the exact opposite way. Do whatever reps one way and change sides then. A progression is to do every second side and a further progression is to bounce from one position to the other. Uses more angles anduscles than regular push ups. Engages the back more.

3. Kneeling super mans are hard to explain, loads of examples on google.