The waxing lyrical about the issues with the Mayo Footballing Psyche Thread

I still do this when there’s a point scored,finger up then the fleg

80000 sq ft baby.

today spring GIF

Who was it here, possibly that gaelgóir @Juhniallio who christened Hastings McHale Park

Pairc an Eilefant Bán……

“The Dublin Money Thing” :grin: :grin: :grin:

I think I’ll steal that as the name for my new suicide punk hip hop band that I haven’t managed to put together yet.

‘The fucking Dubs…’ would be a great name for a country/cèilí/showband. All you need do is write one song with a chorus like

It all went wrong on the night…
It all turned into a ball of shite…
And well you know it wasnt us…
It must have been those fucking Dubs…

You’d be out the door… every culchie wedding you could stomach

it cant be true that inter county gga players are living in industrial warehouses :slight_smile:

An instant classic.

Anyone have the full piece?

Sounds like they were living in a Dublin equivalent of that pub where Kev used to get his dinners from

It’s gas. I know their only amateur hobbyists but the way the game is going, living in a warehouse is hardly conducive to the demands of a top level inter-county player. “The Fucking Dubs” tracking their sleep on whoops and accounting for every morsel they eat while the Mayo lads are huddling for heat.

I can picture the Mayo lads being given the following requirement like a calf in a shed over the winter.
• Good ventilation
• Natural light
• Clean, straw bedding
• Floors and walls cleaned and disinfected to prevent disease

I’m sure each shipping container that they slept in was fitted out to the highest standard

It’s a bizzare one. I’m sure the players were delighted to be given the opportunity to live rent free in Dublin. It’s not like they were forced to live in a warehouse. Some people seem to think Mayo should have been paying for “proper” accommodation for them.

And I though your man Copperfield making the Statue of Liberty disappear was impressive all those years ago…

Ding Dong Denny O’Reilly and De Fucking Dubs

Was it like the warehouse/meatpacking district in NYC?

Exactly. Who gives a fuck. Ewan thinks he’s after uncovering another Watergate.

Ah here, I think Ewan is a tool of epic proportions but it’s no exaggeration to say this is a ball hair away from rogue actors illegally bringing desperate people into the country via Rosslare Europort in containers hidden in lorries. To throw a pack of innocent muldoons into a warehouse with scant regard for health & safety, fire regulations etc is crass in the extreme. It’s also neglectful & potentially fatal. Where’s the humanity there? And Jarlath Burns coming out extolling the virtues of it…that defies belief. Thank goodness for the brave Mayo football whistleblowers. They may just have saved at least five (5) young lives.

Spot on. They’re essentially saying Mayo lives are worth less than Dublin lives.

Do we know who the Mayo players are/were?