The Wire

No, he was long dead and buried by then mate

That was a bit weird alright. I was wondering why they made such a big deal out of it.

I’m half way through Series 3 watching it for the first time. It lives up to the hype.

One gripe. Dominic West is too poor an actor to be leading a show like this. He is comically bad at times. He was pretending to be drunk in a couple of recent episodes and it was Leo from Fair City bad. As a leading man Gandolfini is streets ahead.

Gimmesumeggswillya?

At S3E7 currently on the re-up

Cutty Wise is a brilliant character; “the game ain’t in me no more”

McNulty wouldn’t be the lead character at all. There is none. He’s barley in season 4 and it’s the best one

I haven’t got that far yet. He is pissing me off at this stage regardless

Technically he is when you look at the credits.

It’s Dominic West’s name first and then everybody else alphabetically

Did any of ye ever watch The Corner?

Yes. I have it here on DVD. It’s very good, probably bleaker than The Wire from what I recall. It’s also more real than The Wire even, I suppose because of the biographical nature of it. It’s over ten years since I watched it, but I think some of the people it’s based on appear at the end of it, or in the extras. The main female character is played by a woman who was one of the main women in Simon’s Treme (playing the ex wife of Wendell Pierce aka Bunk Moreland’s character).

Avon Barksdale showed his decent side around Cutty. First letting him leave the game and then funding his gym, even if he was peddling drugs to all the young fellas.

Season 4 is the best. Those young lads are a breath of fresh air.

Yeah I can’t wait to get back to 4. It tugs at the heartstrings more than any other series of the show.

A magnificent insight into the underbelly of society and how kids, no matter how well behaved, are doomed other than a random interjection such as Bunny’s.

We’ve all know kids like that in school.

Gobshite Namond is set up for life with Bunny while poor Dukie is shooting up with the Arabber.

I read years ago I think that Simon picked four as the number for kids cos the stats showed that only 25% of boys from the projects would have a hope of surviving (i.e. Not falling into crime, addiction, etc.). He said it would be only realistic for one of them to have a ‘happy’ ending

The lad who played Prop Joe gave the four young lads acting classes beforehand. Was supposed to be brilliant with them

Michael went on to be the main character in the reboot of Beverly Hills 90210. He was an adopted son of the family that moved there unlike the first version where they had twins

“You know what the hardest part about being police is?”

McNulty: “Ya explaining to your wife why she needs to take antibiotics for your kidney infection”

:sweat_smile::sweat_smile::sweat_smile:

Watched that last night and laughed so hard :rofl: