TheFreeKick and Cambodia

That’s great to hear, I suppose it’s like paying indulgences in the old days,
Say what you want on TFK and you’ll be forgiven if you throw a few pound towards Cambodia :grinning:

Happy New Year, I’m sure we all agree that it’s a pleasure to support something for worthwhile, great work :+1:

@HBV was offering to fly out and build a new building himself in exchange for his ban being lifted

Is that a shot from Buck tooth @artfoley denture drawer

His ban is now lifted.

:ronnyroar:

Dear TFK Posters,

Just a note to update those of you interested on some developments in Cambodia.

• This year our programmes are benefitting 3,567 children in Battambang. Schools were closed for two years arising from COVID but have been back up now for eight months which is superb and helps drive everything we do! We improve learning outcomes for children by an average of 35% points. If children learn in school they are far less likely to drop out and take up child labour.
  • There is a different sort of cost of living crisis here. The cost of living is much less than in Ireland but millions live below the poverty line (US$0.93 a day).
  • We currently have 17 tfk posters who are monthly donors to our organisation. Thank you so much for sticking with us!! It genuinely makes a difference and I know times are tough for many.
  • My own role within the organisation has changed and I am now leading our organisation here. We have appointed somebody in Ireland to work part time to hopefully grow our fundraising base there. Her salary is paid for by a private donor so all money raised on tfk goes directly here!
  • Later this year a couple of forum members will be running for Cambodian children/SeeBeyondBorders.

Anyway please excuse the spamming but wanted to update those of you who have an interest! The support from here is terrific, energising and a bit of a beautiful oddity.
Colm (colm.byrne@seebeyondborders.org)

32 Likes

There are not enough people like you in the world @RaymondCrotty.

Keep up the good work :+1:

Brilliant stuff!

I’m at the lower end of the donation scale lads, but ye wouldn’t notice it popping out once a month. If ye can do it, do it.

Admire greatly what you guys are doing @RaymondCrotty , fair play

How do you become a monthly donor ?

https://www.idonate.ie/donation_widget/register-donor-anonymous.php?pid=5415&type=monthly

Never mind that, The Super League is BACK

Today my friend and colleague Pov becomes the first Cambodian man to leave Cambodia to study in Ireland for a year.

29 Likes

The Limerick forumites better look after Pov.

If he needs to know anything about Mary I, @Thomas_Brady and myself are available via PM. We’ve done significant time there :laughing:.

I know everyone in Mary I intimately, so he’s welcome to my full dossier on all staff.

Tell POV myself, @Aristotle and @backinatracksuit will meet him in Fennessey’s for a pint

With the raft of cultural wonders ahead of him you’d wonder will POV ever return to his homeland. Fennessy’s, Finnegans, Flannerys, the Chicken Hut, Donkeys, Tom the Busker, the County final - an endless stream of lifetime wonderments await him.
A little itinerary should be prepared in advance of his arrival.

Pov likes Limerick but finds the supermarkets a nightmare. He is on his way up to Dublin now as he will be on the Pat Kenny Show tomorrow. A good opportunity for our charity. Thanks to all here who have helped get us this far.

25 Likes

Sign Pov up on here for his time in Ireland and have him start a thread. Any questions he needs help with, am sure the forum will assist where it can

Will you make an appearance yourself Ray? Anton Savage is steering the ship while PK is away on his holidays.