I remember a fella telling me before that the Kildare county council fucked a lot of the county’s social housing into Athy while leaving other places like Naas relatively free from same. Think the place always had a bit of a rough element anyway and is one of these garrison towns. Dunlavin in Wicklow is only about 15 miles away and is sort of a sister town…Another shithole, just on a slightly smaller scale.
Rumours of the demise of TFK AFC have been greatly exaggerated.
One more year, champ?
Good to hear it.
The Sex Pistols last UK gig was a Christmas Party for the children of striking firemen in Huddersfield onChristmas day 1977.
[quote=“Blake, post: 884605, member: 1755”]North Kildare is the definition of commuter belt, towns like Maynooth, Celbridge and Leixlip would all be nice enough without having any actual development to match the population increase. The three big towns in the middle of the county of Naas, Newbridge and Kildare Town would be atypical midlands towns. Newbridge is probably the best developed town but its not Foxrock by any means, Naas pretty much the same. Kildare is rough enough, but nowhere near Athy. The view that Kildare is wealthy would be based in the countryside villages and townlands where there are some huge houses and big farms.
Athy is just an anomaly, I don’t really know why. Its a shithole and attracts universal hatred. There’s some god awful council estates and there is nothing at all for young people to do except hang around, something which has been perpetuating for decades, which might explain it.[/quote]
While Kildare is a lovely county, some of it is just pure depressing. Drive from Clane to Edenderry through some lovely spots like the ironically named Prosperous and Allenwood and a bunch of other places I’ve long forgotten. All the hallmarks of people rehoused to work on the bogs but have nothing to do since the bogs closed down.
Prosperous is a ghost village, Allenwood isn’t bad. Gerry “The Monk” Hutch lives in Allenwood, and has built pitches and facilities for young people which is decent enough I suppose. Still a cunt though
Why are garrison towns known to be rough?
I think award winning journalist Ewan Mackenna is from athy
[quote=“Tabby, post: 884734, member: 2142”]Why are garrison towns known to be rough?
Historically Royalists had less self discipline than Republicans.
Athy, Castledermot & Kilcullen were thoroughly fucked from being bypassed by the new motorway.
Some towns tend to benefit from bring bypassed like Cashel & Nenagh in Tipperary, but other can be left ruined also like those Kildare towns mentioned.
Athy may have always been a hole, but driving around it the other day left me shocked. It was like one big old school housing estate.
[quote=“carryharry, post: 884758, member: 1517”]Athy, Castledermot & Kilcullen were thoroughly fucked from being bypassed by the new motorway.
Some towns tend to benefit from bring bypassed like Cashel & Nenagh in Tipperary, but other can be left ruined also like those Kildare towns mentioned.
Athy may have always been a hole, but driving around it the other day left me shocked. It was like one big old school housing estate.[/quote]
Ah Kilcullen and Castledermot are grand, a lot quieter after bypassing and businesses have suffered but they haven’t degenerated like Athy
Explain. Or are you pulling the piss?
[quote=“Tabby, post: 884607, member: 2142”]As Kev would say ‘I’m not picking a fight here’ but I never really know what this ‘nothing for young people to do*’ stuff is all about. Surely athy has as many sports clubs and the likes as any similarly sized town?
*a bowling alley used always be the mythical cure all for this when we were young lads.[/quote]
Athy has one of the best boxing clubs in ireland
They allowed themselves to be corrupted by crown forces.
For obvious reasons prostitution was rife in the garrison towns which would have had clear implications for the local gene pool.
The snobbery on here is disgusting
That explains a lot about Portlaoise and Abbeyleix so.
Who snobbed you Kevin? I’m here for good now so anytime you need help just ask ok.
That’s more of an indictment than something to be proud of.
John Phillips, lead singer of the Mamas and Papas, and co writer of the classic Cailifornia Dreamin’, is alleged to have a had a ten year incestuous relationship with his daughter which included rapes.
The allegation were made by the daughter herself eight years after his death.